[[ Official Oct 2024 BTO ]]

Ursus arctos

Am not eligible for BTO but checking out the options for a future resale. As a chao elitist mountain tortoise who has never lived around rental flats before, how bad is it to have a rental block next door? I'm pointing out Merpati Alcove where the majority of units in that project are rentals. The rental block, although a good distance away from the BTO block, is right next to the MRT and bus stops.

I'm aware that Circuit Road is full of rental flats east of the longkang, but this design puts them on the "private property" side and makes them unavoidable for anyone taking public transport. The Macpherson BTOs nearby are the opposite of this where the rental blocks are hidden away from the MRT and BTO grounds. Is Merpati Alcove an inevitable disaster and resale value wrecker for every public transport rider in the area or is it nothing to worry about?

Am not eligible for BTO but checking out the options for a future resale. As a chao elitist mountain tortoise who has never lived around rental flats before, how bad is it to have a rental block next door? I'm pointing out Merpati Alcove where the majority of units in that project are rentals. The rental block, although a good distance away from the BTO block, is right next to the MRT and bus stops.

I'm aware that Circuit Road is full of rental flats east of the longkang, but this design puts them on the "private property" side and makes them unavoidable for anyone taking public transport. The Macpherson BTOs nearby are the opposite of this where the rental blocks are hidden away from the MRT and BTO grounds. Is Merpati Alcove an inevitable disaster and resale value wrecker for every public transport rider in the area or is it nothing to worry about?
Merpati Alcove doesn't have a rental block in it. If you're referring to 136A, that's community care apartments. It's different from the 2 room rental units (see Bayshore Vista). To put it crudely, community care units is for the aging population and 2 room rental units is for the financially disadvantaged.

Ursus arctos

Merpati Alcove doesn't have a rental block in it. If you're referring to 136A, that's community care apartments. It's different from the 2 room rental units (see Bayshore Vista). To put it crudely, community care units is for the aging population and 2 room rental units is for the financially disadvantaged.
Alamak, I never see properly that one. Saw the obvious 2-room unit size of the block layout, thought of how it's next to Circuit Road, put two and two together (and got five). I love the locations of Bayshore and Tanjong Rhu too, but those BTOs put the rental units right in the same block. Heard from others that some projects have a "lower floors rental, higher floors owned" design but if I remember correctly these projects put them on every floor. Liddat how ah? Lift will have pee and playground will have used needles, not to mention YPs loitering around common areas and smoking? Or the "social equality" idea that mixing high SES and low SES individuals evenly reduces low SES behavior actually works?

I mean HDB did release out the block plans for each project before BTO application. So maybe those who are not comfortable with it just don't apply for these locations. Naturally, there may be lesser offers from future buyers if they're bothered about it too la, but it also depends a lot on location and amenities.

Then again I don't really care about all these ideals too much, partially because my project back then didn't have rental units, so I didn't look too much into it.

windwaver

Putting the truth here may kena NTUC points.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.