*Official* MasterLeong Thread

mazatsushi

A few quick question to all the experts here:

Best way to avoid a stock market bubble is to buy counters according to its historical parameters of that particular industries? [Y/N] (I know best way is just don't buy but what if buy liao leh?)

I was reading A Random Walk Down Wall Street (singnet down so nothing to do); while the book talk a lot of the historical bubbles in the past but no exact/proven ways to avoid them was mentioned.

My thoughts:

I was thinking if based on their current parameters like p/e or dividend yield; the bubble cannot be detected as the industries. As a whole, counters in the same sector will show similar trends. Example in dot-com bubble, the p/e of anything associated is in the hundreds. Lazy analysts can always point at another counter in the same sector and said it is the norm to be in that range. So buying according to historical parameters (~10 years or so) seemed safer but the downside is possibly missing some of the 'multi-baggers'.

Thing is it is never known as a bubble until it has popped.

One of the ways to manage this risk is to construct the portfolio using (hopefully) non-correlated assets so that it can cushion the damage during the subsequent stampede. Or have warchest reserves on standby to gradually average down.

Another observation made, at least during 2016, are all the market naysayers about the next imminent crash. Especially at certain periods like the China meltdown cum commodities rout, Brexit, Trump etc. But look at where the markets are at now :s8:

strangerjun

Then i cannot afford liao
My budget max is 25k to get a good viet bu wife
Which is 5% of my investment portfolio

You spend 25k on capex still got daily opex. Not to mention, there are extraordinary items to be considered.

:s12::s12:

Shion

Senior Mentor
The other time you mentioned 2017 will be a better year is it ?

lewissac

hard to tell when a crash will come... just try not to over pay for companies
do not pay high PE of 20 times or higher

look for stocks with high yield of say 5% or more... and u are sure that they can maintain dividend payouts

hmm... from what I see on Banks share, mostly give 3-5%dividend for the past few yrs. so are those considered low or decent yield?

madtari

You can check my SGXCafe transactions which I shared openly... so far my sell transactions can be counted using 1 hand. I rarely sell. :s13:

the recent bear of STI falling from 3500 to 2500 already good example of a 30% bear

so how did u react and what actions did u take?

spiritGate

Walao tat guy so rich, I 28 Liao only have $3000 in shares nia. Super Jia lat

I bought a freehold landed property, more than 5,500 sq ft, in the central region almost three years ago at age 25

Wow!!!

At age 21, already have $100,000 savings

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.