Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

Pewpewking

You maybe wondering why so many kpkb especially when they are not employers...I tell you why...those not employers yet still kpkb are incumbent's supporters...blindly support a party's policy only lol...

You know who hasn't posted in this thread...people who actually make below 1.3k. Where are they?

Richliao

You know who hasn't posted in this thread...people who actually make below 1.3k. Where are they?

Think deeper la...below 1.3k earners got time or even know how to use pc? Most of them are old folks...kaoz...you need to up your game la...your 2 posts really cmi...

sizzy6

Are these employers really purposely exploiting these 32,000 workers, giving these 32,000 worker less than $1300 salary so that they can have more bigger profit margin?

i dont assume. lets look at facts

do i have to do the math and accounting for you to tell you where to put wages in your P&L? $1 more out is $1 less to you.

so what incentive does boss have to increase wages? 10 years also wont change.. and then gov will just have to keep supplement and as time goes.. this amount will go up.. due to rising cost..

thats why there is no growth in low wage income.. income gap continue to widen.

before there is min wage for cleaners.. the wage is stuck at 600 to 700 forever.. some even lower.. and its full time hor. so u tell me why stuck there so long? until law comes in say must min 1k or 1.1k.. now is more liao..

so the wage growth is mandated as we see... as long as gov raise the min wage for cleaners.. got growth.. then they v happy say low wage worker earning more now. but fact is.. if no law mandate.. these workers will still get paid 600 to 700 even till today

i dont know how first hand experience do pple here have with the low wage workers.. but i do have alot. i would say there are companies who pay more lah.. but rare.. let me tell you why

the generous ones are usually mnc or big companies.. however most of them subcontract out to cleaning companies.. so guess what.. all tender de mah.. cleaning companies bid low.. win contract then exploit cleaners loh

v few companies are interested in paying them a decent wage lah. and for SMEs.. they dont hire full time.. they usually hire cleaner part time to come in office once in a while to clean up.. so the cleaner have to find a few of such companies to supplement their income.. no cpf no nothing.. and they have to run around.. sometimes not in the same building or area

Pewpewking

Think deeper la...below 1.3k earners got time or even know how to use pc? Most of them are old folks...kaoz...you need to up your game la...your 2 posts really cmi...

Really? Because if you go and read the discussion properly, the data isn't clean. No one, especially WP, knows who "most of them" are. Plus now you can get a smartphone for below $200, you really think they have no internet access?

Richliao

Really? Because if you go and read the discussion properly, the data isn't clean. No one, especially WP, knows who "most of them" are. Plus now you can get a smartphone for below $200, you really think they have no internet access?

Really? We talking about poor income earners...not those retirees you see enjoying their games with their smartphones...you are what people said not in touch with the ground...please go to those rental flats area and walk around.

Please tell those charities to stop sending them food or groceries since I believe you won't believe there are poor people in singapore...

Not going to waste my breath talking to you while you sit at your ivory tower...out to you.

junlove

this is so true. if no PWN, those cleaners will still get <1k. You think bosses all morally upright?
Now that those few groups (cleaners, security, landscape) got more pay, it's directly linked to our Inflation costs? Help lah...

Ppl still think of textbook definition of Supply and Demand... geez.

flying.elephant

Below 1.3K are the strongest supporters of PAP; because they can get WIS handed to them by PAP MP. Win-win situation.

this is the real reason why min wage will not be implemented. Somemore the term is now associated with WP

what people fail to realise is that min wage will be implemented together with other policies like PWM, quotas, FW levy and all the wage supplements

$1300 really is pretty low and jobs of such nature are what maybe considered under-employment. why would a person supply labour in return for a salary less than what he needs to sustain a bare minimum living unless he is in some sort of venerable situation.

:)

wwenze

I don't mind $1300 jobs if HDB costs $130k

But somehow when we ask for higher pay the IBs always ask if can have higher prices, yet never the other way round of if lower pay means can lower prices or not. :)

sizzy6

for those who dont knowm.. its not that cheap to hire a fw also

1. levy is 300 to 600
2. accomodation and insurance etc have to be provided.. another couple hundreds

plus their wages.. its more than 1k liao and its cheaper to hire old workers.. because cpf contribution low also..

u do the math.. its either cheaper or around same to hire a old sinkie vs fw. plus you get additional quota for hire fw for other roles. the only pro of hiring fw is.. they younger and stronger.. can do more things.. so dollar for dollar cant beat.. but hire old sinkie got more quota plus as long not ask them do tol shiong can liao

look around.. some of the labor these old sinkies do.. more tiring than many here.. i see them 70 year old still so strong.. probably used to it..

and here we have ******* ** scums say dont pay them even 1.3k

knn try go do their job.. give u 2k you might not want also

wwenze

$1300 really is pretty low and jobs of such nature are what maybe considered under-employment. why would a person supply labour in return for a salary less than what he needs to sustain a bare minimum living unless he is in some sort of venerable situation.

:)

When job not enough to feed, people just steal vouchers from mailbox lor. :)

Pewpewking

Really? We talking about poor income earners...not those retirees you see enjoying their games with their smartphones...you are what people said not in touch with the ground...please go to those rental flats area and walk around.

Please tell those charities to stop sending them food or groceries since I believe you won't believe there are poor people in singapore...

Not going to waste my breath talking to you while you sit at your ivory tower...out to you.

I live in a rental flat area. I think you're the one in an ivory tower - do you even know anyone earning below 1.3k? Do you know how easy it is for an able bodied person to get a >1.3k job in SG? Its really not hard.

Sinkie

I searched from mycareersfuture.gov.sg, some jobs paying less than $1500

Waiter, kitchen helper, dish washer, shop sale assistant, cashier, retail sales assistant, waiter, cook supervisor, cleaning support staff, childcare cleaner and cook, painter, fitter, insulator, english/chinese assistant teacher, traffic warden, general admin, housekeeping attendant, pump attendant, driver cum production operator,

And also ntuc FairPrice skilled cutter and retail assistant

sizzy6

I live in a rental flat area. I think you're the one in an ivory tower - do you even know anyone earning below 1.3k? Do you know how easy it is for an able bodied person to get a >1.3k job in SG? Its really not hard.

jiao wei

already say able bodied. do food delivery also can according to you

and yes still alot of jobs pay less than that..

go flip newspaper classified.. esp zaobao etc..

this kind of job you wont see on jobsdb, jobsstreet

thats why pple say where got such thing.

sunzoner

Lol now the harping on 32k by the fJL fanboys. Hais, the 32 k consists of large spectrum groups such as : lesser educated, health problems, disabled, retirees who wan to supplement income thru part time, interns etc.

The number is not static, going forward it will increase or decrease. Based on these, you wan to make their employment less attractive by increasing their cost ??? Really?? Employers got no choice but to die die hire them ?? I can increase cost since gov ask me sure, den I increase their working hrs or reduce thiwr headcount.

Pls la tolong, stop trying to help the poor and cause more harm.

You mean please stop collecting GST to help the poor? Noted.

sunzoner

But somehow when we ask for higher pay the IBs always ask if can have higher prices, yet never the other way round of if lower pay means can lower prices or not. :)

~100k used to be 5-rooms HDB.

86technie

That is back in 80s/90s, now flats are around $320k.

Sinkie

jiao wei

already say able bodied. do food delivery also can according to you

and yes still alot of jobs pay less than that..

go flip newspaper classified.. esp zaobao etc..

this kind of job you wont see on jobsdb, jobsstreet

thats why pple say where got such thing.

I searched from mycareersfuture.gov.sg, some jobs paying less than $1500

Waiter, kitchen helper, dish washer, shop sale assistant, cashier, retail sales assistant, waiter, cook supervisor, cleaning support staff, childcare cleaner and cook, painter, fitter, insulator, english/chinese assistant teacher, traffic warden, general admin, housekeeping attendant, pump attendant, driver cum production operator,

And also ntuc FairPrice skilled cutter and retail assistant

Yes, I went through the govt job search engine, these are some of the job starting pay $1600 and below

So let’s just reduce these employers profit margin

sizzy6

Yes, I went through the govt job search engine, these are some of the job starting pay $1600 and below

So let’s just reduce these employers profit margin

1600 still can find those who are tech savvy to go online to find jobs

if you go see newspaper esp chinese newspaper.. zaobao.. evening ones lesser. u be amazed by all the ** jobs available.

this one usually target older group who dont really use simi job search engine

they find jobs by

1. referral
2. newspaper
3. MP or gov agency

newspaper quality lowest.. referral.. friend friend wont give u ** lobang

MP usually intro to gov or glc.. those stat board or ntuc work loh

sunzoner

for those who dont knowm.. its not that cheap to hire a fw also

1. levy is 300 to 600
2. accomodation and insurance etc have to be provided.. another couple hundreds

plus their wages.. its more than 1k liao and its cheaper to hire old workers.. because cpf contribution low also..

u do the math.. its either cheaper or around same to hire a old sinkie vs fw. plus you get additional quota for hire fw for other roles. the only pro of hiring fw is.. they younger and stronger.. can do more things.. so dollar for dollar cant beat.. but hire old sinkie got more quota plus as long not ask them do tol shiong can liao

look around.. some of the labor these old sinkies do.. more tiring than many here.. i see them 70 year old still so strong.. probably used to it..

and here we have ******* ** scums say dont pay them even 1.3k

knn try go do their job.. give u 2k you might not want also

It is uncompassionate for anyone to claim that 32,000 is a small number and hence refused to provide help. It is also stupid for people to say these 32,000 spreads over different sectors/jobs and hence decide not to help.

If PAP feels the PWM is better, then go ahead to use it to solve the problem. There is no need to be fixated on minimum wage. Let PAP push out their "plan" so voters by the next election can understand what PAP has done to solve the problem. For incumbents, election time is the time to showcase their "report card".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.