Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

diequick

Dr Koh had cited the figure to explain that a minimum wage was not necessary. He said the Government's policies, particularly the progressive wage model (PWM) and Workfare Income Supplement, already ensure the majority of low-wage workers take home more than $1,300 a month.

Among the 850,000 workers in occupations traditionally deemed lower income, such as clerical support and service staff and tradesmen, about 100,000 earn below $1,300, figures from the Ministry of Manpower show.

After taking into account Workfare wage top-ups and employers' Central Provident Fund contribution, about 56,000 earn less than $1,300. Of these, about 32,000 are full-time employees, or 1.7 per cent of the workforce, a "very small number", said Dr Koh.

I m getting confused by cited numbers...

PWM is only applicable to locals, i.e. SGan, SG PR. Who it covers

WP says "universal minimum wage starting at $1,300 per month for Singaporean
workers." Source Idk why everyone still say cover FWs, construction costs will go up alot...

So in theory, a MW for SGan should be less costly for employers than PWM for SGan/PRs.

The 850k cited are locals? The 32k are full time SGans, bcos Workfare only covers
SGan. Work fare FAQ

so if only 3k SGan are in the landscape industry, how is that efficient to implement
PWM for landscape industry? Even assuming 12k total SGan/PRs, so

12k PWM + 3k (workfare)
versus
3k MW.

How is MW going to cost more?

sizzy6

btw the proposal is 1300 for sinkies nia

and not the universal min wage like other countries iirc

and before pple say.. if like that then nobody hire sinkie.. dont be stupid liao.. thats why got such thing called quota

and in fact the current sinkie wage is still higher than fw. if im the boss.. i wont mind paying abit more to keep the sinkie worker when i can have more quota. they hire sinkies only to hit quota.. sonyou just make the quota abit more expensive.. maybe few hundred more per month.. small price to pay lah

fandango

To be fair, I will be very happy also if PAP can implement PWM for all

wwenze

The cost is passed on to consumers leh....

That means you and me paying for it leh.

Sorry I'm not paying

Please tell me you are essential worker during COVID. Else I have news for you about your salary...

eAtNeAt

Then the argument that this will have broader market effects does not stand anymore.

cwchee

Don't siao lah!
Only 32K people you want to implement?

Later all the coy put starting salary as $1.3K instead of the usual higher rate then who suffer?

Most likely government will tell these folks since now everyone has minimum wage and should be able to sustain, no more handouts and aids, you see who die.

Apex01

After taking into account Workfare wage top-ups and employers' Central Provident Fund contribution, about 56,000 earn less than $1,300.

==

This govt is is using the extra employers CPF contribution to prove their point.
CPF is for retirement, housing, medical. Can it be used for taking transport, cai png, oil and vegetables? Lame ministers.

wwenze

Don't siao lah!
Only 32K people you want to implement?

Later all the coy put starting salary as $1.3K instead of the usual higher rate then who suffer?

Most likely government will tell these folks since now everyone has minimum wage and should be able to sustain, no more handouts and aids, you see who die.

Which IB said handouts are bad? ;)

Can u all at least do a weekly meeting to align your posts

wwenze

You rather pay $1520 + $950 (total $2470) tax to a foreigner THAN paying a local
$1300 (inclusive of cpf)?

Huh?

Cost to foreigner is still $870

Tax goes to government

Dorm rent goes to... a certain MP i guess, but land rent still goes to government

Foreigner needs to eat so money still goes back to Singapore, so actual cost to foreigner is less than $870

As long as the cost of human is less than machine, Singapore will import humans instead of machines.

Sultana

Did it include OT? Many coys can just put in longer hours (more than 44 hrs workweek).
In the end has to be like OZ that has min per hour rate instead...

muddywaters

I am aware

Basic: $870
Government levy: $950
Accomodations: $650

You say leh.

No wonder the govt rather give the jobs to FT.

Every month makes $950 levy from each worker.

at least half of sinkies don't even earn enough to pay income tax. No wonder govt wants to keep increasing GST as a way to tax this group of sinkies.

greentiger

WP's minimum wage proposal does not include foreign workers.

KPK pointed out that the international community will likely kpkb about this if it is implemented.

fortunecat

btw the proposal is 1300 for sinkies nia

and not the universal min wage like other countries iirc

and before pple say.. if like that then nobody hire sinkie.. dont be stupid liao.. thats why got such thing called quota

and in fact the current sinkie wage is still higher than fw. if im the boss.. i wont mind paying abit more to keep the sinkie worker when i can have more quota. they hire sinkies only to hit quota.. sonyou just make the quota abit more expensive.. maybe few hundred more per month.. small price to pay lah

Min wage for sinkies nia, but quota is for locals (PRs + sinkies). :o

RedEyesFan

There is progressive wage already in place...
WP is really really sibei backward leh...

PWM is there only to sell hope. There is no black and white in place to guarantee the increase in wage, only discretion.

HappyPotato

Trying to implement minimum wage is not the same as being more compassionate. Just an outdated bait to get more votes from the uneducated or people who just look at things from the surface. If you implement 1.3k, then all the work by PWN will be undone. One of the side effect is that they will just drop all the wages of jobs like security guard to 1.3k. Since it is perfectly legit. So what’s next? Increase to 1.5k. Every election the highest bidder will get more vote? I want min wage 3k, vote for me? Please please use brain.

Konnichiwa

PWM is there only to sell hope. There is no black and white in place to guarantee the increase in wage, only discretion.

U have to be in the industry to understand. Not just talk in the air siol.
It really helped the security guard in their wage increase siol...

Ethan_

Just workers in general, no details locals or foreigners mix, or its implied locals? Thought all along the focus was on doing it for locals only. If so, providing generic numbers think seems somewhat irrelevant, if not misleading.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.