Official MIO TV Thread.......

cstanhwz

when i switch on my tv and mio box, it takes a long time (a couple of mins) before i can start viewing. don't remember scv have this sort of "warm up".. is everyone having this problem?

Mine too. Should be normal.

Read today's forum from Straits Times.

Someone from SingTel MioTV dept also says put the modem and mio box on standby for instant viewing.

By the way, my Starhub HD box takes about 1 minutes before can view from turning on.

tootboy

My mio tv s**** ..... In the morning and noon , its ok. However at night from 7 to 11 , it always freezes ! Especially HD5 . Have got it for 2 weeks alrd, currently letting it R.I.P. Called 1688, sent technician down twice. Both say nth wrong , did some reset and left . But the prob came agn during night time ... How to deal with this =(

antsig30

Brother P2P programs take up lots of bandwidth thus resulting in MIO TV freeze, even though u have a full perfect bandwidth at sub end, please note, I have personally encounter cases like this and advise sub accordingly, no use call 1688 and sending technician down they will tell ya the same thing.....

I think it is the 2wire that cannot take the number of connections caused it to choke. I had managed to bridge the 2wire and connected with DIR-655. Now the miotv screen is running smoothly :)

antsig30

Anyone has this issue? When I switch off the 2wire and the miotv box, the next day the aspect ratio setting is gone. I had to change to setting and stretch the screen everytime I turn off.

liangtam

My mio tv s**** ..... In the morning and noon , its ok. However at night from 7 to 11 , it always freezes ! Especially HD5 . Have got it for 2 weeks alrd, currently letting it R.I.P. Called 1688, sent technician down twice. Both say nth wrong , did some reset and left . But the prob came agn during night time ... How to deal with this =(

No ppl use internet at night got this problem?

cstanhwz

Anyone has this issue? When I switch off the 2wire and the miotv box, the next day the aspect ratio setting is gone. I had to change to setting and stretch the screen everytime I turn off.

This is normal. It does not seem to store the settings when you off it.

Mentioned before already.

But sometime it does on my unit. :s22:

cstanhwz

Ask the tech to come at 7 to 11 timing?

cstanhwz

I tried but thier technician dun work till such a late timeing =(

Use your mobile phone, film the problem with HD5, walk into Hello shop, and demand to see the manager. Show him, ask him to do something (like talk to their tech support people). Else, say want to terminate.

Just a suggestion.

Francis85

Using comtrend connections or Lan Cable, if comtrend, at night family members come home, turn on more applicances will cause freeze it's normal, as comtrend requires power to run also if like that request to change to ruckus......

superkid

hmm you mean if you signed up miotv... they will give a free phone line?

I applied last week and the guy called me and said application for the phone line is free... but have to pay one-time installation charge of $50++ and $30+ every 3 months for line rental....

I don't recall the promotion mentioning free phone line... only free miotv installation and free first HD set-top box

end of the day subscription for the phoneline is the "hidden" cost. Indirectly you are paying aout $10/mth more to watch soccer.

I went down and ask if i could subscribe to the soccerfrenzy offer just to enjoy the online streaming. I was told that no matter what i will need to get a phoneline and pay the quarterly subscribtion :(

Francis85

Brother conclusion I come to for him is maybe one of his family members doing heavy P2P that's why freeze, or using comtrend, which requires power also not enough power the thing will freeze also.... or Line issue, again he need to post his line stats here so we can help him......

Read the qn carefully again.

COL Juay

Brother conclusion I come to for him is maybe one of his family members doing heavy P2P that's why freeze, or using comtrend, which requires power also not enough power the thing will freeze also.... or Line issue, again he need to post his line stats here so we can help him......

I'm considering, changing my starhub internet to miohome. So does it mean if i on like "utorrent" my miotv will FREEZE. currently i'm using maxonline and i got bpl so miotv n internet is separated. if miotv and internet run on same phoneline bandwidth GONE? (right now after i portfowarded, when i on utorrent, all my computers and iphones in the house CAN detect internet but CANT surf at all, cause, i guess the utorrent took away ALL the bandwidth)

Btw, does anyone know the model and specifications of the homeplugs that singtel is offering at $5.25/mth as wireless solution. I demanded the singtel person to show me, but it's a WHITE BLANK box with no words or user manual inside. just 2 wires and 2 plugs.

Francis85

Now they have models available, comtrend and ruckus, and it is 5.35 per month for 12 months..... please note comtrend will cause MIO TV to freeze also when lots more other appliances in house is turn on as the comtrend required power to Run also...... RJ45 is the better choice......

I'm considering, changing my starhub internet to miohome. So does it mean if i on like "utorrent" my miotv will FREEZE. currently i'm using maxonline and i got bpl so miotv n internet is separated. if miotv and internet run on same phoneline bandwidth GONE? (right now after i portfowarded, when i on utorrent, all my computers and iphones in the house CAN detect internet but CANT surf at all, cause, i guess the utorrent took away ALL the bandwidth)

Btw, does anyone know the model and specifications of the homeplugs that singtel is offering at $5.25/mth as wireless solution. I demanded the singtel person to show me, but it's a WHITE BLANK box with no words or user manual inside. just 2 wires and 2 plugs.

liangtam

See which plan u sign lor, get seperate lines for each service better.

You can see the models on comtrend site, PowerGrid 902. but no fanciful box, because it was customized and meant to be deployed.

COL Juay

rukus vs comtrend?

See which plan u sign lor, get seperate lines for each service better.

You can see the models on comtrend site, PowerGrid 902. but no fanciful box, because it was customized and meant to be deployed.

I wanted to get 2 lines which is safer, BUT, singtel tell me promo for free additional houseline is OVER. even after i explained and argued my case to the manager.

btw, wad's the difference between rukus and comtrend? I think previously, singtel was using Aztec HL-109E 200Mbps or some Aztec model right? I'm pretty confused.

I'm probably gonna sign up for 6mpbs to try. If it's limiting my MAX download speed (currently i'm using starhub 12mpbs with MAX attainable download speed at 1.8mb/sec but most of the time the MAX is 1.3mb)

btw, liangtam, do you mean that, if i sign up for 10mpbs, chances of me having miotv's screen frozen when i on torrent will be lower since bandwidth is supposedly larger?

Francis85, so rukus will be a better choice compared to comtrend if i die die dun wana use RJ45? if only i can complain till singtel buay tah han to give me an separate houseline DUE to the fact that actually i can prove them wrong that ONE miobox and ONE houseline is sufficient for both internet and miotv connections.
Cause currently the sales person at singtel told me that the main reason they cancelled the promo for FREE additional houseline is cause the technical team says ONE houseline and ONE miobox is sufficient already.

I doubt if i use my case, (not wanting to drag a RJ45 from living room to my room vice versa) they'll care.

chunlianghere

btw, liangtam, do you mean that, if i sign up for 10mpbs, chances of me having miotv's screen frozen when i on torrent will be lower since bandwidth is supposedly larger?

cos miotv uses 10-15mbps bandwidth..

example if u go for this broadband speed:
-6Mbps: might hav this problem.
-3Mbps: shldnt hav such problem.

COL Juay

cos miotv uses 10-15mbps bandwidth..

example if u go for this broadband speed:
-6Mbps: might hav this problem.
-3Mbps: shldnt hav such problem.

HUH???? i really lost u.

3mbps: shldnt hav such problem.?????????????????
lower internet bandwidth no issues? (do you mean if i choose slower internet speeds, i will not stress my phoneline or the miobox so much till my miotv freeze)

bandwidth is nt like frequency what? correct me if i'm wrong. If u're telling me miotv uses 10-15mbps of bandwidth, so if i use a different connection speed of 6mbps or 3mbps, then i wun have such issue (what i infer from you is since different speeds/frequency so wun affect)? BUT at 6mbps or 3mbps, i think my MAX download speed will suffer alot. Isnt it like cutting my own leg to fit into a small shoe.

SO, if i use 10 or even 15mbps, will my miotv freeze?? and why chances of freezing will be higher? care to explain?

sorry i'm a noob with mio infrastructure.

Thanks for any advices. Much appreciated.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.