*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

It's actually strange for me to see such confidence in commercial REITs. Conventional thinking is that logistics REITs are more resilient than commercial REITs.

ahhhh where did u read or get that conventional thinking?

of all asset types, offices in CBD are the HIGHEST quality(99 and 999 years with prime location and A grade build)

u see those rich indo chinese billionaires is come sg hoot office de leh... u got see them hoot logistical assets meh lol

MasterLeong

It's actually strange for me to see such confidence in commercial REITs. Conventional thinking is that logistics REITs are more resilient than commercial REITs.

generally industrial/logistical assets are lower quality as they only have 15/30/50 years life spans... much shorter than retail/commercial which are typically 99 years

to build a warehouse only takes around 12 months

to build an A grade office needs around 36 months

this is a big reason why industrial assets generally has a higher yield of say 8-10% while office assets yield 3-5% only

Genosis

There is even a more strange part for me......

If the earnings dropped by 35%, means tenants are defaulting in droves, empty stores, warehouses, offices and factories......which means we are in deep deep recession! In such a scenario, interest rate should be near-zero! Not 3%!?!?!?!?! :s22:

But hey.....I am no expert on stress-testing :s13:

mcsane

There is even a more strange part for me......

If the earnings dropped by 35%, means tenants are defaulting in droves, empty stores, warehouses, offices and factories......which means we are in deep deep recession! In such a scenario, interest rate should be near-zero! Not 3%!?!?!?!?! :s22:

But hey.....I am no expert on stress-testing :s13:

maybe the recession was due to the 3%? :s13:

Genosis

I guess it depends on the type of logistics......

E-commerce will be affected during a recession.....

But transportation of medical supplies and other critical stuff will be more resilient ;)

[M]aiev

I guess it depends on the type of logistics......

E-commerce will be affected during a recession.....

But transportation of medical supplies and other critical stuff will be more resilient ;)

Yes but it will not be forever ! That why hoot the one that has good track record in term of DPU and management.

Unless SG tio toh by nuclear bomb then bo wei gong la.

Genosis

Yes but it will not be forever ! That why hoot the one that has good track record in term of DPU and management.

Unless SG tio toh by nuclear bomb then bo wei gong la.

Ya....in general logistics quite resilient during recession, especially the big e-commerce players....they have the financial strength to weather the storm, but in the meantime, they need space to store their excess inventory...

So, actually during a recession, they need more space! :s13: 6 months later, when the storm is over, they can slowly start to clear their inventories liao...

MasterLeong

"The MAS stress test assessed the resilience of Reits in a situation where their earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation fell 35 per cent while interest rates rose three percentage points."

this is like worst case scenario for SG, we having negative GDP growth of say 1-3%... many businesses slow down

do note that for like retail reits, some of the rents are not fixed but instead a % of the tenant's sales...so if the shops selling less, the landlords get less rental... durnig deep recession, some tenants may also default

in such case the retail reit gets less rental... and yet has to pay higher interest rates on their debt (US growing well and has constantly raise rates from 0.5% to 3% within 2 years)

even at such worst scenario... a solid and well managed mall like CMT will survive... can just look back at their track record in the previous two crisis 2007 and 2011

however one thing to take note... during deep recession, many reits are likely to do rights issue ... as the value of their assets goes down while debt remains the same, gearings level shoots up! if it crosses 45% limit, a rights issue is almost a MUST

MasterLeong

Ya....in general logistics quite resilient during recession, especially the big e-commerce players....they have the financial strength to weather the storm, but in the meantime, they need space to store their excess inventory...

So, actually during a recession, they need more space! :s13: 6 months later, when the storm is over, they can slowly start to clear their inventories liao...

actually if u see back 2007... be it retail,commercial, logisitics.. etc all ganna jialat jialat

when deep recession, business activities drop by 1/3 to 1/2... warehousing and transport activities also drop a lot...no order come in, no goods come in... got ghost warehouse somemore... u just go read back 2007-08... the dark ages

u go see aims reits was named mac aurther cook reit or what name... the reit fell 90%!!!! it had manufacturing and warehouses.. like half the aims portfolio u seeing now... suddenly a lot became empty.... a super dilutive placement was made to save the company and after the crisis it was rename as aim reits... without the 10 for 1 consolidation, aims reit now only 13 cents..

so I kinda disagree that logistical assets are resilient during downturn, those who experienced the full GFC will tell u... during the storm, everything also kanna.. be it office retail or logistics.. even blue chips also take damage... but blue chips take less damage and many small caps will die

look at the recent oil crisis... a total of 6 small marine companies default on their loans and many more restructured their bonds

yihao93

STI ETF (SGD) 28.10%
SingTel (SGD) 25.96%
DBS (SGD) 15.44%
CapitaMall Trust (SGD) 13.32%

moi core
next aiming areit and plife for rate hike !

MasterLeong

with all the gloom and doom said... I think the storm is over already

2007 we had the GFC which was a financial crisis, SG when into deep recession
2011 we had the european crisis which didn't really hurt our fundamentals much

2015/16 we had the oil crisis, many of our marine stocks lost 60-95% of their value... even blue chips like KC fell from $12 to $4

what will be the next crisis be about? I do not know.. and no one can 100% predict

when will it happen? I do not think it will happen so soon... as we are just pass the oil crisis... so it may happen in 2018 to 2020 or even later

2015/2016 already 2 bear years... I 99% expect 2017 to be a recovery year....

many ppl will shout that US is going into a decade bull and may crash big.. dragging SG down... but hey

SG ALREADY CRASHED 30% from 3500 to 2500

this kinda crash only happens once in a few years....its not gonna happen all the time

TIME IN MARKET BEATS TIMING THE MARKET

STAY VESTED AND COLLECT DIVIDENDS

POWER OF CD

Enjoy your weekend
Good Nights

Daimon

Bloomberg spreading fear.............:s22::s22::s22:

Singapore Stocks’ Winning Run Is Under Threat by Livia Yap

December 1, 2016 — 8:09 PM EST December 1, 2016 — 8:09 PM EST

Singapore stocks set to be Asia’s best performers this week

Straits Times Index posted longest rally since December 2014
Singapore’s stock index is set to post the biggest increase in Asia this week, driven by its longest winning streak in two years. The party may be short-lived.

The city-state’s Straits Times Index climbed 2.4 percent this week to 2,928.58 on Thursday, making it the seventh-best performer globally. The gauge has risen for eight straight days, the longest stretch of gains since December 2014. It is also still one of Asia’s cheapest stock markets -- the Straits Times Index is trading at 12.4 times reported earnings, the lowest in the region after Pakistan -- as investors remain cautious about further gains.

“After this rally, what you need is for fundamentals to be sustainable,” said Kelvin Tay, regional chief investment officer at UBS Group AG’s wealth management unit in Singapore, who predicts any advance beyond the 3,000 level may be limited. “At this point in time, there are no real catalysts to change that."

The city-state, on track to post its worst economic performance since the 2009 global financial crisis this year, is bracing for more uncertainty as rising protectionism poses risks for the export-dependent nation. The government cut the top end of its 2016 growth forecast to 1.5 percent from 2 percent last week. The economy contracted an annualized 2 percent in the third quarter from the previous three months.

Government Support

The gains in Singapore stocks this week came after the government said it will provide financing support to the country’s marine and offshore engineering companies to help ease some of the liquidity problems the industry has been facing amid weak oil prices.

Keppel Corp., the world’s biggest oil-rig builder, and Sembcorp Industries Ltd., the parent company of its largest rival, led gains this week. Keppel jumped 9.1 percent. Sembcorp Industries added 5.1 percent, while its oil-rig unit Sembcorp Marine Ltd. increased 5.4 percent on Thursday, helping to pare losses earlier in the week.

The rig builders rose as oil extended its biggest gain in nine months and crude producers rallied after OPEC approved the first supply cuts in eight years, with focus now shifting to how strictly it will implement its bid to ease a record glut.

DBS Group Holdings Ltd. climbed 4.8 percent this week. Singapore’s biggest lender has exposure of S$20 billion ($14 billion) in the oil and gas sector, excluding Swiber Holdings Ltd., one of the worst-hit amid the slump in energy prices.

‘Excited About Oil’

"Everyone is quite excited about oil,” said Joshua Crabb, Hong Kong-based head of Asian equities at a unit of Old Mutual Plc. “But our general view is that over the long run, the demand structure for oil has changed because of the huge move towards renewables.”

CapitaLand Commercial Trust Ltd., one of the city state’s biggest office landlords, rose 2.7 percent, the second-best performer on the Singapore real estate stock index and set for its largest weekly gain in almost three months. The property trust expects office rents to pick up at the end of 2017 as supply shrinks, Lynette Leong, chief executive officer of the trust’s manager, said in a Bloomberg Television interview on Tuesday.

Singapore Exchange Ltd., the operator of the city’s stock exchange, jumped 3.1 percent, set for its best weekly gain in four months, as trading volume increased following the U.S. elections last month.

Donald Trump’s victory and the president-elect’s penchant for off-the-cuff social media posts has been a boon for financial markets, said Chew Sutat, head of equities and fixed income at the exchange. “With Trump, what you see is greater uncertainty, and the opportunity to trade different sectors,” Chew said in an interview on Bloomberg Television on Wednesday. “We’re really happy that some of the animal spirits are back.”

Still, the pain may not be over. The city state faces mounting global concerns that could affect trade, including financial market volatility following the U.K.’s vote to leave the European Union, the threat of debt defaults in China and the aftermath of the U.S. election. Trump has pledged not to revive the Trans-Pacific Partnership, a free-trade pact that Singapore and other countries are trying to push ahead.

The city state’s central bank has also said that weak global growth and uncertainty over interest rates are among rising “headwinds” that threaten to drag on Singaporean banking profits.

The volatility in 2016 will “continue to persist,” said Alan Richardson, a Hong Kong-based fund manager at Samsung Asset Management Ltd. "I am more confident in saying that in the first quarter or first half, the Singapore market will do better, but it could also change in second half."

2015/16 we had the oil crisis, many of our marine stocks lost 60-95% of their value... even blue chips like KC fell from $12 to $4

what will be the next crisis be about? I do not know.. and no one can 100% predict

when will it happen? I do not think it will happen so soon... as we are just pass the oil crisis... so it may happen in 2018 to 2020 or even later

many ppl will shout that US is going into a decade bull and may crash big.. dragging SG down... but hey

this kinda crash only happens once in a few years....its not gonna happen all the time

POWER OF CD

Enjoy your weekend
Good Nights

Love this sentence: TIME IN MARKET BEATS TIMING THE MARKET

God night everyone!

POWER OF CD

Enjoy your weekend
Good Nights

Yes i also feel the worse is over for now. As companies went through numerous crisis, it became more resilient and able to handle downturn better than before. Small company merge while larger company bought over other businesses and became conglomerate organization.

Because of this solidify structure, I believe they are able to delay future crisis by a few years more. The next major correction may not be a 10-12 years affair any more. Therefore I agree that time in market is better than timing the market.

Buy when it's cheap and re-balance when it gets expensive is the way forward. 😝😝

Average

i can feel that outlook is turning better... recent sg pmi indicated expansion... then we saw chinese pmi cxg since 2013... govt is talking abt success of housing mkt cooling measures (means got chance ease liao)

Sent from 穷小子 using GAGT

Dark.Horizon

dollar cost averaging. Blue chips must depend hor; not all blue chips are worth to invest one. It is also why it's important to know the nature of business, management, macro economic, sector play and so forth.

I see SPH i jitao shake head...
How much is a good amount to start? Is the invest saver scheme good to put like 2k inside?

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

Genosis

That was a joke post. :(

If I believe parkwaylife reit cannot pass the stress test, I wouldn't ask ppl to sell to me liao.=:p

多有得罪还望海涵.

No worries...I understood u perfectly bcos I also want people to sell me Plife...hehehe :p

Just using ur post to show my quick analysis...:) cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.