OnePlus 15 series

tkte_85

think the sentiment is because it’s a perceived downgrade from the 13R’s LYT-700.

reviewers were comparing the 15R to the 13R and not the 15.
LYT700 is just IMX890, tbh i know thats a pretty decent camera but i have used IMX906 from Realme GT 7 Pro and Nubia Z60 Ultra Leading, its actually not a bad camera

1c3_5n0w

LYT700 is just IMX890, tbh i know thats a pretty decent camera but i have used IMX906 from Realme GT 7 Pro and Nubia Z60 Ultra Leading, its actually not a bad camera
i know, but that’s not what i’m talking about. i’m just saying that the reviewers are probably a little perplexed as to why there’s a PERCEIVED downgrade in camera system despite a price hike.

i am not trying to debate whether it’s better than the IMX906, or whether it’s bad.

Shadowz1984

15R got quite a bad review on gsmarena, their closing statement even says that if you care about cameras, forget oneplus as a whole. :ROFLMAO:
They are making oneplus gears towards performance / gaming ma. So camera side will be on a weaker side.

tkte_85

i know, but that’s not what i’m talking about. i’m just saying that the reviewers are probably a little perplexed as to why there’s a PERCEIVED downgrade in camera system despite a price hike.

i am not trying to debate whether it’s better than the IMX906, or whether it’s bad.
for that, my guess and opinion is that its partly affected by the flash storage situation, its getting pretty bad now

1c3_5n0w

for that, my guess and opinion is that its partly affected by the flash storage situation, its getting pretty bad now
yeah i would think so as well.

the 13R’s 512GB variant, which wasnt available locally, had 16GB of RAM. but the 15R’s 512GB variant has 12GB of RAM.

For a performance focused brand and lineup, RAM isnt the right compromise to make unless there are extenuating circumstances, like the spike in memory chip prices.

tkte_85

for me i feel 4gb ram sacrifice is still fine, 12GB ram is more than enough for a mid range, Xiaomi 15T Pro also just use 12gb ram for both capacity option.. just that for now probably 8gb should be the lowest for mid range, anything lower shld just remain in budget options. It makes up with UFS4.1 still, so i dun think its that bad

Alexz_Hong

the main thing i care about these days... looks promising sia.. better than Ace 5 Ultra... low modulation, and most importantly, no dithering which is killer for my eyes...

masashi

15R got quite a bad review on gsmarena, their closing statement even says that if you care about cameras, forget oneplus as a whole. :ROFLMAO:
Overall reviews I've seen gas been quite average. Not helped by the camera downgrade and the price increase..

Skyy

15R is using e same main camera so that shld still be very acceptable, wide angle is the usual 8mp imx355 used since 12R
a bit like the samsung ultra series, keep using old cam hardware

TheOutsider

Anyone upgraded (or downgraded) from S23 Ultra?

Keen to know the feedback on overall experience and camera.

Actually don't want to change yet but my S23U may restart sometimes when using the camera. Might be from a drop 2 months back or One UI 8.

Just not sure what to expect if I change to OP15

kashix

Actually don't want to change yet but my S23U may restart sometimes when using the camera. Might be from a drop 2 months back or One UI 8.

How is it downgrade from S23U? It's a solid phone, can hoot la!

TheOutsider

How is it downgrade from S23U? It's a solid phone, can hoot la!
No demo unit hard to tell even though review not bad just all condemn the camera.

S23U is ultimately a true flagship from a major brand. Actually still ok except for the battery and random reboots/camera failed (not sure from One UI 8 or from that fall 2 months back).

KeYoKe

No demo unit hard to tell even though review not bad just all condemn the camera.

S23U is ultimately a true flagship from a major brand. Actually still ok except for the battery and random reboots/camera failed (not sure from One UI 8 or from that fall 2 months back).
You mentioned major brand itself already is wrong liao.

If you are looking for brand, then by all means go ahead with the S25U or S26U.

For so many years, Samsung stopped innovating and only gives marginal upgrades in every single area like battery, camera, charging speed etc. They are too complacent as there is no competition at all now as Huawei is out of the picture. In fact, Huawei is climbing up the sales chart at that time, and is a threat to other brands. The ban came at the right time for Samsung I guess.

If you want to play with demo unit, you can head down to City Plaza, #05-09 to molest the phone

chari-men

Depends on how hooked you are in the Samsung OneUI and ecosystem... If u cannot live without Samsung only features then shud go for s25 or s26 series... Samsung's strength is also not in cameras ... If all those Samsung AI and exclusive functions doesnt matter to you...OnePlus 15 is an upgrade in every aspect except maybe the cameras...

royfrosty

Come to this forum use the word upgrade or downgrade is like opening a can of worms. Inviting to be bashed only.

I to came from s25u. I dont like the way Samsung is currently "innovating". Being conservative on battery, not innovating on cameras. Just pushing more ai. If you follow leaks closely. You will know that the s26 is another boring wait with just a new in screen privacy and a slightly bigger aperture on their main camera. That's all they gonna give their users.

Imho, if you are a tech coy, your job is to innovate. Keep innovation alive. Not wait other coys to come out things and you start to develop it. Don't be the next apple.

Back to your question. If you are looking for a camera uplift from s23u to op15. There should be a slight difference. But may be not to your expectation as BBK electronics already streamlined the 3 companies that they have. Oppo will be the mainstream go to phone for an all rounder. OnePlus will be the go to phones for high performance needs. Vivo will be the go to for cameras. Pick your choice.

If cameras are your concern. Then head to other options. Likewise for me. I keep the op15 as my daily workhorse. I keep my x300 pro for my daily, play, off days, camera fun etc.

TheOutsider

You mentioned major brand itself already is wrong liao.

If you are looking for brand, then by all means go ahead with the S25U or S26U.

For so many years, Samsung stopped innovating and only gives marginal upgrades in every single area like battery, camera, charging speed etc. They are too complacent as there is no competition at all now as Huawei is out of the picture. In fact, Huawei is climbing up the sales chart at that time, and is a threat to other brands. The ban came at the right time for Samsung I guess.

If you want to play with demo unit, you can head down to City Plaza, #05-09 to molest the phone
Ok, maybe I should say S23U used to be top of the line, so my ask is actually more to see if anyone came from an S23U and what their feedback is like—which aspects are an upgrade and which aspects are a downgrade. No doubt in day-to-day use as a whole, the OP15 should provide the better experience, especially regarding responsiveness and battery life. IMO, BBK has good offerings, but they just don't pair them in the way I wish they would. For example, if the X9 Pro came with Snapdragon, I may have already purchased it. This statement is bound to get more heat, but yeah, that's the ideal case for me.

Thanks for letting me know demo unit is available at City Plaza.
Depends on how hooked you are in the Samsung OneUI and ecosystem... If u cannot live without Samsung only features then shud go for s25 or s26 series... Samsung's strength is also not in cameras ... If all those Samsung AI and exclusive functions doesnt matter to you...OnePlus 15 is an upgrade in every aspect except maybe the cameras...
Not that hooked. S23U used to be good back at launch. I wasn't really looking to go back into Samsung too. My S23U back cover came loose after just under 2 years of use. That's something that did not happen even on my older Poco F3. Then there's the noticeable degradation in camera performance and more recently, noticeably shorter battery life—even after a battery replacement, which leads me to suspect the latest software updates are the culprit.
Come to this forum use the word upgrade or downgrade is like opening a can of worms. Inviting to be bashed only.

I to came from s25u. I dont like the way Samsung is currently "innovating". Being conservative on battery, not innovating on cameras. Just pushing more ai. If you follow leaks closely. You will know that the s26 is another boring wait with just a new in screen privacy and a slightly bigger aperture on their main camera. That's all they gonna give their users.

Imho, if you are a tech coy, your job is to innovate. Keep innovation alive. Not wait other coys to come out things and you start to develop it. Don't be the next apple.

Back to your question. If you are looking for a camera uplift from s23u to op15. There should be a slight difference. But may be not to your expectation as BBK electronics already streamlined the 3 companies that they have. Oppo will be the mainstream go to phone for an all rounder. OnePlus will be the go to phones for high performance needs. Vivo will be the go to for cameras. Pick your choice.

If cameras are your concern. Then head to other options. Likewise for me. I keep the op15 as my daily workhorse. I keep my x300 pro for my daily, play, off days, camera fun etc.
I'm just openly asking for input/feedback coming from the S23U. But I admit I could've rephrased it better. I'm just trying to get feedback from any ex-S23U users and see what aspects they think are upgrades/downgrades. No doubt overall the OP15 definitely gives the better experience. Most reviewers complained about the camera performance of the OP15, so I'm also trying to understand just how bad it really is compared against an aged S23U from an user's perspective.

KeYoKe

Ok, maybe I should say S23U used to be top of the line, so my ask is actually more to see if anyone came from an S23U and what their feedback is like—which aspects are an upgrade and which aspects are a downgrade. No doubt in day-to-day use as a whole, the OP15 should provide the better experience, especially regarding responsiveness and battery life. IMO, BBK has good offerings, but they just don't pair them in the way I wish they would. For example, if the X9 Pro came with Snapdragon, I may have already purchased it. This statement is bound to get more heat, but yeah, that's the ideal case for me.

Thanks for letting me know demo unit is available at City Plaza.

Not that hooked. S23U used to be good back at launch. I wasn't really looking to go back into Samsung too. My S23U back cover came loose after just under 2 years of use. That's something that did not happen even on my older Poco F3. Then there's the noticeable degradation in camera performance and more recently, noticeably shorter battery life—even after a battery replacement, which leads me to suspect the latest software updates are the culprit.

I'm just openly asking for input/feedback coming from the S23U. But I admit I could've rephrased it better. I'm just trying to get feedback from any ex-S23U users and see what aspects they think are upgrades/downgrades. No doubt overall the OP15 definitely gives the better experience. Most reviewers complained about the camera performance of the OP15, so I'm also trying to understand just how bad it really is compared against an aged S23U from an user's perspective.

I think you will still prefer Samsung camera though. OnePlus has removed hasselblad partnership this year bro. Cameras are definitely good enough in general but not groundbreaking.

If your concern is camera, try the vivo x300 pro. I'm pretty impressed with it. The dimensity 9500 is definitely not something you should have concern with. If you are following the benchmarks, it scores higher than sd8e5. To add on, sd8e5 has some heating issues this year as well, even OnePlus 15 has issues completing benchmarks initially till they tweak the performance and thermal curve of the chip. Gone are the days when mediatek chips sucks....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.