Official MIO TV Thread.......

Kennedy

seeyourhead_jiejie

thanks for info.

my house singtel home tel fee is $12 monthly.
if Singtel haf additional 2nd line, that will be around $6 extra + homeplugs $5 = $11 extra per month.

In the end, Singtel always win...
free..
if its really then dun need to pay the $6 ma.

and u can put the 2nd line near the tv ?
so can save the $5 for home plug too ?

liangtam

powerline u pay $5 per mth for a year then sell still you earn.
where got win, anyhow only.

Kennedy

no one would know the 2nd telephone is free for how long?

maybe for duration of mio home contract...

seeyourhead_jiejie

its free as long as u keep ur internet and miotv. without downgrading ur internet plan. at least this is what i am told when i sign my 15mbps.

Jas007

in my case ... i currently MioPlan ... 8mbps with DigitalVoice line ...
so this second line duration is for MioTV contract (if i do sign up) !

the second line, if your case need be (installed) [like i was told i needed to if i sign up MioTV ... i on 8mbps, the CSO checked and said 2nd line for me is needed] is :
1) strictly for your MioTV ...
2) it is an analogue line
3) this line no need to pay the monthly / quarterly charges ... i assuming reason being IF you do not actually connect a phone to it and chit chat with your friends ...
4) this line is necessary to prevent lag on your existing 8mbps ... cos if not ... u will lag surf + MioTV
5) this line is tied with your MioTV contract .... as such if u no renew your MioTV contract when expired ... no termination / cancellation fees for this particular line

BUT before you dive in to sign up for early bird BPL special ...
do note that once you sign ... even though u no need pay until Aug 2010 if u watch non-VOD programmes .... you are liable for early termination fees ...
the early bird comes with a 1 year contract that starts from Aug 2010 ...

reason i have not signed up :
1) Sitex next week ... wait and see what other lobangs they got ...
2) no BPL until next year .... current CL group matches ending soon ... no CL until 2010 even though it's free for the rest of this season ....
3) no details of ST's BPL packages ... who broadcasting ... any HD channels ? etc etc

pker88

what about mio tv if u sign up only
without any mio home

since they will aslo provide u a free modem and decorder
how much speed they will allocate for it ah

and also is ther any japanese drama or series in mio tv program
if yes which channel and i heard alot about mio tv lags
is it soo bad?

liangtam

what about mio tv if u sign up only
without any mio home

since they will aslo provide u a free modem and decorder
how much speed they will allocate for it ah

and also is ther any japanese drama or series in mio tv program
if yes which channel and i heard alot about mio tv lags
is it soo bad?

Dun think modem is free...
no doramas i fink.

pker88

Mo free modem even u sub to their mio tv but I spoke to their cso
they say it's provided lor this is odd

new_bie

bro n sis, i need help..

just sign the 3mbps bb service (to surf and watch movie).

had choose the wireless de.

is it easy to install ?? coz if ask singtel ppl come extra 35 buck which i unwilling to pay.

is there step by step to follow??

and wad do i need??

can share connection with my laptop as now useing desktop planning to gt a laptop this sitex.

tks all for kind advice..

ralfale

yes.
1 existing line.
and u apply for internet 8mbps,10mbps,15mbps WITH miotv
they will lay another tel line for u.

both line with their own diff tel number. no extra charges. only charges is the usage charges.

Guys

Do you know if they die die have to lay another separate telephone line for us into the house for the 2nd line? Or they can just whatever phone line setup i have at home, and both tel lines can be used concurrently? I dont want them to lay some ugly cables and trunking around my house and spoil all the house deco.

liangtam

Guys

Do you know if they die die have to lay another separate telephone line for us into the house for the 2nd line? Or they can just whatever phone line setup i have at home, and both tel lines can be used concurrently? I dont want them to lay some ugly cables and trunking around my house and spoil all the house deco.

u prefer an additional pvc, or cut cost method together with frustrating experience?

chunlianghere

Guys

I tink its possible. A tel cable hav 4 lines inside. One number only use 2 line ma.

seeyourhead_jiejie

I tink its possible. A tel cable hav 4 lines inside. One number only use 2 line ma.
i guess most of the time they did this, using the 2nd pair for 2nd number.

they did this to my line.

and this 2 weeks, i got a few freinds tat applied miotv, they also use the 2nd pair instead of pulling a 2nd line..

but accoring to the sexperts here, might have some problems..

ralfale

Difficult sia.

I just signed up with the sales promotor on this MioTv + broadband package. It is giving me 6 mths internet free for starhub convert. However, total contract for broadband is still 30 months (including the free 6 mths). U guys think is this worth it? 2 1/2 half year contract, just to get the free fixed line, and just to view soccer.

On top of that, optic line coming. I suspect they will be delivered before schedule. My area already have notices that they are going to lay the cables when the actual schedule is end next year or early 2011 ! If i sign contract now i will be tied to singnet bb for long term.

Tough choice man :( I can still back up if i want to just call the sales guy tomorrow.

liangtam

The downside of addiction in watching ' 22 men and a ball ' flying around.

Kennedy

i guess most of the time they did this, using the 2nd pair for 2nd number.

they did this to my line.

and this 2 weeks, i got a few freinds tat applied miotv, they also use the 2nd pair instead of pulling a 2nd line..

but accoring to the sexperts here, might have some problems..

don't know much about tel cable hav 4 lines inside. One number only use 2 line

but many years ago, I have 2 tel lines at home.

I remember the technician came to the room, only change the tel socket and that's it for the 2nd tel line. No extra cabling. the room only 2nd tel number can ring.

some logic apply then one will be using one tel socket exclusively for mio tv. that socket can't have phone calls now.

Ian

My MIO Home $$56.90

[ 10mpbs + MioTV + Analogue Home Line]

was installed on 12th Nov 2009.

Actually i upgraded from 8Mbps to 10Mbps
and retain my existing Home Line.

But they never give me separate line for my Mio TV.
My Analogue Line is being use for both Internet and Mio TV.

Can request them to give me 2nd line?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.