MasterLeong

what other sectors are defensive and good for dividend income? Examples:
Utilities - KIT?
Service - Vicom, CDG?

generally companies that can maintain earnings/dividends even during economy downturn are considered defensive

SATS and sheng shiong are examples

MasterLeong

are you sure that's considered as working or playing? you want to bluff who? :s13:

for me its work hahaha

made enough from magic that after i completed NS, had enough winnings to invest in a 30k private degree

but it was a bad investment to get the degree as I end up worked 2 years only.. very low ROI

strangerjun

for me its work hahaha

made enough from magic that after i completed NS, had enough winnings to invest in a 30k private degree

but it was a bad investment to get the degree as I end up worked 2 years only.. very low ROI

your degree can get a job as equities dealer good liao. quite hard to get in?

madtari

understood. but how about those that are defensive AND giving out good div yield? :D
generally companies that can maintain earnings/dividends even during economy downturn are considered defensive

SATS and sheng shiong are examples

MasterLeong

your degree can get a job as equities dealer good liao. quite hard to get in?

every year they will take in 1 batch of trainee dealers... and train them for 3 months then assign to different desks

can be forex, futures, equities etc

got insitutional, retail, private banking etc

see where u go

3 rounds of interview... they only take the best, if u show that u got passion and knowledge in the market... higher chance to pass maybe?

xSieghartx

of course but only if study is an available and accessible option for their families. If not most would end up working to help with family expenses even they are at schooling age.

:(:(
Yeah that's why should seek to improve economic conditions rather than just abolishing child labour.

Genosis

Ya.....education costs in Singapore is absurdly high and no guarantee of success either :(

My niece in Primary 4 is having tuition at some atas private centre.....fees around $240 per month for one subject :s22: So I did a rough calculation

Pri 4 to Pri 6 tuition fees - ($240 X 10 months) X 3 years = $7,200

Sec 1 to Sec 4 tuition fees - ($280 X 10 months) X 4 years = $11,200

JC1 to JC2 tuition fees - ($320 X 10 months) X 2 years = $6,400

Total Cost = $24,800

Almost $25k in tuition fees! Not even include all the swimming, piano and judo etc etc. Imagine if the child take multiple subjects in tuition. The sum of money is humongous! If instead use that amount to DCA STI etf over that 9 years, might oredi gave that child a head-start to his peers liao.....:s13:

akwl88

Ya.....education costs in Singapore is absurdly high and no guarantee of success either :(

My niece in Primary 4 is having tuition at some atas private centre.....fees around $240 per month for one subject :s22: So I did a rough calculation

Total Cost = $24,800

Almost $25k in tuition fees! Not even include all the swimming, piano and judo etc etc. Imagine if the child take multiple subjects in tuition. The sum of money is humongous! If instead use that amount to DCA STI etf over that 9 years, might oredi gave that child a head-start to his peers liao.....:s13:

wow so much activities

where did the childhood gone to?

:eek:

tanjiakpeng

Total Cost = $24,800

eh now tuition no holiday liao. must use 12mths to calculate.

tbh when uncle young 12mth tuition no break no **** de jin kelian

very sexpensive to have kid in singapore siol. needa invest early and huat!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.