*Official* MasterLeong Thread

Raynon

Thanks for the compliment.....:D

Current portfolio value is around $340k after last week's weakening market

Ya.....the average dividends collected per month for 2016 is almost $1.3k (if I did not go for Scrips on DBS, OCBC, MLT and RMG, the figure will be close to $1.5k) Enough to cover living expenses for sure. But because I give $1k per month to my parents, I still need my salary.....:(:s22: cannot throw letter yet

No car for me.....I use BMW:o

Impressive! May i know how old are you and how long have you been investing? Do you have other commitments like kids, mortgage etc? How much $$ do you pump in per month on the average in the stock market?

Genosis

Mine was half of urs. Just hoot fct and cmt now left one bullet and sitting at loss. But it's OK. Looking at their low gearing and stable business should be able to navigate through the rough sea ahead. If it drop 10% will use leftover bullet to average down. Hope that doesn't happen. 😂 :look:

CMT and FCT will be fundamentally resilient as their track records speak for themselves......;) dun worry too much

Average down after each rate hike could be a feasible strategy for 2017 :s12:

Genosis

Impressive! May i know how old are you and how long have you been investing? Do you have other commitments like kids, mortgage etc? How much $$ do you pump in per month on the average in the stock market?

39 this year.......peak Uncle age :s13:

Started investing during taper tantrums in 2013

No kids no mortgage

Injected roughly $28k fresh funds into my portfolio this year

Raynon

49 this year.......peak Uncle age :s13:

No kids no mortgage

Wow! You are are able to reach this level just within 4 years of investing! I salute you! Impressive ! How do you acquire knowledge and skills about investing within such short period of time?

Genosis

Wow! You are are able to reach this level just within 4 years of investing! I salute you! Jin satki !

Discipline in saving, effort in research, guts in tuning out the noise and abit of luck too......:o

Have to make some minor sacrifices......there were times when I really want to buy something nice with my bonuses but I held back :( Instead, I dumped all my bonuses and savings into building a dividend portfolio

Well, I guess the thought of being able to 'throw letter' is so great that it serves as a big motivation during my initial portfolio building days......now I just enjoy seeing the compounding effect :D

Daimon

yes but u see i DO expect market to get cheap-ER

with regards to reits at least, dmg of 4 rate hike shouldnt be underestimated.

thinking of putting off reits buying ( this round buy once) then next purchase of reits will be late next yr( maybe after 3 rate hikes)

30% warchest, TP impt ( agree with geno)... may need to re-evaulate what stock impt to me and just go with it...

dilemma siol

think will focus more on Areit (drop due to rate hike) and Singtel ( affected by competition) for year 2017 !

singtel long term support at 3.50 liddat, areit, 2.18
limited warchest makes me sad

left decide parkway or RMG now :p

have 100 shares of DBS, keep there let it grow , since cant afford more liao

You are wise to think about interest rate which is underestimated.

Check the history of 1981

yihao93

Wow! You are are able to reach this level just within 4 years of investing! I salute you! Impressive ! How do you acquire knowledge and skills about investing within such short period of time?

can define ''this level'' ? or just sucking up :s13:

Raynon

Discipline in saving, effort in research, guts in tuning out the noise and abit of luck too......:o

Have to make some minor sacrifices......there were times when I really want to buy something nice with my bonuses but I held back :( Instead, I dumped all my bonuses and savings into building a dividend portfolio

Well, I guess the thought of being able to 'throw letter' is so great that it serves as a big motivation during my initial portfolio building days......now I just enjoy seeing the compounding effect :D

Have you not thought of venturing into property investment instead?

Daimon

39 this year.......peak Uncle age :s13:

No kids no mortgage

Wah Genosis. I think our lifestyle will be similar.

Raynon

May i ask how much is your capital injection in all?

Genosis

Have you not thought of venturing into property investment instead?

Not really cross my mind.....:s13: too much hassle IMO especially when I see a few of my colleagues struggling to rent out their shoebox apartments :eek:

I am quite happy with REITs for now...:D

MasterLeong

I also prefer reits than condo
Condo must take bank loan, the leverage is on you
If miss payment the bank can force sell the condo

Reits the debt is on the company, i not liabile for anything
More piece of mind

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.