Official MIO TV Thread.......

Jas007

from their FAQ

3. I am currently subscribed to mio Stadium Pack / FOX Sports Pack / Twin Pack / Sports Pack / Combo Packs / Ultimate Pack / Ultimate Plus / Sports+ / Sports Combos / Gold Packs (before 26 April 2013). How will I be impacted by the launch of new BPL content packs?

You can continue to enjoy your current subscription till the end of the contract. We will keep you notified in due course should there be any changes.

I guess sooner or later have to pay the higher rates.:(

the ones in red NOT ENTIRELY true ...
allow me to elaborate ...
i currently on exstream explore Home Sports 50 (nvm the fancy name lol)
it's due to expire end Feb 2014
so i will continue to enjoy the coming season's BPL as per what i was last season (or rather since i signed up for the current contract)
that said, my current Mio Sports package DOES NOT include CL !
so i WILL NOT be entitled to CL or whatever that was not in my current Mio package !

now the text in red says :
(Part1) You can continue to enjoy your current subscription till the end of the contract.
(Part2) We will keep you notified in due course should there be any changes.

the first part is wrong ... u will continue bcos u r still under contract ... and then when ur contract expires, you can continue without renewing or terminating your expired contract. (you will be subjected to new $ if you recontract or terminate whatever part of your package but wanna keep Mio Sports)
Part 2 says we will keep you notified ... but as we all know ... ST does not do this (its up to ST customers to check on your own expiry ... but you can play hard ball and demand a waiver when u renew citing u r paying more for x months bcaos u not informed out of contract, i've done that a few times liao lol) that UNLESS your current package is no longer offered eg fibrespeed changes, etc ... so they need u to upgrade to another package ... in which case you probably have to, else your package is terminated anyway. but pls try to fight for some kinda savings off the BPL $ if you're forced to pay at higher $ ... dun just yes yes to everything ... afterall, your hands are forced and u could threaten to not renew or upgrade (BUT you must be prepared to forgo your BPL in case they force you to LLST and cancel cancel lor :s13: ....)

the last scenario is ... your current package is expiring (renewable if you're into last 3 mths of contract) or expired ... and a new package offering fibre, home digital, mio is cheaper than what u are currently servicing ! in my case that's about $82 per month until end Feb 2014... so say anytime from Dec 2013 onwards if got new bundle and cheaper than $82 (not likely, but never know) ... i will renew to that one

confused ? perhaps :s13:
in summary ... if u already have Mio BPL and dun want to pay new BPL $ ... dun :
1) renew current contract when it expires
2) dun terminate (thinking u have to pay new $ when new season kicks off) ... and then realized u made a mistake ... by then u HAVE to pay new $

just let things be ... but know that u might not be entitled to the full package of CL, FA Cup, Mickey Mouse cup, etc (if it's offered) of what those new signups are offered

crazydeals

confused ? perhaps :s13:
in summary ... if u already have Mio BPL and dun want to pay new BPL $ ... dun :
1) renew current contract when it expires
2) dun terminate (thinking u have to pay new $ when new season kicks off) ... and then realized u made a mistake ... by then u HAVE to pay new $

just let things be ... but know that u might not be entitled to the full package of CL, FA Cup, Mickey Mouse cup, etc (if it's offered) of what those new signups are offered

If my contract expires and I am not renewing it and continuing as it is (hopefully with the same price), then if i want to add in some new channels (non sports ones), will that be possible or if I do so, will I have to pay the new BPL pricing?

Jas007

If my contract expires and I am not renewing it and continuing as it is (hopefully with the same price), then if i want to add in some new channels (non sports ones), will that be possible or if I do so, will I have to pay the new BPL pricing?

if u not adding new channels ... then no change in pricing

BUT since u wanna add new channels to current package ... think best u call ST to check
best advice anyone exp in handling with ST can give u is :
talk or ask nicely ... explain u not terminating nor renewing ... adding channels means more income for them ... but if need pay new BPL $ bcos of this, then ST also lose bcos then u might not be interested in adding those channels and just carry on with current arrangements ie no extra income for ST
if still fail ... request to speak to supervisor or senior (but again, do so politely ... nothing to gain from anger ... unless CSO damn hopeless ... in which case, just end the call ... and call in again bcos different CSOs tells you different things :s13: u might just get lucky)

Jas007

post update here after you've called ST bro :)

khenwooi1

Anyone has logged in with mio tv go? I logged in with my iPad and there doesn't seem to be any sound. I have to use the headphone to listen

thinthin1

I use mio tv go on my Nexus 7 , but cannot view the live streaming tv. It alway show low bandwidth. I got 10mbs broadband.So even 10mbs cannot watch live streaming from mio tv go?

bslow27

i log in using note 2, can watch but not very smooth streaming though using wifi.

bslow27

Just received the letter from singtel. Two months free if recontract to the 150mbps fibre bundle(69.90). Plus Gold Pack will be 114.90(20 off Gold Pack).

bundy

currently on the cheap 10 mbps ADSL plan, just recontract last mth. Can i change the plan to mio tv with fibre ?

Zenoah

Guys, I think wait for better deals from Singtel before recontracting.
Just my observation below.
I was on the Mio Home Sports pack and looking to recontract.

Jingxuan Gold Pack + Fibre Entertainment Bundle
Jingxuan Gold Pack+150mbps Fibre BroadBand+Digital Home Line FREE
$139.80
(Up to 101 Channels)
$119.80
($20* Off)

Here they are saying giving you 20 dollars off.

But if you look at Singtel fibre's own website.
200mbps for 2 years contract is 49.90 with Digital Home Line Free.

Add to Jingxuan gold pack of $69.90 is also $119.80.

Where is the suppose savings? For the same amount of recontracting not as a bundle you get 50mbps more.

I called them to ask and they are saying if you sign broadband and miotv seperately. You will need a phone line in addition and thats $10 per month.
Setup box $5.90.

Ironic is that I already have the equipment to run miotv on fibre.

Too many hidden costs from Singtel.

bslow27

Guys, I think wait for better deals from Singtel before recontracting.
Just my observation below.
I was on the Mio Home Sports pack and looking to recontract.

Jingxuan Gold Pack + Fibre Entertainment Bundle
Jingxuan Gold Pack+150mbps Fibre BroadBand+Digital Home Line FREE
$139.80
(Up to 101 Channels)
$119.80
($20* Off)

Here they are saying giving you 20 dollars off.

But if you look at Singtel fibre's own website.
200mbps for 2 years contract is 49.90 with Digital Home Line Free.

Add to Jingxuan gold pack of $69.90 is also $119.80.

Where is the suppose savings? For the same amount of recontracting not as a bundle you get 50mbps more.

I called them to ask and they are saying if you sign broadband and miotv seperately. You will need a phone line in addition and thats $10 per month.
Setup box $5.90.

Ironic is that I already have the equipment to run miotv on fibre.

Too many hidden costs from Singtel.

We get the mobile benefits if we take up the bundle.

chuppachop

yes, mobile line discounts and yearly mobile vouchers.

btw, Starhub's package has many hidden costs:

Starhub Surf & Watch (Fibre 100 Mbps) (6th month onwards - 24th months):

$62.37 (Broadband and 3 TV BASIC GROUP ONLY) + $59.90 (not mentioned in AD) + $6.42 (Set Top Box non DVR models, NOT MENTIONED IN AD)
= $128.69 per month!!
% Basic groups DOES NOT include FOX SPORTS, STAR SPORTS, FOX SPORTS PLUS, FOX MOVIES PREMIUM HD, FOX ACTION MOVIES HD, Thrill, Setanta Sports HD etc.%

For Singtel,

Action Gold Pack + Fibre Entertainment Bundle
Action Gold Pack+150mbps Fibre BroadBand+Digital Home Line FREE
$134.80 + $4.90 (Set Top Box non DVR models) = $139.70
After monthly $20 promo offer, it's
ONLY $119.70 per month
% Channels INCLUDES FOX SPORTS, STAR SPORTS, FOX SPORTS PLUS, FOX MOVIES PREMIUM HD, FOX ACTION MOVIES HD, Thrill, KIX HD, Setanta Sports HD, fashiontv HD, Fight Sports HD, FOX Family Movies HD, Sundance Channels HD, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, FA Community Shield, FA Cup and Capital One Cup etc.%

Obviously, Starhub's deal is WAY over-priced and less premium sports, premium movie channels........you pay more but get much less....who wants it?? :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.