*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

A good investor must always plan ahead

If market goes higher, which to sell for re balancing to keep some cash?
If market goes lower, which counter to add more?

What are your plan? Care to share?

For me i already sold down 20k out of 320k, 6% of portfolio into cash from re balancing

If market goes lower i would want to add more MCT ST CDG

mcsane

honestly comparing ST & SH, ST has so much more to offer even though the div yield is lower. Long term wise ST is a safer bet.

lewissac

A good investor must always plan ahead
What are your plan? Care to share?

If market goes higher, which to sell for re balancing to keep some cash?
As i'm starting to build portfolio, I have no intention to rebalance. Just buy blue chips and keep for dividend gain to grow my portfolio.

If market goes lower, which counter to add more?
Currently waiting to add Telco shares into my portfolio: SH if it drops below 2.90 or preferable 2.80 which is pretty absurd already :D

mcsane

One has to have emergency funds too.

Typically 12 mths of total household expenses (i kiasu and kiasi).

warchest is not emergency fund.

but if STI goes to 2000 and your job is pretty much like super secured like policeman or soldier than i think emergency fund = warchest. hahah!

lewissac

One has to have emergency funds too.

Typically 12 mths of total household expenses (i kiasu and kiasi).

warchest is not emergency fund.

but if STI goes to 2000 and your job is pretty much like super secured like policeman or soldier than i think emergency fund = warchest. hahah!

One should not mix warchest with emergency funds (EF). EF is primarily used to provide short term quick solution of the sudden problems/ issues arised during your life. The moment you think of Warchest is equivalent to EF, then very likely you're going kill your own finance.

So one should not underestimate the strength of EF. It may look alot of $$ to save, but when facing sudden issue, it is very handy for you.

That's just my opinion.

Edit:
My Emergency Funds (EF) is typical up to 4x my salary which should last me 7 mths of unemployment, due to substantial savings on groceries and daily expenses (I can cook, so that's close to 75% savings). But like I always say, please do your own risk assessment.

MasterLeong

emergency fund I feel is die die cannot touch one, cause you now working and drawing monthly salary

the fund will come in handle when say a mega recession comes and you lose your job

imagine jobless for 6-12 months, that is where the EF comes in to save you

Perisher

One should not mix warchest with emergency funds (EF). EF is primarily used to provide short term quick solution of the sudden problems/ issues arised during your life. The moment you think of Warchest is equivalent to EF, then very likely you're going kill your own finance.

So one should not underestimate the strength of EF. It may look alot of $$ to save, but when facing sudden issue, it is very handy for you.

That's just my opinion.

Last time my EF is mainly in SGD, now that I have some sum of foreign currency, those various foreign currency has accumulated into another form of EF so I cut down my SGD EF. Now the ratio of EF SGD to foreign currency is about 30:70. If SG is in trouble, at least I have EF that is prepared for it.

mcsane

i used to be a policeman for 6 years. Many peers who left couldnt get the salary they are getting back then until now.

many regretted leaving the SPF. IRON RICE BOWL!!!!!

mcsane

Last time my EF is mainly in SGD, now that I have some sum of foreign currency, those various foreign currency has accumulated into another form of EF so I cut down my SGD EF. Now the ratio of EF SGD to foreign currency is about 30:70. If SG is in trouble, at least I have EF that is prepared for it.

wah superb. global thinker

Takodoro

Let me guess....you always over-exchange for your overseas trip? :D

eveee99

Do you have a savings a/c in a different currency? Mind sharing how you do it? Tks.

Perisher

Let me guess....you always over-exchange for your overseas trip? :D

Yes, no need to guess. I always spend less than I bring overseas. Now accumulated too much HKD, AUD, GBP. :s22:

On another note, some like HKD and AUD is due to the fact that I go casino and win a sum so well. Don't follow me to casino hor.

Takodoro

i used to be a policeman for 6 years. Many peers who left couldnt get the salary they are getting back then until now.

many regretted leaving the SPF. IRON RICE BOWL!!!!!

Starting pay for uni grad was 3.5k during my times. Tiagong can reach 8k after 7~8 years.

How's the prospect nowadays?

lewissac

Hmm.. that's an interesting EF idea to share.
But for me, I doubt I can take MYR as back-up emergency fund currency, though my family is in KL. :s22:

Perisher

Do you have a savings a/c in a different currency? Mind sharing how you do it? Tks.

No savings account, losing out on interest. The foreign currency savings account need big capital leh. Small sum like a few k in HKD/AUD/GBP each is not worth to put inside.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.