Official MIO TV Thread.......

upgrade

It seems there are many do not understand why this is so (from posts here the last few days). Not only mio TV but any TV station. So too this happen on the MediaCorp channels.

Perhaps already forgotten that TVs used to be 4:3 and any program shot in 16:9 will be shown on 4:3 TV with black band at the top and bottom.

So similarly, 4:3 programs will be shown on 16:9 TV with black band on the left and right. If stretch to fit the screen, actors/actress will look fat shot and obese. Sofa and car will be extra long. Circle will be oval.

upgrade

I try to show why some think that their HD channels suddenly become no longer HD. A HD channel, example Jia Le HD, may not necessarily be showing all HD programs all the time. The rights owners of these channels still own a lot of older programs that were shot in older time with cameras that can only shoot in 4x3 aspect ratio. We must remember that our TVs used to be all 4x3 only.

Therefore they mix their programs, 16x9 and 4x3, all the time.

However, some rights owners have separate channels for non-HD and HD programs. Example is ch 201 Nat Geo and ch 203 Nat Geo HD. Another example is ch 573 Star Movies and ch 571 Star Movies HD.

For channels like Jia Le that broadcast mixed programs in a HD channel, I try to show why the illusion (that suddenly they no loner HD) come about with a simple graphic I do up with Paint.

qzjt.png

upgrade

I will complete the simulation with a 16x9 picture.

Do note that for the 4th picture below, if the rights owner add in subtitle that display at the bottom of the already smaller picture, then the picture will become even smaller. This can be seen in some of the Sat 1pm and Sun 1pm and 4pm shows on MediaCorp Vasantham.

The same with all PayTV stations. Whoever the PayTV provider, they can't change what's coming from the rights owner.

0vad.png

upgrade

This you have to ask the content rights owner to do it. To do this, they will "permanently" crop off the hair and the chin when close-up. A lot of money and time involved as plenty of old programs already in the library. I don't think any company can afford to crop their programs.

Or if individual personal preference, the PayTV provider have "zoom" feature in their remote. Alternatively, can use the TV remote "zoom". But good only for the particular program you watching. After that have to "unzoom" for HD program.

croc1977

Yes, ST (like all other PayTV stations) do in fact insert their own adv but during broadcast adv timing reserved for them. They are quite professional on this. You will notice they don't interrupt the realtime broadcasts that you missed something. The rights owners leave this space to the PayTV stations.

You can notice this very obvious in the F1 live races. The commentators are given timings on when the live broadcast will break away for adv. So too the PayTV station. This is all part of the process. If you watch F1 live races before on TV3 and City Sports (the MediaCorp station that was closed years ago), you could see the stations did not follow the adv timing slots and suka suka as and when insert their own adv. Result is during the scheduled adv slots you could notice the commentators went silent. And then after a few minutes you hear them say welcome back.

It is always good to understand how things work, then we can better understand problems when they do occur.
Sorry if you watch SKY F1 which Fox Sports Asia get their feed from do not have ads one hour before main race and ads will only come in after cheque flag

the 'no sound ' moment during the race is more for P1~3 and qualifying. yes ads

that why i rather watch sky F1 then mio or starhub fox sports plus hd even quality is poorer...

upgrade

Sorry if you watch SKY F1 which Fox Sports Asia get their feed from do not have ads one hour before main race and ads will only come in after cheque flag

that why i rather watch sky F1 then mio or starhub fox sports plus hd even quality is poorer...

I think you did not get what that discussion was about. It was about insertion of adv by PayTV station, not about who has the better live feed.

The examples of the "commentor went silent" moment (not "no Sound") were during the time when F1 were shown over TV3 and City Sports. They do not happen now with PayTV unless that PayTV station is screwed up like TV3 and City Sports back then.

Again it is not about who has the feed with no adv schedule. If a station choose not to insert adv for the entire 2 hours of the race and in addition choose also to show 1 hour before the race what is happening in the cockpit an around the track or replay of Q sessions without adv, it is their choice.

luckyguitar

Seems like the real problem is that users have been able to configure the content to fit their screen (either via the setup boxes or tv console), but now they can't do so with some particular channels.

luckyguitar

Yea Sky have one of the best F1 coverage. Anyway i don't think anyone is interested to know what how PayTV manage their adverts so there is really no need to go into details. In the end, viewers just want the best coverage.

noelchew

can share how u get sky? vpn?

yamashita

Seems like the real problem is that users have been able to configure the content to fit their screen (either via the setup boxes or tv console), but now they can't do so with some particular channels.

I figured out the issue.

Previously, I had configured via mioTV to stretch the output, 4:3 channels will be displayed in wide screen format. Somehow, this setting was reset recently without user intervention.

luckyguitar

I figured out the issue.

Previously, I had configured via mioTV to stretch the output, 4:3 channels will be displayed in wide screen format. Somehow, this setting was reset recently without user intervention.

Happened to me quite a few times too. The setup box just auto reset itself and revert back to original settings. I notice it happens every time they do an update.

Lol, so who was the one who mentioned "many do not understand why this is so" when he/she didn't even understand the question in the first place...... :s22:

noelnoel

Hi guys, my mio tv often has intermitten loss of sound. Any advice how to check if which of the hardwares is spoilt?

yamashita

Happened to me quite a few times too. The setup box just auto reset itself and revert back to original settings. I notice it happens every time they do an update.

Lol, so who was the one who mentioned "many do not understand why this is so" when he/she didn't even understand the question in the first place...... :s22:

It's the first time this is happening for me, that's why I thought the issue is at provider end. At least now I know there is a possibility settings can be reset without user intervention.

Thanks to all who had helped.

Cheers.

chuppachop

The question was too vague in the first place and I believe 'Upgrade' was trying to help. Anyways, good that the problem is solved now.

Also, the STB will also revert to default settings if you reboot the box from the menu settings.

Updates are once in a blue moon.

Cheers.

idiotboi89

GG liaoz lor.. 35 ++ now become 64.90 ..

Your current sports package contract has ended or will end by 30 Nov 2013. You may be aware from our last correspondence in July that your current sports package will no longer be available due to the latest cross carriage ruling. BPL will now be available as part of Jingxuan Gold, Inspirasi Gold, Kondattam Gold and Action Gold Packs from $64.90/month1. You may refer to the included leaflet for more information on these Gold Packs.

To ensure that you continue to enjoy uninterrupted BPL coverage, your current subscription will be automatically converted to the Action Gold Pack2 without a fixed term subscription (i.e. no content contract) from 15 Dec 2013. With this pack, you will enjoy more than 80 channels with the best of football, sports, family entertainment and movies on top-rated channels such as FOX Sports, National Geographic Channel, Disney Channel and FOX Movies Premium HD. Please contact us at 6536 28113 should you wish to select another Gold Pack that better meets your family's entertainment needs.

teddy123

Oh dear!!!!

I receive the same letter too. Time to boycott Singtel and switch over to Starhub liao......

:s12::s12:

numez123

GG liaoz lor.. 35 ++ now become 64.90 ..

Your current sports package contract has ended or will end by 30 Nov 2013. You may be aware from our last correspondence in July that your current sports package will no longer be available due to the latest cross carriage ruling. BPL will now be available as part of Jingxuan Gold, Inspirasi Gold, Kondattam Gold and Action Gold Packs from $64.90/month1. You may refer to the included leaflet for more information on these Gold Packs.

To ensure that you continue to enjoy uninterrupted BPL coverage, your current subscription will be automatically converted to the Action Gold Pack2 without a fixed term subscription (i.e. no content contract) from 15 Dec 2013. With this pack, you will enjoy more than 80 channels with the best of football, sports, family entertainment and movies on top-rated channels such as FOX Sports, National Geographic Channel, Disney Channel and FOX Movies Premium HD. Please contact us at 6536 28113 should you wish to select another Gold Pack that better meets your family's entertainment needs.

What was the last correspondence in July? Anyone know? Only letter from July I see tells me I can "Continue to catch the new BPL season on your current subscription or sign up....."

sandwicher

What was the last correspondence in July? Anyone know? Only letter from July I see tells me I can "Continue to catch the new BPL season on your current subscription or sign up....."

mio TV Unveils BPL Pricing Ahead of New Season Kick-Off - SingTel

Found this.

All existing mio TV contracts honoured

The new pricing applies only to new subscriptions or those customers who are renewing their contracts. All existing contracts with mio TV, whether on the Gold Packs, Sports+ or others, will be honoured throughout the contract period.

Their first sentence contradicts with their second leh. First one means new pricing only affects customers renewing (i.e., if i don't renew i can keep my old rate), then second sentence chu stunt. What crap.

Btw, the CSO back in Aug told me otherwise (charges unchanged although the contract is over, and will be so as long i don't renew my subscription). All their calls are recorded. They should be liable for their verbal confirmation right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.