*Official* SGXcafe Thread

peacefulday

if not wrong last time sg stock dividend is being taxed (tax 20%? can't remember).

refer to IRAS,
Dividends paid on or after 1 Jan 2008 by a Singapore resident company are tax exempt under the one-tier corporate tax system. This means shareholders will not be taxed on such dividend income.

edwardZ

Sgx already cmi ... the govt dun dare to tax ba... later sgx close down

i think govt wouldn't want to tax on div and capital gain either, let the investors have more monies and hope they spend even more to boost consumer spending haha something along the lines of supply-side tax reduction economics which i think this contributes to the income inequality as well (play the economic game well - work hard, save up, invest)

StockBot

last time i work in bank, got client age 60+ retiree... networth 5 mil

pays zero tax...

he mostly buy bonds.. and some dividend stocks like telcos

capital gains none... dividends and interest all tax free

personal income zero... no tax

only then i realise that the poor and middle class gets tax the most... the rich do not get taxed

cold hard truths

edwardZ

last time i work in bank, got client age 60+ retiree... networth 5 mil

pays zero tax...

he mostly buy bonds.. and some dividend stocks like telcos

capital gains none... dividends and interest all tax free

personal income zero... no tax

only then i realise that the poor and middle class gets tax the most... the rich do not get taxed

cold hard truths

har? i don't think the poor and middle class are taxed alot ba unless you are factoring other areas of "taxing" like cpf

letsgososhi

i already know the answer liao, u using your parents $$ to invest
i am 99% sure

anyway if u new to investing... dont go risk their $$$ la

use your own $$$ to invest for a few years first, when u have 5 years experience or more... with a proper track record then invest other's money

no la is my money

i at most can lose 10k nia for me the limited i say it becuz i m new tht y i dun wana throw 1 chunk there.

juz wana take a bit and invest nia

cuz still new dun wan throw all in

later bo liao will suffer jialat jialat

lbs

no la is my marnee

i at most can lose 10k nia for me the limited i say it becuz i m new tht y i dun wana throw 1 chunk there.

juz wana take a bit and invest nia cuz still new dun wan throw all in ltr bo liao will suffer jialat jialat

Take some of the "provision for losses" and use them for courses.

starfish.starfish

no la is my marnee

juz wana take a bit and invest nia cuz still new dun wan throw all in ltr bo liao will suffer jialat jialat

Moi catch no ball so help no have, solli.

Look, you don't want ppl to do that to you like what I did above, so kindly limit the edmw speak here ok :)

Now, I assumed you are not trolling ( though I lean towards 60:40) right now, I will suggest you first:
1. Understand your risk level,
2. Understand your time horizon
3. Read and understand the various investment methods. I am not sure which works best for you so best is to understand more first before plunking money into "tips" in this forum
4. Don't blindly follow tips or ask for tips. Have observed that in a few of the threads. You might get lucky for a few of them but you won't know how to react when the prices don't go your way.

If you are hidden tiger or dragon just posting to past time, then can ignore what I just wrote :)

letsgososhi

Moi catch no ball so help no have, solli.

Look, you don't want ppl to do that to you like what I did above, so kindly limit the edmw speak here ok :)

Now, I assumed you are not trolling ( though I lean towards 60:40) right now, I will suggest you first:
1. Understand your risk level,
2. Understand your time horizon
3. Read and understand the various investment methods. I am not sure which works best for you so best is to understand more first before plunking money into "tips" in this forum
4. Don't blindly follow tips or ask for tips. Have observed that in a few of the threads. You might get lucky for a few of them but you won't know how to react when the prices don't go your way.

If you are hidden tiger or dragon just posting to past time, then can ignore what I just wrote :)

i apologize for the lingo yes i came from edmw
please give me sometime to transit the way i type here to the normal way

if you trace my post most of my post is right here i am cut down the limit in edmw.

i am not trolling just that i don't wana say so much about my background as the cyber world is very scary...

nah i m not dragon nor tiger.

edwardZ

It is true. Poor bui bui like me every year need to pay a lot of tax. :(

if you are paying alot of taxes, it likely means you are earning way too much based on the tiered tax brackets...isn't that a happy bui bui problem?

StockBot

no la is my money

juz wana take a bit and invest nia

cuz still new dun wan throw all in

later bo liao will suffer jialat jialat

Then u just use 10k to invest for 1-2 years
Get your feet wet
Before deciding again

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.