Oppo Find N5

fool1988

Does the latest ColorOS include AI-powered writing or sentence rephrasing features similar to Samsung AI? Camera downgrade a bit sianz but the macOS remote look tempting! Can snake while I away for long lunch!

tkte_85

Most are coming from magic v3 and vivo x3p where it isnt too old vs N5. Whereas for me coming from N3 i am very tempted, but also very much thinking twice if i do need the performance uplift, after confirming the 7core 8Gen Elite is actually 1 less 3ghz core instead of the 4ghz performance one.
Biggest upset for me is more of Oppo is not taking care of their current loyal customers esp not allowing them to overtrade their n3. This is really where samsung really shines. And only thing i really got from attending today is just actual hands on with lesser restriction (or i just wasnt stopped from benchmarking). Other than that, no attendee promo nor special offer nor anything, everything else can be seen from the livestream anyway

tkte_85

so what is holding you back then?
Ultimately i do think if i really need to change, esp n3 is still much usable, and also the fact oppo doesnt really take care of their current users, only focusing on attracting new ppl with their "R&D" marvels.

Yuripa

I'm kinda disappointed with the camera tbh

Overall my personal opinion with n5 vs current foldable competition is 1 step forward and 2 steps backwards.

Yes they did right in several ways but it seems that maybe they thought they could get away and cut corners like samsung does.

Oh well, will wait for v4 or zf7 and monitor the situation again.

Peanut15

i think i get it. To me the physical aspect is hands-down winner bar the camera, but i am not fuss about camera as well, more on productivity. I still think ColorOS lose out to OneUi 7.
Actually nobody ever said this, it's very troublesome to view video in "tent mode" on colorOS and very easy on OneUI. U need turn on rotation, rotate and and there.

I haven manage to get inverted tent mode to work.

ChinTuaKi

oh wow....the cameras really quite chui....this coming from someone who just "anyhow" take photos....maybe cos i always use flagship phones, so the camera quality is there...no matter how u "anyhow" take.

damn sianz...i was looking forward towards this N5....now the camera so sucky....dunno wanna jump ship anot...

ChinTuaKi

I'm kinda disappointed with the camera tbh

Overall my personal opinion with n5 vs current foldable competition is 1 step forward and 2 steps backwards.

Yes they did right in several ways but it seems that maybe they thought they could get away and cut corners like samsung does.

Oh well, will wait for v4 or zf7 and monitor the situation again.

i feel the same too...

looks like wait for N6 then...or vivo xf4p....

maumu

I'm definitely not picking this up and will hold on to my current triple-50mp 1" / 1.56" / 1.56" sensors x6 pro which is still taking superb photos, until the n6 comes along or if x8 ultra or x9 ultra goes global.

only sucky thing is I'm still going to be stuck with China ROM on the x6 pro :o

limmk

oh wow....the cameras really quite chui....this coming from someone who just "anyhow" take photos....maybe cos i always use flagship phones, so the camera quality is there...no matter how u "anyhow" take.

damn sianz...i was looking forward towards this N5....now the camera so sucky....dunno wanna jump ship anot...
Ya, the camera really not flagship level… can see the diff if used to high-end phones. maybe can try GCam mod, might help a bit. but if camera is important to you, maybe better to reconsider liao lor

disr87

Chatgpt lol

Ultrawide mode is most commonly used for:

• Landscapes: Capturing sweeping vistas where a broader field of view lets you include more of the horizon and surrounding scenery.
  • Architectural shots: Both exteriors and interiors benefit from ultrawide lenses, which help showcase full buildings or room layouts in a single frame.
  • Group photos: Ultrawide mode is ideal when you need to fit several people into one shot without stepping too far back.
  • Environmental portraits: When you want to include more of the context or setting around your subject.
  • Street and travel photography: It’s great for documenting busy scenes or bustling urban environments where context matters.

In all these cases, the ultrawide mode helps you capture a more expansive perspective that wouldn’t be possible with a standard lens, though with an 8MP sensor, you might notice less fine detail compared to higher-resolution options.

tkte_85

Tbh for me i really dun understand ppl comparing a foldable's camera with a normal candybar flagship's camera, when its not meant to be breaking any camera records. And even for N3, people are alr complaining about the big camera bump. My N3 tbh is really used for my work stuff much more than being a cam workhorse when i used it as my main phone when it 1st came out in oct 23 until i reversed the roles of foldable becoming secondary work phone and bought+used Oneplus 13 as my main personal phone

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.