Opennet installion - share experience please

ideatalk

i had just booked my opennet fibre optic installation appointment to be done in feb 2011, in jurong west.
bro out there, kindly share your experiences and provide some advices on what to look out for b4 and during the installation.

MoneyFace =p

i had just booked my opennet fibre optic installation appointment to be done in feb 2011, in jurong west.
bro out there, kindly share your experiences and provide some advices on what to look out for b4 and during the installation.
Just thinking about the path the fibre cable is going to run through if u want least visibility/avoid looking ugly on walls. During installation make sure opennet check the signal for the TP box before they leave coz my had no signal during installation for ONT.

curse154

Make sure when they test your connection with their gadget, it doesn't says 'low'. Last time I didn't check, when I sign my fibre plan and the nucleus connect guy come to test my connection is says 'low'. I think the opennet guy didn't check properly after installation, making me wait another week for them to rectify the problem...

ideatalk

Make sure when they test your connection with their gadget, it doesn't says 'low'. Last time I didn't check, when I sign my fibre plan and the nucleus connect guy come to test my connection is says 'low'. I think the opennet guy didn't check properly after installation, making me wait another week for them to rectify the problem...

can advise how the test gadget look like?

Qubicfactor

One thing I always advice ppl not to do is to just dump the TP near the TV in the living room. Easy installation for the contractor/s and they may pressure you into doing so, but you are better off making full use of the free 15M and perhaps paying a little more to get the TP as close as possible to where most of your wired PCs are. I am very sure most of us are taking on fibre for the internet and not really so for the other services like IPTV and VoIP.

ultimate69

Think hard where u want FTP located

those guys coming to install your FTP are like worker ants. Yes, they just work. U spit on that spot and tell 'em to put the FTP there, they'll do it. They do a good job. No more , no less. But wait, the catch comes next. They will not offer any advice regarding the location. Even if u want to install it under your tap, they'll probably do it. Ynot? BECAUSE relocating the FTP will hack off your thumb or toe or anything worth $450 + GST. That's cool. So think hard.

Qubicfactor

those guys coming to install your FTP are like worker ants. Yes, they just work. U spit on that spot and tell 'em to put the FTP there, they'll do it. They do a good job. No more , no less. But wait, the catch comes next. They will not offer any advice regarding the location. Even if u want to install it under your tap, they'll probably do it. Ynot? BECAUSE relocating the FTP will hack off your thumb or toe or anything worth $450 + GST. That's cool. So think hard.

Not really from my and other bro/sis experience. Some of us encountered contractors who tend to recommend/prefer placing the TP near the TV point nearest the entrance. Reson being most people just place it there. It took some insistence before they relented and let me place the TP in the computer room almost exactly a 15M cable run away. No regrets with my decision, as it would otherwise mean my internet is bottlenecked due to wireless or homeplugs...

seeyourhead_jiejie

Not really from my and other bro/sis experience. Some of us encountered contractors who tend to recommend/prefer placing the TP near the TV point nearest the entrance. Reson being most people just place it there. It took some insistence before they relented and let me place the TP in the computer room almost exactly a 15M cable run away. No regrets with my decision, as it would otherwise mean my internet is bottlenecked due to wireless or homeplugs...
mine lor. they "advise" me to install near my tv now. which is like not even 1m from the point of entrance. :s22:

insist i wan to install at a point. in the end give me those buai gam wan face :o

chunlianghere

mine lor. they "advise" me to install near my tv now. which is like not even 1m from the point of entrance. :s22:

insist i wan to install at a point. in the end give me those buai gam wan face :o

so easy to deal..

jus get their particulars lor, than u happy liao jiu call him come back change location FOC.:s13:

algerr

Just to share...

it's recommended to place the FTP near a TV/SCV point.
One of the reason could be.. there's a power point there...to supply power to the ONT(Modem) when Nucleus connect comes and setup the modem for you.

Another reason is...installation could likely be done on the existing trunking which leads to the scv point, without the hassle of constructing another trunking just to fit the fibre cable and the TP.

It's perfectly fine if you choose to install in the bedroom..but at least make sure there's power point for you to supply power to the modem ma... even if the TP is far away from your pc.. you can choose to connect directly via a longer lan cable or go wireless...

Finally, pls think carefully about where you preferred to place the TP. Because should you wish to relocate the TP after installation, it's chargeable.

hoks

My experience, opennet came to install ONT and recommended a position, say signal sure can reach whole house.

Singtel came last week, saw ONT location and say sure cannot get good signal, get opennet back to move.

End user forever stucked in between.

seeyourhead_jiejie

My experience, opennet came to install ONT and recommended a position, say signal sure can reach whole house.

Singtel came last week, saw ONT location and say sure cannot get good signal, get opennet back to move.

so u ask them to move ? need pay ? :s22: should b chargeable right.. ?

chunlianghere

Just to share...

it's recommended to place the FTP near a TV/SCV point.
One of the reason could be.. there's a power point there...to supply power to the ONT(Modem) when Nucleus connect comes and setup the modem for you.

Another reason is...installation could likely be done on the existing trunking which leads to the scv point, without the hassle of constructing another trunking just to fit the fibre cable and the TP.

It's perfectly fine if you choose to install in the bedroom..but at least make sure there's power point for you to supply power to the modem ma... even if the TP is far away from your pc.. you can choose to connect directly via a longer lan cable or go wireless...

Finally, pls think carefully about where you preferred to place the TP. Because should you wish to relocate the TP after installation, it's chargeable.

power point is always not a problem ba.. can diy one. but fibre cannot diy, the equipment is already like :s22:..

Gixxerfied

I installed my TP next to my TV point, my ONT is there as well but both my router is in my room connected by using around 11m of Cat5e cable..

wook2000

I also kanna the same problem..after waiting for like 1 month for the installation date by starhub, they came to my place and tested the point after 5 min left saying low signal... damn sian..now got to wait another 3 weeks for opennet to come down and test.

ideatalk

so u have to move ONT from where to where?
Is the Digital Voice rj11 connector on the ONT?

albertlee

OpenNet don't install ONT leh, you meant TP issit?

What a whole lot of rubbish from ST, what signal they talking about? Wifi coverage can be easily resolved using repeater, their RG suck in the first place wah.

Gixxerfied

TP aka Termination Point = OpenNet
ONT aka Optical network Terminal = Nucleus Connect

What i'm puzzled is, both location of TP or ONT wont affect the signal that is coming into your home nor does it provide any wireless coverage at all.

ideatalk

sorry, can show pic of your ONT and RG - showing the connectors?

from the opennet brochure, it shows that there are few rj45 connectors .
can we connect few laptops directly using LAN cables?

pls advise which router brand/model that has a rj11 connector.
Is there a device that connects directly to the ONT just for Digital Voice?
saw on sh website that they have a digital voice terminal but price same as
the motorola voice-enabled modem.

presently i m on sh cable broadband, my digital voice is from my motorola modem and tplink router is connected to my modem for wireless.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.