*Official* SGXcafe Thread

akwl88

He/she can tahan 40%+ drawdown... impressive. High risk high returns.

What is a 'Maximum Drawdown (MDD)'
A maximum drawdown (MDD) is the maximum loss from a peak to a trough of a portfolio, before a new peak is attained. Maximum Drawdown (MDD) is an indicator of downside risk over a specified time period. It can be used both as a stand-alone measure or as an input into other metrics such as "Return over Maximum Drawdown" and Calmar Ratio. Maximum Drawdown is expressed in percentage terms and computed as:

(Trough Value – Peak Value) ÷ Peak Value

Next Up
Drawdown
Return Over Maximum Drawdown (RoMaD)
Drawdown Percentage
Peak-To-Valley Drawdown
BREAKING DOWN 'Maximum Drawdown (MDD)'
Consider an example to understand the concept of maximum drawdown.

Assume an investment portfolio has an initial value of $500,000. The portfolio increases to $750,000 over a period of time, before plunging to $400,000 in a ferocious bear market. It then rebounds to $600,000, before dropping again to $350,000. Subsequently, it more than doubles to $800,000. What is the maximum drawdown?

The maximum drawdown in this case is = ($350,000 – 750,000) / $750,000 = –53.33%

Read more: Maximum Drawdown (MDD) Definition | Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/terms/m/maximum-drawdown-mdd.asp#ixzz4G3Bpv1g3
Follow us: Investopedia on Facebook

lbs

i honestly think a lot did not do the full home work

took me around 3 weeks to fully research FCL

after i posted about FCL, 1 week period 20+ more ppl on sgxcafe hoot it.... LOL
i would love to know what you did to spend 3 weeks on it...

StockBot

i very comfortable with my current portfolio mix

will put all my cash into SSB, already have 20k inside... now put another 20k inside for 40k cash lor... get 2% over 10years

akwl88

i very comfortable with my current portfolio mix

will put all my cash into SSB, already have 20k inside... now put another 20k inside for 40k cash lor... get 2% over 10years

sb kor kor not intending to hoot liao?

StockBot

then u put in CIMB FastSaver get 1% is better than SSB since you putting for short term?

Ssb the good thing is
Super easy to put in and take out
All i do online via posb page
Like 1 min to apply or take out lol

First year interest is about 0.9%

10 year avg interest 2%

Quite ok ba SSB

I feel its a very useful tool

What i dont like about FD is when i go put say 30k
The rm will psycho me to buy other products

Then wanna early withdraw must go down in person to cancel

noobinvestor

Ssb the good thing is
Super easy to put in and take out
All i do online via posb page
Like 1 min to apply or take out lol

First year interest is about 0.9%

10 year avg interest 2%

Quite ok ba SSB

I feel its a very useful tool

What i dont like about FD is when i go put say 30k
The rm will psycho me to buy other products

Then wanna early withdraw must go down in person to cancel
but cimb is a savings acc right (if im not mistaken) like ocbc 360/uob one acc.. all high interest but im assuming you don't meet the criteria. for cimb no criteria, just put min 1k, get 1%... and can withdraw at anytime.

StockBot

but cimb is a savings acc right (if im not mistaken) like ocbc 360/uob one acc.. all high interest but im assuming you don't meet the criteria. for cimb no criteria, just put min 1k, get 1%... and can withdraw at anytime.

Wow savings account ah then really not bad sia the 1%
Quite good for sure with no downside at all

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.