Official MIO TV Thread.......

Teo Ming Ern

If not mistaken.. if you are not a starhub fibre customer, there are additional charges. Singtel doesn't charge extra.

Oh I see... but I keep hearing about freezes, access issues, esepcially for football... quite curious since Starhub also uses fibre for their cable tv and so also is IPTV... so far I never have such issues for Starhub... so I wonder what's the difference... last year I signed up with Singtel for mobile phone lines cos Starhub's is really crappy now (in terms of value) - they don't allow subsidiary lines like they used to, and the CSO asked me to sign up for MIO TV... but I declined cos I just recontracted with Starhub and MIO didn't have BBC which I like... also the seeming complexity of the connection is a bit off-putting if I were to consider jumping over... might be cheaper cos I have Singtel mobile lines now...

pulp2000

Singtel Mio TV box will only work if you have a Singtel home broadband.

That's what I was told by their cso also. But it's not true. My parents was advised by a competent singtel cso who advised them to keep their M1 broadband (coz still halfway under contract) and subscribe to mio TV successfully. Note that its the white singtel tv box without HDR. The black HDR box seems to work with only singtel broadband. That's why I want to verify coz singtel broadband is usually more expensive than the rest...

Maximus_XXVIII

Oh I see... but I keep hearing about freezes, access issues, esepcially for football... quite curious since Starhub also uses fibre for their cable tv and so also is IPTV... so far I never have such issues for Starhub... so I wonder what's the difference... last year I signed up with Singtel for mobile phone lines cos Starhub's is really crappy now (in terms of value) - they don't allow subsidiary lines like they used to, and the CSO asked me to sign up for MIO TV... but I declined cos I just recontracted with Starhub and MIO didn't have BBC which I like... also the seeming complexity of the connection is a bit off-putting if I were to consider jumping over... might be cheaper cos I have Singtel mobile lines now...

Were those freeze issues you read about recently or were they long time ago?

I know back in May 2012 on the last day of EPL, Mio TV (now Singtel TV) subscribers experienced freeze/hang glitches because many people were switching channels between the Man City vs QPR and Man Utd vs Sunderland match as both Manchester teams were level on points and separated only by goal difference.

Furthermore, back then many Mio TV subscribers were on Mio TV that runs on ADSL and the limited bandwidth worsen the situation. I was on their fibre Mio TV then and I did not experience any issues that night, but was glad to receive the bill rebate since I subscribed to their EPL channel :)

I am on Singtel fibre and TV since 2012 and so far my experience has been pleasant without much issues. I won't say it's 100% perfect as there are still down times like underground cables being cut by some construction works or some island wide internet issue but overall it's still fine with me.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...d-fine-of-180000-for-epl-disruption-on-mio-tv

syihabuddin

Waliewei. Did Singtel change something backend with the mio tv setup?

I’m on the ONR and now the set top box is asking for 192.168.1.2. I remembered in the past it used to be static at 192.168.1.196.
So now there’s an IP conflict with my NAS. 🤦🏽*♂️

Additionally, the set top box will refuse to boot if your ONR is set with a DNS other than the default Singtel provided DNS now it seems. 🤦🏽*♂️🤦🏽*♂️

Teo Ming Ern

Were those freeze issues you read about recently or were they long time ago?

I know back in May 2012 on the last day of EPL, Mio TV (now Singtel TV) subscribers experienced freeze/hang glitches because many people were switching channels between the Man City vs QPR and Man Utd vs Sunderland match as both Manchester teams were level on points and separated only by goal difference.

Furthermore, back then many Mio TV subscribers were on Mio TV that runs on ADSL and the limited bandwidth worsen the situation. I was on their fibre Mio TV then and I did not experience any issues that night, but was glad to receive the bill rebate since I subscribed to their EPL channel :)

I am on Singtel fibre and TV since 2012 and so far my experience has been pleasant without much issues. I won't say it's 100% perfect as there are still down times like underground cables being cut by some construction works or some island wide internet issue but overall it's still fine with me.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...d-fine-of-180000-for-epl-disruption-on-mio-tv

Just casually reading through this forum indicates quite a number of technical issues with MIO tv... seems rather complicated... just interested to know why... and if it's really so troublesome to set up or limiting?

Impheatus

Hi, do anyone of you have Netflix on miotv? Can I check if it is possible to have Chinese subtitles for most of the shows? I notice it is working on my Netflix app, but when I open it on miotv, the Chinese subtitle is not available

derrickgoh

Hi, do anyone of you have Netflix on miotv? Can I check if it is possible to have Chinese subtitles for most of the shows? I notice it is working on my Netflix app, but when I open it on miotv, the Chinese subtitle is not available
Wouldnt be surprised if its limitation of stinktel. Before I signed up i asked if the on screen guide has english text. Ok its weird but my parents watch chinese drama & movie but don’t understand so not only english subtitles in the show are important but the OSG also needs english text so they can read the synopsis to decide if its worth watching.

I was told there is. After signing up i found out that OSG was only in chinese with no option for english unlike starhub tv. I complained to stinktel who taichi to the provider & claimed it depends on what they receive from provider.

Nice try smoking me but i told them the same channels are available on starhub tv so how come their OSG has option of english or chinese? Stinktel flipped prata & went from blaming the provider to giving a lame reply “we are not familiar with starhub but this is what singtel is like. We are “constantly looking to improve” & all that bullshyt.

So yeah the staff lied to me just to close the sale & mgmt condones it by not taking action & merely saying they will train their staff more. WTF?! So im not surprised if its stinktel’s problem.

derrickgoh

Just casually reading through this forum indicates quite a number of technical issues with MIO tv... seems rather complicated... just interested to know why... and if it's really so troublesome to set up or limiting?
See my reply to Impheatus. Do your research NOT by asking stinktel cos their sales ppl lie to close sales. Ask existing users if u have any particular requirements before u get conned into a 2 year contract with stinktel mgmt condoning their staff’s dishonest sales tactics & refusing to allow you to break contract without penalty. And insisting its not dishonesty but they will train their staff more. Balls lah!

The issue with subtitles is just one thing i kena con. I also asked if there was a reminder option like starhub where 5 mins before show starts a reminder pops up. Was told yes but there isn’t!!

And their pause feature is a joke! With starhub tv i once paused a show, forgot all about it & went out. When i came home hours later, the show was still paused. For stinktel i pause for dinner in dining room & come back, the show unpaused itself.

No, it did not run out of hard disk space. When i complained i was told i could only pause for limited time & if i dont watch before a certain time its lost. How crappy is that? And here’s the best part, the staff told me to overcome this by recording instead of pausing.

So what is the point of bragging about the feature to pause & watch anytime u want when i have to record? Its like saying im going to give u a car but dont drive, i rather u take bus. Then give me a car for fug?!

Bottomline, stinktel tv is fugged up & how their sales staff lie in order to close sales is despicable!

Teo Ming Ern

See my reply to Impheatus. Do your research NOT by asking stinktel cos their sales ppl lie to close sales. Ask existing users if u have any particular requirements before u get conned into a 2 year contract with stinktel mgmt condoning their staff’s dishonest sales tactics & refusing to allow you to break contract without penalty. And insisting its not dishonesty but they will train their staff more. Balls lah!

The issue with subtitles is just one thing i kena con. I also asked if there was a reminder option like starhub where 5 mins before show starts a reminder pops up. Was told yes but there isn’t!!

And their pause feature is a joke! With starhub tv i once paused a show, forgot all about it & went out. When i came home hours later, the show was still paused. For stinktel i pause for dinner in dining room & come back, the show unpaused itself.

No, it did not run out of hard disk space. When i complained i was told i could only pause for limited time & if i dont watch before a certain time its lost. How crappy is that? And here’s the best part, the staff told me to overcome this by recording instead of pausing.

So what is the point of bragging about the feature to pause & watch anytime u want when i have to record? Its like saying im going to give u a car but dont drive, i rather u take bus. Then give me a car for fug?!

Bottomline, stinktel tv is fugged up & how their sales staff lie in order to close sales is despicable!

Woah!!! Sounds like your experience was really quite negative. Maybe I should just stick to Starhub. So far they've been quite fair to me, and also quite flexible with my requests. Never really had any contact with Singtel until I signed up mobile lines with them just for the sake of having subsidiary lines.

Nitrile

Guys, I’m currently using a Samsung TV and I can control my set top box with just my Samsung remote. Basically the set top box is controlled by the TV. I’m thinking of switching to an LG oled TV. Does it have this function?

RSKeisuke

Guys, I’m currently using a Samsung TV and I can control my set top box with just my Samsung remote. Basically the set top box is controlled by the TV. I’m thinking of switching to an LG oled TV. Does it have this function?

i am controlling my singtel tv STB using my OLED55C8 remote control..
requires some setup. tried a few known brands of STB and finally got one that works...

Nitrile

i am controlling my singtel tv STB using my OLED55C8 remote control..
requires some setup. tried a few known brands of STB and finally got one that works...

Thanks. Samsung was automatic. It even shows the Singtel TV logo on the home screen. :s22:

AcEz874

I don't know is this the right thread to ask, what aftermarket router are you guys using for miotv? i called singtel and they keep telling don't change to other router which is not advisable and not good, i don't believe their crap haha!

I really want to change my old Singtel Aztech router for a Asus one and i heard from a friend that Asus support for miotv is great. . . i also do want to upgrade and increase my house wifi coverage.

Nitrile

I don't know is this the right thread to ask, what aftermarket router are you guys using for miotv? i called singtel and they keep telling don't change to other router which is not advisable and not good, i don't believe their crap haha!

I really want to change my old Singtel Aztech router for a Asus one and i heard from a friend that Asus support for miotv is great. . . i also do want to upgrade and increase my house wifi coverage.

i'm using a synology rt2600ac for my routing and it has inbuilt support for singtel TV

previously used asus ac87u and it also has inbuilt support.

dantom04

Feel like canceling my Singtel tv... mainly use to watch football... but so long no football matches liao... every month like waste $92... I don’t even watch any other shows... if cancel need to return the box huh? The ST shop still open?
Btw any other legal way to watch football matches in the future online?

derrickgoh

Feel like canceling my Singtel tv... mainly use to watch football... but so long no football matches liao... every month like waste $92... I don’t even watch any other shows... if cancel need to return the box huh? The ST shop still open?
Must return box. Am waiting for my stupid contract to expire. Regret signing up for stinktel tv!

xiaofan

Must return box. ST shops are still open.

Without fibre TV, you can use SingTel Cast Sports Plus pack to watch soccer. But some say it is not as smooth as SingTel TV.

https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/lifestyle-services/cast/sports-plus

Or you can subscribe to VPN and watch overseas live streams.

Knightoftheblackrose

I have been using an ASUS RT-AC5300 for many years now, with Singtel Mio TV.

Excellent WIFI coverage for the entire household.
No dead wifi zones anywhere.

I highly recommend this router, if you are thinking of making the switch.

BTW, I have 2 Singtel Mio TV set boxes in my household, and my router can natively work to support both.

P.S. I received a PM about setting up the ASUS 5300 Router to support 2 SingTel Mio TV set boxes. I am making this information public to anyone who might need it. :)

HARDWARE SETUP
First of all , you must have an existing working setup with the 2 Mio TV boxes and the original supplied SingTel router .

After you replace the SingTel router with your ASUS router , you have to login into the ASUS router.

ROUTER SOFTWARE SETUP
Under LAN , Tab IPTV,

Select “ Manual Setting” for ISP Profile.

Use these settings :

Internet : VID: 10, PRIO: 0
LAN Port 4: VID: 20, PRIO: 4
LAN Port 3: VID: 20, PRIO: 4

DHCP: Microsoft
IGMP PROXY: Disable
IGMP Snooping: Disable
(Udpxy) : 0

eteo

I have been using an ASUS RT-AC5300 for many years now, with Singtel Mio TV.

Excellent WIFI coverage for the entire household.
No dead wifi zones anywhere.

I highly recommend this router, if you are thinking of making the switch.

BTW, I have 2 Singtel Mio TV set boxes in my household, and my router can natively work to support both.

P.S. I received a PM about setting up the ASUS 5300 Router to support 2 SingTel Mio TV set boxes. I am making this information public to anyone who might need it. :)

HARDWARE SETUP
First of all , you must have an existing working setup with the 2 Mio TV boxes and the original supplied SingTel router .

After you replace the SingTel router with your ASUS router , you have to login into the ASUS router.

ROUTER SOFTWARE SETUP
Under LAN , Tab IPTV,

Select “ Manual Setting” for ISP Profile.

Use these settings :

Internet : VID: 10, PRIO: 0
LAN Port 4: VID: 20, PRIO: 4
LAN Port 3: VID: 20, PRIO: 4

DHCP: Microsoft
IGMP PROXY: Disable
IGMP Snooping: Disable
(Udpxy) : 0

Hi thanks for sharing. Just to confirm that you have a Singtel ONT and not an ONR?

stamina

Hi Are u using the cisco Set top box or the other brand?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.