Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

saycheese

Cost of living increase everyday. 20 years ago take bus cost only 50 cents. Now double. Implementing min. Wages will not increase 20%. The government should reduce levy to offset impact.

Agree.. cost of living already went up. Chicken rice used to be $2 across all now? $3 or even more..
how about your HDB pricing? Transport as you mentioned, Electricity tariffs?

Now how about the average starting salary for a diploma grad? not much changes to it.. certain industry even reduce their starting salary offers for degree grads.

Class divide is greater than it ever was in Singapore. The division of wealth is staggering.. people are losing their jobs and landing on tough times while another group of people are busy buying up new condo launches etc.

Our media rather focus on FT sad situation than locals whom are experiencing difficulties. Our G direct funds to both foreign and GLC companies while local companies like Teo Heng and SMEs are suffering due to their indecision policy making.

If anything, they should slap on a progressive tax so that the rich are adequately taxed instead of regressive tax like GST. Min wage might be a good thing or might not be. Why not apply it to a certain industry or area first?

All I can say is that I'm disappointed. Our much vaunted education system with University to provide well-trained individuals in the white collar, Poly and ITE to train up skilled workers have lead to nowhere. To the extend that 2 generation worth of workers are being asked to upskill so as to maintain their rice bowl. The G have indoctrinated a culture of greed and selfishness among Sinkies where we don't look out for each other. Instead we blame and look down on others simply for not being able to have the same fortune as us. And that, they should not have a free pass at having a livable wage with the minimum wage policy.

Who are we to judge that others are not putting in the same amount of effort? Effort does not equate to results. Yes, it might be a flawed policy but who to say we shouldn't even think of trying it out? We should focus the discussion on possible impact of min wage to the society, what are the cascading results etc. Instead of squabbling among ourselves and putting down each other. Leave no one behind remember? :(

pureice

God. Do you know what is confirmation bias?

Do you understand how economy works? How labour works? and how our foreign talent policy stacks the cards against our workers?

And please, GDP can be pushed up without increasing labour demand. How? Go study economic please.

This is propaganda, repeated. Singapore is not the only city-states in this world. Singapore just happen to t

PAP has taken the world highest pay. If they cannot deliver the world best outcomes, as voters, we have the right to be unhappy.

PAP has proven that it is the same-old same-old.

You can be unhappy with what WP's have to offer. That is your right as a voter.

Has PAP delivered the outcome comparable to their pay?

PAP's policy gap that is revealled now is the 32,000. PAP offers no solution, while WP offered Min wage.

"poor" policy compared to no policy.

Going by PAP's policies justiifcation, it has failed. For example, why does MOE educated "world class" graduates lose out to Foreigners with degrees from lower placed schools?

Unemployment is very low. But wage remains lower then those with higher unemployment? You have a very poor understanding of labour economics.

Or of course, defender got to defend.

Lol sure sure. Definitely very poor. Your version is confirm correct ☺️

cleffa3000

1.3k is like eons ago

Now 1.3k can support simi

Got implement and nvr implement 没差

PikaPika33

The issue with those low paying jobs is the same as most other. The salary is not increasing.

$40 -$50 a day working hard labour or odd jobs might be ok 30 years ago, but not now.

Yes i know many on that kind of payroll.

wwenze

The issue with those low paying jobs is the same as most other. The salary is not increasing.

$40 -$50 a day working hard labour or odd jobs might be ok 30 years ago, but not now.

Well they can storm the prison and take the guns like what the french did... But since they dont and even voted for it...

wwenze

Huh? I thought our PAP govt has always been asserting us that 'no Singaporean is left behind'?

No = zero, not even 1 hor.

No = 32000 in IB context

32000 Singaporeans will be left behind, seems to tally.

Sinkie

Huh? I thought our PAP govt has always been asserting us that 'no Singaporean is left behind'?

No = zero, not even 1 hor.

If one cannot help himself, no matter how many help this govt give you also no use

saycheese

Yes.. exploitation of labor is commonplace here...
Many also feel that this group of people deserve it and unworthy of receiving any form of assistance
yet forgetting that this group might not have the same resources made available to them, they might had taken a wrong step in life. And because of that wrong step, they deserve to have all resources stripped away from them.

who are we to judge that they did not put in similar amount of efforts only to not have the same results?

sinkie pwn sinkie :(

NTB2DO

hais...theres a lot of confirmation bias here...but is ok, i know you feel that PAP has failed you, or singaporeans, or there can be a better future. No problem~ I just wan to say, PAP didnt cause low wage workers, There will always be normal distribution of wages, spectrum of poor and rich.

SMEs constitute a large part of any economic models, including ours, and hire a large part of normal people like you and me. A labour market - is a matching of skill set, Demand and supply of companies. A boss / employer doesnt seek out to exploit workers, they seek to maximise profits, at least in Sg context, an employee has a conscious mind to accept a job at a pay. If you dont like the pay, you can change job to another one that matches your salary expectation. That is why we need to chase GDP to set up more biz and companies, to enable more demand for labour in the market.

PAP, sets the ground work infrastructure for biz to set up here, with lower tax, good educated local pool, and relevant education. The competition is on a global level, with the increase in talent pool / infrastructure from our neighbours. We are NOT living in an enclave, with only ourselves. Our limitations are real, our talent pool is so limited and with no natural resources. We do have innovation, and lots of start up, but really, the talent pool in this area is low, due to our small population.

PAP is not god or an all knowing, there are definately trade-offs and gaps in their policies making. The way forward for SG is not to subscribe to these populist leftist ideals, or thinking we made it, we are there attitude, so why cant we be like the west?

Our limitations is forever here, make a conscious decision to implement policies that gives us more option. PAP definately need a revamp and refinement, hope LHL retire, and allow a new gen to take lead. IF PAP cannot make it, WP's direction now is even worst off.

For pay justification - i can only say, the worst part is for the army/civil personnel, for private sector talents, it really is comparable. There should be more banding and also a hard KPIs to be publicised according to the ministry. PAP need to try their own product, like skills future, digitisation, mycareershub, labour market discrimination by hiring agencies. They seem to be out of touch and wasteful.

If WP fight on gaps in PAp policies, no problem, but dont make poor policies on basis of helping the poor. ANd lastly, dont keep saying the education system fail, the education system is adapting and changing per employment requirement, you can say is slow or reactive, but it doesnt fail. Why? because unemployment is low, very low at global standards. Of course, then you will say, there is grab, insurance agent, RMs etc. These people make conscious decision to enter a trade or an honest living. No one force them, if there really is a forced decision for a sector, you will encounter a serious wage deflation in that sector.

I don't understand why you are criticizing WP's min wage proposal. They are pushing for it on compassionate ground, are they not? No doubt 32k is just a small number, but should we ignore them because it's just a small number, and it doesn't affect majority of us?

Note that even ruling govt itself is also implementing min wage (I remember Tharman calling his govt's PWM a 'minimum wage plus'. Problem is, their min wage model has yet to cover all sectors, leaving some 32k still earning below an amount, as estimated by govt, required to meet basic needs.

I've read through the exchanges between ruling party and WP, it's pretty clear that WP is with govt on PWM, but since PWM has yet to cover all sector, WP is pushing for universal min wage to cover those who are left behind for the time being (as some kind of stop-gap measure, I assume?).

If you are against min wage, are you not against PWM too? And what's wrong with WP wanting to push for a more compassionate society?

Sinkie

Yes.. exploitation of labor is commonplace here...
Many also feel that this group of people deserve it and unworthy of receiving any form of assistance
yet forgetting that this group might not have the same resources made available to them, they might had taken a wrong step in life. And because of that wrong step, they deserve to have all resources stripped away from them.

who are we to judge that they did not put in similar amount of efforts only to not have the same results?

sinkie pwn sinkie :(

Edmw bbfa really very one kind, say until the 32,000 Low wage worker very pathetic, and there must be this min wage law in place to force the employer to give them $1300 min wage from their profit margin, but also say these difference must not be bear by tax payers (bbfa)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.