Official MIO TV Thread.......

WWE_Fan

Nope. Able to watch a couple of movies from the Chinese movie pack. No problem over the weekend.

palmtungsten

The existing subscriber of family plus has to pay $5 to $10 per month to upgrade to family starter..

SingTel very smart.. Change package and charge more for existing subscriber..

Actually family + and family starter are the same which is basic family channels.. Why charge more for existing subscriber??

I do not see new subscriber is paying more for "new" basic family channels aka family started

renfred89

The existing subscriber of family plus has to pay $5 to $10 per month to upgrade to family starter..

Actually family + and family starter are the same which is basic family channels.. Why charge more for existing subscriber??

I do not see new subscriber is paying more for "new" basic family channels aka family started

existing subscribers will be affected meh?

Crimsom

Added additional channels and re-bundle under a different name lor.

New subscribers cannot get the old pack but existing subscribers have the option to change or not to change to the new price plans (at least for now).

henias

Knn singtel always have something up their sleeves. I thought why my family + can watch cartoon network, orhh so they actually were showing a preview for cartoon network and CNN for the past few weeks, before they revamped to family starter right? May I know whats the price difference between family+(??) and family starter($34.90)?

Exactly I do not see why we existing and loyal customers have to pay $5 more when new subscribers get to enjoy a discounted price of $25 per month? Unless the price of family+ is only $20 then I nothing to say. ***** singtel are money leechers

Shion

Senior Mentor
Unfortunately to them, profit is more important

Anyway I am confused, as existing subscribers do we need to pay more, or is it optional ?

WWE_Fan

My Jingxuan Gold kana changed to Jingxuan value. They say family channels now got more channels compared to family plus.

I went to hello shop to pick up a brochure on the new channels. Now have to wait until the channel is up in 3 days.

WWE_Fan

Knn singtel always have something up their sleeves. I thought why my family + can watch cartoon network, orhh so they actually were showing a preview for cartoon network and CNN for the past few weeks, before they revamped to family starter right? May I know whats the price difference between family+(??) and family starter($34.90)?

Exactly I do not see why we existing and loyal customers have to pay $5 more when new subscribers get to enjoy a discounted price of $25 per month? Unless the price of family+ is only $20 then I nothing to say. ***** singtel are money leechers

Family plus should be $29.90. But if you have 3in1 broadband bundle, family starter is $25.

WWE_Fan

From looking at the brochure, 2 of the new Japanese channels is also in family starter.

So for $25 (family starter) its more worth it than paying $16.90 just for 3 Japanese channel.

Edit: At my cousin's place, the miotv haven't upgrade but channel 261 and 157 (Japanese channel) is still watchable. But the new cartoon channels are no longer available.

Now watching Hits channel. Seinfeld shows damn old school sia

yperic

My Jingxuan Gold kana changed to Jingxuan value. They say family channels now got more channels compared to family plus.

I went to hello shop to pick up a brochure on the new channels. Now have to wait until the channel is up in 3 days.

I also under jingxuan gold did you call them up to change to Jingxuan value
Or all existing customer under jingxuan gold will be change to Jingxuan value

WWE_Fan

I also under jingxuan gold did you call them up to change to Jingxuan value
Or all existing customer under jingxuan gold will be change to Jingxuan value

Must call. Because I was asking for channel 525 for my sister.
If you don't call they wont change, but for $5 more, it's ok if you watch often.

And your bundle subscription cost $20 less..

Qubicfactor

From looking at the brochure, 2 of the new Japanese channels is also in family starter.

So for $25 (family starter) its more worth it than paying $16.90 just for 3 Japanese channel.

You know why? Because both NHK World HD and Hello Japan are free channels that costs Singtel nothing :p You can even livestream NHK World HD for free online via NHK's website, and although Hello Japan isn't available online directly, their revenue model is via ads since their launch. It's also available in Starhub's free view group.

NHK World Premium itself would cost all of $16.90. It is available via Starhub TV as an add on channel that costs roughly as much ($16.05).

WWE_Fan

You know why? Because both NHK World HD and Hello Japan are free channels that costs Singtel nothing :p You can even livestream NHK World HD for free online via NHK's website, and although Hello Japan isn't available online directly, their revenue model is via ads since their launch. It's also available in Starhub's free view group.

NHK World Premium itself would cost all of $16.90. It is available via Starhub TV as an add on channel that costs roughly as much ($16.05).

No wonder. But I would recommend NHK World Premium if you/your kids are learning Japanese. Good educational material imo.

Qubicfactor

No wonder. But I would recommend NHK World Premium if you/your kids are learning Japanese. Good educational material imo.

It's the overseas equivalent of NHK G after all. But actually in Japan got NHK E which is the educational channel, and NHK does not provide that overseas.

Nevertheless, NHK World Premium/NHK G is useful too. I tend to use it during new year for NHK Kouhaku :)

Not sure about Aniplus HD's cost, but if it is negligible, Singtel should add that to the Nihon starter too to make it more worth it. A barebones starter pack isn't very attractive.

yperic

Must call. Because I was asking for channel 525 for my sister.
If you don't call they wont change, but for $5 more, it's ok if you watch often.

And your bundle subscription cost $20 less..

I paying around $74.80 per month for jingxuan gold
If I want all the new channel mean I just have to top up
$5 more is it

Litmuss

so did anyone actually called in to Singtel to confirm that existing Fibre entertainment bundle with Family+ can't get to upgrade to Family Starter for free?

renfred89

so did anyone actually called in to Singtel to confirm that existing Fibre entertainment bundle with Family+ can't get to upgrade to Family Starter for free?

No you can't. Your existing fibre entertainment bundle comes with family+, which is only 55 channels. Family Starter is 74 channels.

you cannot upgrade something for free this way..

If you wanna convert your bundle to bundle+, then of course can. The subscription will become basic speed plan + singtel tv price plan = monthly subscription.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.