lbs

Some people just too afraid to be vested

Time in market beats timing the market

to each his own la.
sometimes an investor might think that the market is too optimistic and would allocate a large amount of cash for good opportunities.

you just happen to think another way la.

Takodoro

to each his own la.
sometimes an investor might think that the market is too optimistic and would allocate a large amount of cash for good opportunities.

No volatility how to trade:s13:

starfish.starfish

:o does having such an experience makes you hold a sizable amount of cash all the time?

Define sizable? :s11:
For me, it's because I understand myself better, more conservative than risk taking kind, so I tend to keep some buffer in case "low can go lower" scenario happens. :s13:

MasterLeong

to each his own la.

yup each to their own ba

when a person holding 30-50% cash... it also means he is trying to time the market to get lower prices

MasterLeong

I meant his picks for 2017.

And thanks for answering my query on mct. :)

he mentioned 2016 was the year for nibbling banks, so his ocbc/dbs got in at very good price now sitting at very comfortable gains like me

but he sold off m1/sh... so he may be bearish for now, but he did mention that 2017 maybe a year for nibbling telcos

as for reits, he same as me... we both very heavy on reits... about half our portfolio in reits.. we are not trying to time the market... what we are doing is like owning condo and renting out to get income

when you hold reits, you become a landlord and the rentals will reward you yearly

lbs

yup each to their own ba

when a person holding 30-50% cash... it also means he is trying to time the market to get lower prices

in a way Seth Klarman also maintain a huge cash hoard ... with his records... who can say he is wrong?=:p

MasterLeong

time in market beats timing the market

I got friend who missed out the 2008 crashed... now already 8 years liao, he still waiting for STI 2000 which never came and his cash still rotting in bank

if he had DCA the sti etf... or blue chips maybe he already huat huat liao

MasterLeong

in a way Seth Klarman also maintain a huge cash hoard ... with his records... who can say he is wrong?=:p

must see your school of thoughts lor

those who hold a lot of cash, mostly are traders or market timers

for this thread, we are more towards value investors like how warran buffett's style is

to buy great companies at reasonable price and hold them for long term

during bull or bear market, there will always be good deals if u search hard enough

MasterLeong

can u imagine warren buffett selling coca cola, selling IMB and other great companies to move into 30-50% cash?

I think all his shareholders will run away lol

TheIntelligentInvestor

I was thinking like you in 2007. Question is how much dry powder are you left? If still many, that's good.

If little, good luck. Wait till you experience a 40-50% plunge in asset prices and you will know how it feels.

It is important to have a sizeable war chest. With year end bonus and other cash flow in, my current cash position is about 25% of total investment assets. I intend to keep this between 20-30% by rebalancing stock holdings once every year. In emergency case, if STI ever drops to 1800 points, the war chest will likely be deployed. Berkshire is holding 70+B cash on 250B market cap, about 28%.

MasterLeong

I guess maybe different ppl got different comfort level of holding cash ba

for me, i tend to hold the most is 20% cash only

during this downturn when sti fell from 3500 to 2500, i see it as the oil crisis and have deployed all and more of my funds into the market already

thus the 300k portfolio seen now

MasterLeong

yup, he holds some cash to do big deals when he sees opportunity

BRK has around 550bil in assets of that 70 bil is cash which is around 13% cash to assets
equity is around 250bil which is around 28% cash to equity

so depends on how you see it

for BRK, they do a lot of big insurance... if like got natural diasters or what.. they need to make sure they have enough cash to make the pay out.. so they often then to have at least 30bil or more cash standby i think

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.