Oneplus 7!

evilduxy

whats the best deal currently for op7 without amex eh? gonna get 1 for my mum

Alexz_Hong

Oh my so easy get scratches? :eek: I kiasu de, will straight away put the clothes on to prevent a single bit of scratch wahaha. Sometimes I feel is a poorer quality of glass and metal used if they get scratched so easily. But for op7 price, it is forgivable as they have to cut corner somewhere for a competitive price :o

yeah. aluminium is not as strong as stainless steel like iphone x, and the glossy finish definitely doesn't help. Still prefer matte surface. :/ After getting the phone I used it without case for a short while. haha. But yeah, not a super ex phone, so not that heart pain.

Myu~sun

So everyone still stuck with stock screen protector?

Op7 or 7pro ?

Using a UV Glass from a carouseller for op7pro. He selling $19 . Nego till $17 no installation.

So far been using few days. Not bad just that the screen display doesn't fully covered on both left and right side. Left a tiny bit . I see if I can get some photos here anot tomorrow . Fingerprint works great. I think he have both 7 and 7 pro.

Still not used to curved screen playing games :( especially need to press the side button.

Myu~sun

If you guys want to order from slickwraps better not :(
See the price with promo attractive but ...
Ordered 21st May . Now still haven ship .
Email them and respond was over whelming order.

Dbrand better.

KeYoKe

i ordered the nillkin from taobao. still waiting. dbrand still on preorder. lol. But ah, no point. i already notice minor ding on the metal chamfered edge part, and the shiny sides saw some micro scratches liao, likely from being too rough when taking the phone out of the case repeatedly to show my friends how nice this phone is.

Did u check the phone during collection? It might be there out of the box but u never notice?

I think op got some serious qc issue. My friend set got scratches at charging port area, second set got dust in camera module, third set the blue color coating under back glass got a small chip, fourth set then ok :s22:

iamnagel

Op7 or 7pro ?

Using a UV Glass from a carouseller for op7pro. He selling $19 . Nego till $17 no installation.

So far been using few days. Not bad just that the screen display doesn't fully covered on both left and right side. Left a tiny bit . I see if I can get some photos here anot tomorrow . Fingerprint works great. I think he have both 7 and 7 pro.

Still not used to curved screen playing games :( especially need to press the side button.

Pro. I see taobao a lot but really looks like tikam tikam. Won't know if it is good until you try it out

For uv type, how to prevent the glue from entering speaker and buttons?

Alexz_Hong

Did u check the phone during collection? It might be there out of the box but u never notice?

I think op got some serious qc issue. My friend set got scratches at charging port area, second set got dust in camera module, third set the blue color coating under back glass got a small chip, fourth set then ok :s22:

Yeah. Already checked during collection. the first set has some very minor imperfections where the metal meet the display. The second set when i checked looks okay. So there's a good chance that's me. haha.

Anyway, 9.5.5 update is rolling out, seems to incorporate the camera improvements from OP7Pro 9.5.7. I used OnePlus Updater app to grab the OTA file and install using Local Upgrade option in settings. Tmrw then go test test.

Myu~sun

Pro. I see taobao a lot but really looks like tikam tikam. Won't know if it is good until you try it out

For uv type, how to prevent the glue from entering speaker and buttons?

There is sticker included. I cut the sticker to cover all the port especially popped up camera /top speaker/ bottom speaker and simcard area . So far once I sit the glass down I'll prepare a tissue if saw any glue coming out on side I will quicky using it to absorb the glue .

WhiteAnt

wah your friend's set so problematic! omg now that you mentioned it, if i received my set with scratches, can get it exchange fr seller? they delivering it to me, so i can't change on the spot :eek:

btw i believe scratches at charging port area is v common :o my s7e, S3, iphone 3gs, 4gs all have. likely aluminium frame is not as strong and resistant. strangely, my iphone xr no scratches at this moment though it's made of aluminium too - maybe too early to tell lol

Alexz_Hong

wah your friend's set so problematic! omg now that you mentioned it, if i received my set with scratches, can get it exchange fr seller? they delivering it to me, so i can't change on the spot :eek:

btw i believe scratches at charging port area is v common :o my s7e, S3, iphone 3gs, 4gs all have. likely aluminium frame is not as strong and resistant. strangely, my iphone xr no scratches at this moment though it's made of aluminium too - maybe too early to tell lol

for delivery i think shouldn't be a problem as long as you contact them asap, then go down exchange? in my case i already check on the spot and left the place liao, so they probably wont entertain. haha

WhiteAnt

for delivery i think shouldn't be a problem as long as you contact them asap, then go down exchange? in my case i already check on the spot and left the place liao, so they probably wont entertain. haha

Thanks! Hopefully will be a flawless set :o don't like to waste time going down to exchange and stuff :(

Looking forward to your reviews lol since you're taking sample photos again :o wonder how does it compare to with iphone xr

KeYoKe

wah your friend's set so problematic! omg now that you mentioned it, if i received my set with scratches, can get it exchange fr seller? they delivering it to me, so i can't change on the spot
:eek:

btw i believe scratches at charging port area is v common
:o
my s7e, S3, iphone 3gs, 4gs all have. likely aluminium frame is not as strong and resistant. strangely, my iphone xr no scratches at this moment though it's made of aluminium too - maybe too early to tell lol

Can. Better check immediately and highlight to them and go down get it exchanged.

Op qc not as good as samsung. I got 2 sets of s10+ no such issues. But my oneplus 7 pro also exchange once before. For me, i cant accept even if there are scratches at charging port. I know that sometimes we plug in charger we will miss the charging port and scratch the metal, but self inflicted understandable, but paying so much for a phone, i expect some qc to be there. Dont tell me that oneplus is budget phone bla bla bla. They called oneplus 7 pro their flagship, and not flagship killer anymore

KeYoKe

After leave place, got any defects, can only suck thumb and accept it

elmariachi

Alex, how would you rate the mics on the OnePlus 7 Pro?

Alexz_Hong

Haha yeah. Anyway I'm 80% sure those minor flaws are of my own doing, so it's fine for me. I also like to make sure it's swee swee when buy a new phone. Haha.

After leave place, got any defects, can only suck thumb and accept it

Alexz_Hong

Thanks! Hopefully will be a flawless set :o don't like to waste time going down to exchange and stuff :(

Looking forward to your reviews lol since you're taking sample photos again :o wonder how does it compare to with iphone xr

Haha. Have to test out whether the new update improves things lor. But based on 9.5.4 ok both 7 and 7 Pro I think it's comparable at least. They're close enough overall and a lot will be down to personal preference. Like if you like those flatter looking images with higher dynamic range, you'll probably like the XR more. But ah, video wise XR wins for sure. Haha.

Alex, how would you rate the mics on the OnePlus 7 Pro?

They sound okay to me. Maybe not like super hi res, but at least not as bad as the Pixel 3 was. Definitely usable for like casual recording. Pity they aren't taking audio as seriously as other brands did in the past. Still remember some HTC phones had incredible sounding mics, and Lumia 1520 was pretty great too.

elmariachi

Haha. Have to test out whether the new update improves things lor. But based on 9.5.4 ok both 7 and 7 Pro I think it's comparable at least. They're close enough overall and a lot will be down to personal preference. Like if you like those flatter looking images with higher dynamic range, you'll probably like the XR more. But ah, video wise XR wins for sure. Haha.

They sound okay to me. Maybe not like super hi res, but at least not as bad as the Pixel 3 was. Definitely usable for like casual recording. Pity they aren't taking audio as seriously as other brands did in the past. Still remember some HTC phones had incredible sounding mics, and Lumia 1520 was pretty great too.

Why I asked is because the mic recording on my U12+ is phenomenal and every other phone I've seen on reviews has really shitty mics with the exception of the S10 and a few other flagships. But most Android phones don't seem to focus on mic quality at all.

WhiteAnt

Can. Better check immediately and highlight to them and go down get it exchanged.

Op qc not as good as samsung. I got 2 sets of s10+ no such issues. But my oneplus 7 pro also exchange once before. For me, i cant accept even if there are scratches at charging port. I know that sometimes we plug in charger we will miss the charging port and scratch the metal, but self inflicted understandable, but paying so much for a phone, i expect some qc to be there. Dont tell me that oneplus is budget phone bla bla bla. They called oneplus 7 pro their flagship, and not flagship killer anymore

wah you are quite strict lol, that time duno which iphone model few years back got a small tiny light scratch i just accept at ST shop coz i alr asked them to open 2 sets le. paiseh to open the 4th set if i reject the 3rd one and the staff keep pressing me to accept it as a very small flaw

ofc i totally get what you mean that customers do have a right to get a swee swee product by paying ~1k for 7 pro version. but my OP7 is much cheaper :crazy:

ok let's see how they compare heh. quite excited to find out. then aagain i don't take a lot of photos, but when i do take some, i still expect decent shots la. just want to tell my friend that OP7 cam can match with xr at least lol

Alexz_Hong

Haha. To be honest if your benchmark is an HTC phone ah. I don't think I've used an Android phone with mics worth mentioning for some time. My last HTC phone was the U11+ btw. Haha. Some are better, some just like don't really care that much. And Google and OnePlus is definitely in the camp that doesn't really care as much. Haha. Samsung and LG normally fares a bit better.

Why I asked is because the mic recording on my U12+ is phenomenal and every other phone I've seen on reviews has really shitty mics with the exception of the S10 and a few other flagships. But most Android phones don't seem to focus on mic quality at all.

elmariachi

Haha. To be honest if your benchmark is an HTC phone ah. I don't think I've used an Android phone with mics worth mentioning for a some time. My last HTC phone was the U11+ btw. Haha. Some are better, some just like don't really care that much. And Google and OnePlus is definitely in the camp that doesn't really care as much. Haha. Samsung and LG normally fares a bit better.

Thanks Alex!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.