Official MIO TV Thread.......

liangtam

am new here...first time getting Mio this coming tues....its a recontract 10mbps with free Mio...

Situation:
currently running the old 2wire modem inside my room...connected to fax machine....

my 2wire modem is bridged to a Buffalo router to handle the traffic (2wire s***)....

when they come to install the new Mio modem...can request them not to change to new one?
or MioTV die die muz use the new white 2wire modem?

somemore my LCD TV is in living room, there's a phone socket there about 5m away from the TV set...can they fix the white 2wire at the living while i still use the old 2wire in my bedroom?

TIA...abit confusing here...
The 2Wire is good lah, Buffalo put in storeroom

Can. But ask them pull a NEW line to ur TV.

kippei

eh those who have singnet broadbad as well using 2wire modem ..

whats the wireless channel you are using and the authentication type for ya wireless security settings. Trying set it with better efficiency and security. Any other settings you guys tweak.

speedjak

I'm still having issues with VOD and internet.

For new subscribers/recontracts of 10mbs and mioTV, I'd recommend you INSIST on a second line for mioTV. Depending on the sales staff, they WILL try and persuade you that one line is all you need (even though it's FOC). That is a lie. You WILL have problems like me and all the others running 10mbs and mioTV simultaneously on a single line.

liangtam

For new subscribers/recontracts of 10mbs and mioTV, I'd recommend you INSIST on a second line for mioTV. Depending on the sales staff, they WILL try and persuade you that one line is all you need (even though it's FOC). That is a lie. You WILL have problems like me and all the others running 10mbs and mioTV simultaneously on a single line.

Not all 10mbps with mioTV are affected.
But, getting an additional line is indeed recommended.

speedjak

Not all 10mbps with mioTV are affected.
But, getting an additional line is indeed recommended.

Yeah, I guess you're right. Maybe I'm just bitter about being swayed by their chiobu staff against installing the FOC second line, even though I'm entitled to it according to their brochure offer.

If I'd known it would suck so bad, I would have never gone along with it.:(

hpv500

The 2Wire is good lah, Buffalo put in storeroom

Can. But ask them pull a NEW line to ur TV.

my opinion differs...with 2wire (old grey one)...alone with all the torrenting and surf net...msn will cut off intermittently...have manually set my dns to singnet/pacnet one

got the buffalo router...bridged it to 2wire...lessen the load of the 2wire...performance increase...no connection disrupted be it torrent/surf net/msn etc... :)

hpv500

by the way...the pulling of new line FOC or chargeable?...how much is the new line?

speedjak

by the way...the pulling of new line FOC or chargeable?...how much is the new line?

I was offered everything for free, meaning the installation/activation charges and subscription fees are waived forever (as long as I'm on mioTV). The charges on my first line would also be waived.

kippei

i m oso using single line on mio and broadband.. so far so good except for the comtrend crap

t13

for subscribers/recontract, its foc... but what about getting miotv free for one year. Also foc?

seth05

dear all, I've just recontracted my snbb and was given mioTV. installed in last saturday and would like to ask a basic question. flipped through the mioTV booklet but can't find an answer to it..was told that the first 30 days can view all channels. does it refer to those VOD ones too? As in some channels do reflect purchased while others done. So for those purchased channels such as mobtv select or even Pix, can I watch those series for free during the first 30 days? thanks for the advices in advance! cheers! :)

kippei

dear all, I've just recontracted my snbb and was given mioTV. installed in last saturday and would like to ask a basic question. flipped through the mioTV booklet but can't find an answer to it..was told that the first 30 days can view all channels. does it refer to those VOD ones too? As in some channels do reflect purchased while others done. So for those purchased channels such as mobtv select or even Pix, can I watch those series for free during the first 30 days? thanks for the advices in advance! cheers! :)

as long as you dont see the word "buy" or "purchase" when you play those vod will do.. i was told so for most of the channels till 300+ will be foc for one month..

you can see the difference by testing demand channels on 300+ and 400+ or 700+.. those which are chargeable will have a "buy $x.xx" besides. those without you will see a "play" beside the title list.

As told by the cso.. dont take it for granted XD

Downloader

Is it "usual" for ODC or VOD to be unavailable soon after powering up MIO from standby or after pausing for sometime?

MIO was only installed last Thurdays but during the 1st day or so I don't remember having the msg temporarily unavailable blah blah blah... not available for business user blah blah blah.

It seems I need to watch normal channel for sometime then go back to try then ok.

Now as I'm creating this post, I can't duplicate the same problem. Is it only during peak hr then will have this issue?

seth05

as long as you dont see the word "buy" or "purchase" when you play those vod will do.. i was told so for most of the channels till 300+ will be foc for one month..

you can see the difference by testing demand channels on 300+ and 400+ or 700+.. those which are chargeable will have a "buy $x.xx" besides. those without you will see a "play" beside the title list.

As told by the cso.. dont take it for granted XD

ah...I do see some movie titles having the price listed beside it while others don't. So, as long as there is no price tag on it, guess its safe to play =P

hpv500

finally installed earlier on ard 5pm with comtrend wireless bundle...speed wise is gd for internet etc...but the MioTV do encounter hiccups as the speed is not really as optimal as i tot it would be....

Houdineer

it seems that the VOD is a problem even singtel cant solve... tried everything le, change mio box, modem, lan cable, new line... the VOD usually have problems... something we have to live with.. the VOD is sensitive... every now and then stuck... so if your VOD keep on hanging, fret not because everyone will tio this... no point complaining, no one can solve it... remember, this is IPTV, not cable... and vod is crappy service thats being offered despite being very laggy and choppy..... :D

seeyourhead_jiejie

it seems that the VOD is a problem even singtel cant solve... tried everything le, change mio box, modem, lan cable, new line... the VOD usually have problems... something we have to live with.. the VOD is sensitive... every now and then stuck... so if your VOD keep on hanging, fret not because everyone will tio this... no point complaining, no one can solve it... remember, this is IPTV, not cable... and vod is crappy service thats being offered despite being very laggy and choppy..... :D
what problem does VOD have?
which channel exactly?

my family watch the VOD everyday. all diff channels for the chinese package. so far everything alright..

kippei

ah...I do see some movie titles having the price listed beside it while others don't. So, as long as there is no price tag on it, guess its safe to play =P

enjoy den.. lol.. it took mi 1 day to browse and got bored with the titles. lol

Houdineer

what problem does VOD have?
which channel exactly?

my family watch the VOD everyday. all diff channels for the chinese package. so far everything alright..

yarh i know... some of my friends also no problem at all... my house knn hang until sian liao... everytime hang or got the damn error msg just re-choose again lor... i checked CRC everything le... MDF under my blk nia... all the bw song song... but still vod cock up... the even change some wires for me underground... still same... iptv.... but my trace/wc is still ok.... :D

pop

My frustration with Miotv continues. After I called them up about the flickering, they despatched the installer back. He noted the flickering but claimed he couldn't do anything about it. I called Singtel again and asked them to send a diiferent technician to have a look. Still they sent the same fella back and I told him no point wasting my time if you cannot do anything. I have to take leave to stay home and wait for them. They finally sent another guy who at least took the trouble of changing the set top, and try another HDMI cable. Still the same. His prognosis, maybe my TV HDMi port is faulty. Well, at least he tried something and I said, maybe it is my TV. So I went to buy a new TV. Guess what? Same problem persists.

I haven't called back Singtel. Don't know whether it matters or not now. Don't think they can fix it.

Guys, can you take a look closely at your TV, especially Ch 8 Octo, the logo, got flickering? Another one is the yellow logo of Ch 4 Sensasi.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.