Official MIO TV Thread.......

jonleelk

I’m watching outside on the go using 5G and i can watch 141

Weird. For me:

QhkzrKE.jpg

Left: channels on the go, don't have 141/142.
Right: channels on home view. 141/142 available.

I assume you have to use Wireless backhaul, and that's why you want to use triband Wifi router, right?

In your case, TP-Link can not be used as it does not support Singtel TV for ONR users.

BTW, SIngtel ONR does not have Wifi function.

You have to go with Netgear Orbi RBK753 or RBK754 to see if the coverage is good enough or not. The price is not cheap (RBK853 is even more expensive). The good thing is that they provide paid installation service if you opt to use their service.

The other alternative is to get your home wired and then you can use wired connection to your Singtel TV boxes. You can compare the price of both options to see which one to go.

Ref:
https://netgearstore.sg/blogs/knowledge-base/orbi-singtel-tv-vlan-tag
ONR_grande.png
Hi Xiaofan,

Sorry for the delayed response ... yes, read that triband is best for my non wired environment.

Understand Singtel ONR had disabled wireless to use my existing Airties 4930 also from Singtel but read that TP-link can also be like 4930 with one node wired from ONR and other nodes placed in place of other existing 4930 ?

https://www.tp-link.com/sg/blog/181/best-mesh-wifi-for-singtel-and-starhub/
Indeed read the Orbi also offered by Singtel can support miotv but indeed also too much $ even wirh their 7xx series and it is so backwards with dedicated router unit that I cannot even purchase more satellite nodes at a more affordable aka reasonable $. The size of Orbi 8xx as well as 7xx also look crazily huge while Asus ones seems more reasonable.

Cannot imagine whole Singapore limited to only Orbi for wifi 6 if using/needing Singtel miotv leh or all if not most need to change out ONR to use ONT and other router solution ? 🤔🤔

Thanks again and hope for further clarification/guidance.

Cheers.

xiaofan

Hi Xiaofan,

Sorry for the delayed response ... yes, read that triband is best for my non wired environment.

Understand Singtel ONR had disabled wireless to use my existing Airties 4930 also from Singtel but read that TP-link can also be like 4930 with one node wired from ONR and other nodes placed in place of other existing 4930 ?

https://www.tp-link.com/sg/blog/181/best-mesh-wifi-for-singtel-and-starhub/
Indeed read the Orbi also offered by Singtel can support miotv but indeed also too much $ even wirh their 7xx series and it is so backwards with dedicated router unit that I cannot even purchase more satellite nodes at a more affordable aka reasonable $. The size of Orbi 8xx as well as 7xx also look crazily huge while Asus ones seems more reasonable.

Cannot imagine whole Singapore limited to only Orbi for wifi 6 if using/needing Singtel miotv leh or all if not most need to change out ONR to use ONT and other router solution ? 🤔🤔

Thanks again and hope for further clarification/guidance.

Cheers.

As far as I know, TP-Link Deco Mesh system only works with Singtel TV for the Singtel ONT users but not ONR users. For the ONR users, you have to connect Singtel TV box to the ONR and not to the Deco (main node or mesh node). Please confirm with them again whether it works with Singtel ONR or not.

As for Singtel, for the ONR users, other than Netgear Orbi Wifi 6 mesh solution, they also support Linksys E9450 (dual band) for Singtel TV, as well as Singtel Wifi 6 Mesh Extender (Arcadyan or Askey).
Ref: https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/broadband/wifimesh

BTW, once you are on Singtel ONR, there is no way to use back Singtel ONT.

For the Singtel ONR users, the best is to connect the Singtel TV box through wired connection to the ONR. Then you are free to use any mesh solution which supports AP mode.

As far as I know, TP-Link Deco Mesh system only works with Singtel TV for the Singtel ONT users but not ONR users. For the ONR users, you have to connect Singtel TV box to the ONR and not to the Deco (main node or mesh node). Please confirm with them again whether it works with Singtel ONR or not.

As for Singtel, for the ONR users, other than Netgear Orbi Wifi 6 mesh solution, they also support Linksys E9450 (dual band) for Singtel TV, as well as Singtel Wifi 6 Mesh Extender (Arcadyan or Askey).
Ref: https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/broadband/wifimesh

BTW, once you are on Singtel ONR, there is no way to use back Singtel ONT.

For the Singtel ONR users, the best is to connect the Singtel TV box through wired connection to the ONR. Then you are free to use any mesh solution which supports AP mode.
Hi XiaoFan,

Thanks again ... not a power user to have the concern of ONR or ONT and dun really care on features .. just wish for miotv to work and improved stability with improved speed as well as not needing current 6 nodes for coverage.

Still hope for wifi 6 and tri band since no way for running lan ... does below from your previous contribution means that that there is still a workaround for ONR with other options of tri band wifi 6 mesh ?

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...tel-tv-onr-ac86u-ax23-singtel-tv-box.6681949/
Both my singtel TV boxes in 1st and 2nd floor needs to be wireless connection like current with the Airties 4930s ....should I just buy 4960R to replace the main 4930 connected to the ONR to hope for improvement with assumption that it works with existing 4930 satellites nodes ? Or what mesh nodes works with 4960R to replace the other 4930s ?

Cheers,

xiaofan

Hi XiaoFan,

Thanks again ... not a power user to have the concern of ONR or ONT and dun really care on features .. just wish for miotv to work and improved stability with improved speed as well as not needing current 6 nodes for coverage.

Still hope for wifi 6 and tri band since no way for running lan ... does below from your previous contribution means that that there is still a workaround for ONR with other options of tri band wifi 6 mesh ?

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...tel-tv-onr-ac86u-ax23-singtel-tv-box.6681949/
Both my singtel TV boxes in 1st and 2nd floor needs to be wireless connection like current with the Airties 4930s ....should I just buy 4960R to replace the main 4930 connected to the ONR to hope for improvement with assumption that it works with existing 4930 satellites nodes ? Or what mesh nodes works with 4960R to replace the other 4930s ?

Cheers,

That one (Special AP mode) will not work with Mesh as far as I know. And I also beleive that Airties 4960R will not work with 4930. There is nothing from Singtel which works with Airties 4960R as far as I know.

As for your specific situation, I still think Netgear RBK752/753 is the better solution. You can check out the good results here.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/singtel-1-gbps-fibre.5930834/page-155#post-144916410

That one (Special AP mode) will not work with Mesh as far as I know. And I also beleive that Airties 4960R will not work with 4930. There is nothing from Singtel which works with Airties 4960R as far as I know.

As for your specific situation, I still think Netgear RBK752/753 is the better solution. You can check out the good results here.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/singtel-1-gbps-fibre.5930834/page-155#post-144916410
Hi Master XiaoFan, Thanks again and really appreciate your good advice. Will stay with 6x 4930 then with once in a blue moon disconnect in 2nd floor miotv setup box ... 4 units of stupid Orbi with designated 1 router 2 or 3 satellite and separate even more expensive single satellite for 1-1.5 to 2k will not be what I will venture into. Cheers,

xiaofan

Hi Master XiaoFan, Thanks again and really appreciate your good advice. Will stay with 6x 4930 then with once in a blue moon disconnect in 2nd floor miotv setup box ... 4 units of stupid Orbi with designated 1 router 2 or 3 satellite and separate even more expensive single satellite for 1-1.5 to 2k will not be what I will venture into. Cheers,

Fair enough as you have already invested so much in the 4930.

Just FYI you may not need 4 units (RBK754), maybe RBK752 will do or RBK753. But yes the cost is still high. Good triband AX mesh are still expensive, especially Netgear Orbi or Asus Zenwifi.

For ONR users, the best bet is still to have Ethernet connection from the SIngtel TV box directly to the ONR or Singtel Issued router.

You have other options like keeping the minimum number of 4930 for the Singtel TV boxes but then change two of them to better AX Mesh solution (one for each floor), like the TP-Link Velop you mentioned before.

Fair enough as you have already invested so much in the 4930.

Just FYI you may not need 4 units (RBK754), maybe RBK752 will do or RBK753. But yes the cost is still high. Good triband AX mesh are still expensive, especially Netgear Orbi or Asus Zenwifi.

For ONR users, the best bet is still to have Ethernet connection from the SIngtel TV box directly to the ONR or Singtel Issued router.

You have other options like keeping the minimum number of 4930 for the Singtel TV boxes but then change two of them to better AX Mesh solution (one for each floor), like the TP-Link Velop you mentioned before.
Hi Xiaofan,

Unfortunately my setup is a bit unique .... and ya lor on the investment, from homeplug 500 to homeplug 1000 to 4920 and now 4930 🤧

2 singtel boxes far from ONR on 1st and 2nd floor already need 2 nodes .. dun think I can keep only 3x 4930 for singtel boxes and I have no knowledge to do with another Tplink setup as well as this repeatedly mentioned too many NATs and/or congested 2.4g and 5g environment. There is 1 dedicated music server that I wish for also need 3rd node and furthest room on 2nd floor will probably need another 4th node i.e. 5 pcs including router.

As the setup box on ground floor and dedicated server are all in the living room, I have one 4930 in the kitchen for furthest helper's room on the ground floor and maybe another orbi node or back to 6 pcs of orbi ?

Will triband non wifi 6 RBK50 be better than current 4930 ?

Cheers.

xiaofan

Hi Xiaofan,

Unfortunately my setup is a bit unique ....

2 singtel boxes far from ONR on 1st and 2nd floor already need 2 nodes .. dun think I can keep only 3x 4930 for singtel boxes and I have no knowledge to do with another Tplink setup as well as this repeatedly mentioned too many NATs and/or congested 2.4g and 5g environment. There is 1 dedicated music server that I wish for also need 3rd node and furthest room on 2nd floor will probably need another 4th node i.e. 5 pcs including router.

As the setup box on ground floor and dedicated server are all in the living room, I have one 4930 in the kitchen for furthest helper's room on the ground floor and maybe another orbi node or back to 6 pcs of orbi ?

Will triband non wifi 6 RBK50 be better than current 4930 ?

Cheers.

RBK852 will be way better than the 4930. For wireless backhaul, I am even guessing one Orbi node will be equal to three 4930 nodes, if not, at least two 4930s. Maybe RBK852 will already be good enough for your full flat. If not RBK853 will do.

But you may want to post the floor plan so that people can have better understanding of your setup. You can also consult Netgear Singapore.

RBK852 will be way better than the 4930. For wireless backhaul, I am even guessing one Orbi node will be equal to three 4930 nodes, if not, at least two 4930s. Maybe RBK852 will already be good enough for your full flat. If not RBK853 will do.

But you may want to post the floor plan so that people can have better understanding of your setup. You can also consult Netgear Singapore.
Hi Xiaofan,

Sorry for the confusing description of my use case ....

1. I am not looking at rbk8xx or rbk7xx as they are too expensive but it is rbk50 + satellites which I am willing to spend

2. It is for sure that I need 2x nodes for 2x Singtel tv boxes .. 1x node on 1st floor's living room and 1x node on 2nd floor bedroom as well as 1x node for dedicated music server also on 1st floor living room that need to be also hardwired via internet like the singtel boxes that I do not wish to share with any other nodes i.e. minimally 1x orbi router and 3x orbi satellite

3. I also need to take care of 2nd floor furthest rooms i.e. another 1x satellite node unless you believe the 1x node on 2nd floor bedroom for the singtel box suffices for the entire 2nd floor ... I am concern with this since it is placed at one end of the house away from these furthest rooms .. I currently have 1 of the 6x 4930 there.

Hope this clarifies and will I can sketch the floor plan but using url to post here is not what I support .. with apology.

In summary, my query that I hope for your advice is that will 1x rbr50 router and 3x rbs50 suffice or needing 1x rbr50 and 4x rbs50 (1x rbs50 in 2nd floor furthest room or even 5x rbs50 with 1x more rbs in the kitchen which in current setup with 6x 4930.

Thanks again and hope this clarifies.

Cheers.

Cheers.

xiaofan

Hi Xiaofan,

Sorry for the confusing description of my use case ....

1. I am not looking at rbk8xx or rbk7xx as they are too expensive but it is rbk50 + satellites which I am willing to spend

2. It is for sure that I need 2x nodes for 2x Singtel tv boxes .. 1x node on 1st floor's living room and 1x node on 2nd floor bedroom as well as 1x node for dedicated music server also on 1st floor living room that need to be also hardwired via internet like the singtel boxes that I do not wish to share with any other nodes i.e. minimally 1x orbi router and 3x orbi satellite

3. I also need to take care of 2nd floor furthest rooms i.e. another 1x satellite node unless you believe the 1x node on 2nd floor bedroom for the singtel box suffices for the entire 2nd floor ... I am concern with this since it is placed at one end of the house away from these furthest rooms .. I currently have 1 of the 6x 4930 there.

Hope this clarifies and will I can sketch the floor plan but using url to post here is not what I support .. with apology.

In summary, my query that I hope for your advice is that will 1x rbr50 router and 3x rbs50 suffice or needing 1x rbr50 and 4x rbs50 (1x rbs50 in 2nd floor furthest room or even 5x rbs50 with 1x more rbs in the kitchen which in current setup with 6x 4930.

Thanks again and hope this clarifies.

Cheers.

Cheers.

Sorry I can not help here. RBK50 will be for sure better than 4930 but no idea how good it is. You'd better consult Netgear Singapore.

blurnard

Hi all,

has anyone used moca adaptor with SingTel miotv?

any words of caution?

my tv console has not data point..only cable tv point 😅

rAcEr

Does Singtel still have the retention offer where we can visit comcentre and get 50 percent off mio TV packages with free set top box rental for a one year commitment?

xiaofan

Does Singtel still have the retention offer where we can visit comcentre and get 50 percent off mio TV packages with free set top box rental for a one year commitment?

They should still have. You can visit any Singtel shop (for me I always go to Singtel Shop in Jurong Point) to check out and use your negotiation power to convince them.

xiaofan

My old Singtel TV box (CISCO brand) can not power up so I just did an one-to-one exchange in Singtel Shop in Juring Point. It is rather smooth process. I did ask the front staff to confirm they can do one-to-one exchange before going. They just give me a new set of Singtel branded box (OEM from TTI, aka, Tatung Technology Inc), which also included a new set of Ethernet cable and HDMI cable.

Self-Replacement Centres
https://www.singtel.com/personal/support/replacement-centres
Things to bring:

STB and its power supply
Singtel TV Remote control
your NRIC/identification card

chuppachop

Singtel increasing price for HD set top box rental by $1.01 from 1 Aug
singtel.com/stbupdates2023
Thanks for the alert, will be dumping them once the contract is up. Just signed up with Eazie TV, at least there are EFL, Carabao Cup Copa etc. on Mola Sports Channel over there. And the various news channels are all in HD, Singtel has the cheek to charge so ex and shortchanging us by giving them in SD.

yperic

https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/tv/channel-updates
Singtel removing whole bunch of channels with no replacements nor price reduction.

3. What are the channels that Singtel TV is ceasing and when?

Due to Disney stopping the broadcast of the channels, the following channels will be discontinued on 1
October 2023, 0000hrs.

• National Geographic (HD) (CH 201)
• Nat Geo Wild HD (CH 207)
• BabyTV (HD) (CH 236)
• Baby TV On Demand (CH 236)

4. Will there be any replacement for these channels?

We appreciate your viewership over these years and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may
cause. We hope you’ll continue to watch other exciting and interesting shows on Singtel TV.

As such, we’ve curated a list of shows that you can continue to enjoy*:

• Ben Fogle's Lost World – BBC Earth (CH 203)
• Supertato – CBeebies (CH 236)

3. What are the channels that are ceasing and when?

The below channels will be discontinued on 1 October 2023, 0000hrs.

• Discovery Science (HD) (CH 205)
• DMAX (CH 258)
• Travel Channel HD (CH 253)
• Travel Channel On Demand (HD)
• Love Nature (HD) (CH 213)
• Love Nature On Demand
• Love Nature 4K On Demand (CH 212)
• HLN (CH 169)
• Warner TV (HD) (CH 306)
• Warner TV Encore
• NDTV 24x7 (CH 678)
• NDTV India (CH 679)

We appreciate your viewership over these years and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may
cause. We hope you’ll continue to watch other exciting and interesting shows on Singtel TV.

As such, we’ve curated a list of shows that you can continue to enjoy*:

• Next Level Chef UK – BBC Lifestyle (CH 255)
• The Rookie – AXN (CH 259)
• Deadliest Catch -- Discovery Channel (CH 202)
• This World & The India Story – WION (CH 680)
• India Upfront & News Hour – Times Now (CH 676)

*Customers must be subscribed to packs with the channels

3. What are the channel that are ceasing and when?

The below channel will be replaced by ROCK Action (HD) (CH 310) and ROCK Action On Demand (HD) on
1 October 2023.
• ROCK Extreme (HD) (CH 310)

Yes. We will launch ROCK Action (HD) (CH 310) and ROCK Action On Demand (HD) on 1 October 2023
that you can continue to enjoy at no extra cost. ROCK Action (HD) (CH 310) and ROCK Action On Demand
(HD) is a movie channel with thrillers, adventure, box office hits, action-packed movies and more!

• The Hunger Games
• Now You See Me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.