Official MIO TV Thread.......

kippei

earlier i mentioned when i read the specs, i fell off my chair..but becos of BPL, i no choice but to subscribe. :D

they should have unlock 20mbps str8 for those who subscribe miotv with 10mbps internet.. den simple liao ma.. still 2 lines.. wah lan..

t13

1 new socket to your 2nd tel lnie.

1 socket = 1 tel line = 1 modem.

Socket 1 in my Dining Room.

Socket 2 (pull from corridor) to install in Living Room next to tv.

This Socket 2 is it same telephone number as Socket 1?

Do i have to pay separate subscription for Socket 2 if different telephone number?

*puzzled*

chunlianghere

Do i have to pay separate subscription for Socket 2 if different telephone number?

*puzzled*

1 tel line = 1 tel number.

FOC for broadband plan above 8Mbps.

seeyourhead_jiejie

they should have unlock 20mbps str8 for those who subscribe miotv with 10mbps internet.. den simple liao ma.. still 2 lines.. wah lan..
they used to do this.
everything on 1 line. (yes 10mbps with miotv also on 1 line)
but many problem/users complain.

chunlianghere

so yours got any problem wit 10Mbps speed n miotv running at the same time?:s8:

lets hear from u 1st...:yawn:

or mayb u wan to provide them wit more resources..they wil sure happily use only 1 line for everything.:)

seeyourhead_jiejie

or mayb u wan to provide them wit more resources..they wil sure happily use only 1 line for everything.:)
if really do tat,
mayb few weeks later u will c him complaining here :look:

Houdineer

in this case need 1 or 2 phone sockets?

2 phone sockets means 2 2wire modems right?

what modem depends on what plan you have...if you currently ALR have a 2wire modem for internet, they'll just give you an aztech1000er for your miotv use... the new line/socket usually for miotv only, no internet profile...

Houdineer

*puzzled*

think you better make sure it's ANOTHER number... because if it's the same, defeats the purpose of running another wire from corridor right? :(yes...different subscription for another line... but free 6mths plan i not sure need to pay not...

kippei

so far so good. just installed for 3hours.

2Wire modem, Wireless home connect (Comtrend)
No 2nd socket

After installation have been running p2p (ppstream), download bittorent files with xunlei and running miotv at same time so far so good with desktop.

Running 2 other laptops for laptop surfing.. no complaints from my siblings.

However, the man says no worries and ask me to observe for 7 days and see if there's any problems with the bandwidth running both. If there is then call up singnet to see if i need to change to ruckus wireless home connect or pulling in another 2nd line for miotv.

Maybe my district is a new built hdb for less than 10 yrs ba.. lines quite new probably.

1st Test with speedtest.net

852273583.png

Will test again tonight when worldcup is being telecast..

I hope the speed last =) will update again these few days

lockks

Guess its better to countercheck the miotv programmes especially if u subscribe for epl.
Check 61 and make sure the images don't jerk. U need to spend time to observe.
The video on demand will lag 4 times around 10 mins.
So do not bother to subscribe. A bloody waste of money.
Singtel has brought us an inferior product to the market and sell.
The helpdesk are useless to answer queries.
The pictures are grainy at best. The epl channcel seems to be the one which has the best quality. Sound quality is not good still. The image is normally 16 x 9 unlike starhub which has already adjust the picture to fit into our widescreen tv.
Haven t see the HD5 but pretty confident it wont win starhub.
Starhub is the best. Singtel...no way.
Never buy singtel shares. Companies like this won't be great.

No problems with the internet. On 6mbps but downloading can reach 9mbps on speedtest. Mobile with singtel seems to be sucky nowadays...dun know why.

later going to test bittorrent and surf net while watching miotv.

kippei

lol.. comtrend down status light keeps blinking...

congrats thats its proven lousy.. tmr they send ppl down to change and i requested a ruckus..

huat!!..

Internet speed still alright with the 2wire..

weng

i mixed up the comtrend A-B location and AP status so that's why the 2nd day couldn't transmit at all. found the manual for a similar 9020 from one of the thread somewhere and managed to fix it. tested it and it's still the same as my 1st day performance... laggy and HD5 totally no go where no problems with the aztech. gonna call them and get them to rectify it... either change to a ruckus or take back and stop charging me.

kippei

i mixed up the comtrend A-B location and AP status so that's why the 2nd day couldn't transmit at all. found the manual for a similar 9020 from one of the thread somewhere and managed to fix it. tested it and it's still the same as my 1st day performance... laggy and HD5 totally no go where no problems with the aztech. gonna call them and get them to rectify it... either change to a ruckus or take back and stop charging me.

i mean if comtrend isnt a durable solution.. they shouldnt be using it alreadi.. waste consumer time. theres still other homeplug solution out there..

kippei

mayb singnet wan "cheap" ma...

but i guess they wil be reviewing it again..

Broadband all along okie.. den miotv from installation on till 3pm+ only.. up lorry the comtrend.. lol..

i haven really complain yet la, since its peak period after pc show and 1st day installation only i give chance.. i feedback abit..and the cso called back few times to check...still good enough service. If still like tt i mus ask ruckus for free liao :s13::s13::s13:

See how it goes after they rectify it tomorrow. Sian. Free things never come good.
i mean its unfair for consumer to test on your inconsistent technology which is failing ppl

weng

sunday the 1688 working or not? if yes i'll call tomw, else monday liao...

hpv500

am new here...first time getting Mio this coming tues....its a recontract 10mbps with free Mio...

Situation:
currently running the old 2wire modem inside my room...connected to fax machine....

my 2wire modem is bridged to a Buffalo router to handle the traffic (2wire s***)....

when they come to install the new Mio modem...can request them not to change to new one?
or MioTV die die muz use the new white 2wire modem?

somemore my LCD TV is in living room, there's a phone socket there about 5m away from the TV set...can they fix the white 2wire at the living while i still use the old 2wire in my bedroom?

TIA...abit confusing here...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.