*Official* SGXcafe Thread

duckyboi

wow why u go into HK market?

that one more for trading than investing LOL

hahaha.... true. I went in because I saw alot of counter there are quite cheaply priced. Big china banks like agri bank, bank of china HK, all quite cheap when I buy a few months ago. Their Telcom companies also quite cheaply priced. O&G counters cheap but abit too much risk for my liking (China want to nationalise the O&G company). HKD also quite stable, so hopefully less FX risk

But anyway my stake there is small, about 1k . test water only. Currently on 6% gain over just a few months so looking good

duckyboi

Welcome to the club and nice selection of stocks! Good to start value investing when you are young. I started during the CLOB era and got "black-eyed", in fact still holding one of the counter. :s13:

thanks. My dad influence me when younger to start investing. he give me good advice to buy MPGCCT at IPO. must continue to learn from all you sifu.

Genosis

Ya. I graduate in 2013, work first job in the Uni and do masters at the same time. Uni pay me to Study and give me free masters :D. Now in 2nd job

Nice! My brother last time also liddat.....assist professor while studying doctorate...nus paid him salary

Genosis

Wow good leh

$$$

Ya.....it is attractive arrangement. But must have passion for academics and research. Not many Singaporeans interested surprisingly! My brother was the only local.....the rest are foreign students...hahaha!

OngHuatHuat

NUS or ntu put in a lot of effort to attract Singaporeans to do research by giving generous sponsorship thought the whole phd tenure.
Too bad research needs passion and a lot of this passion is killed off during final year project period. And you cannot simply put in people who cannot score well in fyp to do research Coz it requires both passion and talent.

http://www.nus.edu.sg/admissions/gr...larships-awards/nus-research-scholarship.html

@average

madtari

My 3 banks and sci still red

Ara glp cct fcl all steady boom pi pi

M1 is green but i fear for 4th telco impact

Sry to OT for a bit here... but I don't understand how come SembCorp Ind you mentioned it as SCI but SembCorp Marine you used SMM instead of SCM? Isn't it confusing to others?

Normally we use abbreviation to represent the syllables of the words according to how we normally pronounce them... Semb-Corp Ma-rine for example.

Sorry... no offense but just suddenly feeling very particular over such trivial matters. :D

klarklar

https://www.sgxcafe.com/article/view/54/sgxcafe+needs+you!

About four months have passed since the major crisis faced by SGXcafe. At that time, SGXcafe had to choose between paying tens of thousands in licensing fees yearly to continue running, or face closing down. I have chosen the former, which is why SGXcafe is still operating today.

Anyone knows how much does the data licensing cost to SGXcafe annually? This is useful for potential donors to know.

Maeda_Toshiie

Nice! My brother last time also liddat.....assist professor while studying doctorate...nus paid him salary

1. Either a scholarship or his PI hired him with grant money. Very common.

2. You do not study for a PhD. You earn a PhD with your research. Engineering doctorates (not a PhD in Engineering, but another type of program) uncommon and are structured slightly differently.

Maeda_Toshiie

NUS or ntu put in a lot of effort to attract Singaporeans to do research by giving generous sponsorship thought the whole phd tenure.
Too bad research needs passion and a lot of this passion is killed off during final year project period. And you cannot simply put in people who cannot score well in fyp to do research Coz it requires both passion and talent.

http://www.nus.edu.sg/admissions/gr...larships-awards/nus-research-scholarship.html

@average

It's ultimately bollocks. Until recently, NUS had written rules not to hire its own PhD graduates. Now, the rule only turned unwritten. Instead, it throws money at PhD holders from foreign schools. Hell, even the faculty indirectly (or even directly) advise local bachelor graduates to do their PhD overseas...

OngHuatHuat

Are you from NUS too?

The reason they give is to prevent inbreeding.
Anyway, it is very hard to become a professor in NUS or ntu. 4 years of hard work in private sector or corporate world will give you more exposure and higher earning power.

It's ultimately bollocks. Until recently, NUS had written rules not to hire its own PhD graduates. Now, the rule only turned unwritten. Instead, it throws money at PhD holders from foreign schools. Hell, even the faculty indirectly (or even directly) advise local bachelor graduates to do their PhD overseas...

Genosis

Ya.....my brother told me this is to prevent 'inbreeding' :s22::s22:

StockBot

Sry to OT for a bit here... but I don't understand how come SembCorp Ind you mentioned it as SCI but SembCorp Marine you used SMM instead of SCM? Isn't it confusing to others?

Normally we use abbreviation to represent the syllables of the words according to how we normally pronounce them... Semb-Corp Ma-rine for example.

Sorry... no offense but just suddenly feeling very particular over such trivial matters. :D

If u got follow research reports they often refer semb marine as SMM
Semb marine
Not semb corp marine

Sci for semb corp industries

StockBot

Anyway scm or smm not say big difference ba
We know both refers to semb marine

Just dont be confused of it against sci can liao

Layers

Ya.....it is attractive arrangement. But must have passion for academics and research. Not many Singaporeans interested surprisingly! My brother was the only local.....the rest are foreign students...hahaha!
What is the requirements? Good grades? Cannot be anyone can do ma.

Got this uncle I get know at a work site. Keep pestering me to go take master while work at school. Free n schl pay u somemore.

But where got so good 1. What is the catch?

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

OngHuatHuat

Sometimes it is hard to graduate and you are forced to pay them back if you fail to graduate.
:)

And don forget, most NUS professors have very high expectation of their phd students.

I think second upper and above, final year project A + recommendation from a professor can easily give you the sponsorship already.

What is the requirements? Good grades? Cannot be anyone can do ma.

Got this uncle I get know at a work site. Keep pestering me to go take master while work at school. Free n schl pay u somemore.

But where got so good 1. What is the catch?

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

xersion

One of the recent most-voted feature in Friends of SGXcafe is having a cash component to track your cash balance. It is a seemingly easy feature, but was actually tedious to implement because it intertwines with several other existing components in SGXcafe.

What is Cash Balance?
Easily track the amount of cash you currently have on hand after you buy or sell stocks, receive dividends, or deposit or withdraw funds from your trading account.

Quick Guide to Using Cash Balance:
1. Enter the amount of cash you presently have into your portfolio to kickstart the tracking.
2. When you add a new portfolio transaction, there is a "Add to Cash Transactions" option. Select this option and the new balance will be automatically updated for you.
3. For all stocks that you hold (including those before Cash Balance came along), dividends are automatically added to your balance on the pay date.

The above is a simple guide which should be able to get you started.
For those interested in more details, here is a more in-depth explanation of the Cash Balance feature:

1) Firstly, to be aligned with other components of SGXcafe, Cash Balance also supports multiple portfolios. You can have a separate Cash Balance for each portfolio.

2) You can view details of the cash transactions and also remove certain cash transactions if you want to here.

3) You can edit past portfolio transactions to be linked to a cash transaction. Once they are linked, whenever you update the portfolio transaction, the associated cash transaction will also be updated automatically.

4) For users who perform dividend overrides, when you add collected dividends, you now have the option to also add it as a cash transaction. If the dividend override is updated, the associated cash transaction will also be updated accordingly automatically.

5) From today onwards, at around 12am Singapore time every day, dividends that are known to be paid that day will be automatically added to your cash transactions.

6) These automatically-added dividends associated cash transactions will be ignored if you have a corresponding dividend override that removes that collected dividend.

I understand that at first glance, this might be too much to take in, but as you use the Cash Balance feature, you should be able to better understand how it works. As usual, feel free to feedback to me about this feature!

Sent from OPPO X9079 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.