Ops Manning !?

THFC78

Are they particular about field pack items or just see see then let you go already?

It depend on your unit. For my case, they dun even check during my last recall. Just ask me to take out my SBO+Helmet, put it on and report to the next station for THT....:s22::s22:

altya1

just curious is it normal that after ord, i have nv been briefed or went for any introduction/briefing about what to do and bring for ops manning/ict... I only know my unit like last year even tot i ord quite sometime back..

j_t_fusion

its normal.

took SAF 3 years before posting me to a unit.

and then did 2 ops manning before the unit finally decided to do a ops manning briefing.

ICT don't have intro or briefing.

~WindzStriker~

Usually, after a while, when you report back to the call centre HQ, so and so not replying to HP, home, etc numbers, they will tell you to stop calling and make your own way down to your MOB centre.

The usual pattern is call and call no one answer, then they suddenly reply back... got MC. :s13:

:s13::s13::s13:

~WindzStriker~

Kena Detachment IC for 1st time.. anyone same mob manning as me. lagi sian

Knn write to CO to excuse cos wife delivering 1st baby during the period. also say cannot

Sian. sibei sian...

have spoke to your Bn's CO,, considering your request.
Her decision is as follows:
"If there is any Mob Activation during the period from 2 to 16 Sep 14, you are still required to report to the Mob Centre.
However, in any case if your wife is admitted to Hospital during the day of activation, you will be excused from the reporting to Mob Centre. As a follow up, you need to contact your immediate superior or your Bn's Buddy or the Mob Centre on the day. You are also require to show us the letter from the Hospital within 3 working days after the Mob activation."

Knn..

Didnt go briefing, then 1 person came my house pass me contact details..

Anyone knows Detachment IC responsibilities boh?

I also want to know, kena detachment IC as well

THFC78

Not sure if it the same for reservist but for my active time, you will be given the contact/addr of a list of personal and then you need to go to their house to get their signature and at the same time, verify the address is correct.

In times of activation, you will need to inform them to report back to camp and if they are not contactable, need to go down to their place to paste paper.

~WindzStriker~

Not sure if it the same for reservist but for my active time, you will be given the contact/addr of a list of personal and then you need to go to their house to get their signature and at the same time, verify the address is correct.

In times of activation, you will need to inform them to report back to camp and if they are not contactable, need to go down to their place to paste paper.

:eek::eek:

sounds troublesome, now I know why its call sai kang.

Now brings me to alot more questions:

1) You mention going to their house to get signature, is before the Manning period ?

2) Usually roughly how many people I am in charge of contacting ?

3) Usually is ppl in my hse neighbourhood, ? eg I am in Hougang, those ppl will be staying in Hougang area right ? but Hougang so big :(

THFC78

1) You mention going to their house to get signature, is before the Manning period ?

Yup before the manning period

At least 10 from my experience but depend on the person assigning

3) Usually is ppl in my hse neighbourhood, ? eg I am in Hougang, those ppl will be staying in Hougang area right ? but Hougang so big :(

Yes, usu are those people who stay around ur neighbourhood

~WindzStriker~

Yup before the manning period

At least 10 from my experience but depend on the person assigning

Yes, usu are those people who stay around ur neighbourhood

Thanks for answering bro.

One more question is during the MOB Briefing Detachment IC Briefing, roughly how many pax will be there ? is it a big gathering ? :s13:
Not too impt, this question, but just curious =:p

THFC78

Depend on how ur unit want to conduct the briefing. Some does it one shot with one big group, some split into smaller group to brief with staggered timming for each group.

ontodhcp

I ORD in June 2011 and haven't went for any ICT yet.
Receive notification back in Aug 2014 that I have ops manning in Feb 2015
It's only until now then I know my unit from NS portal.

But until now there is no briefing, and I don't know any activation code or what are the field pack items needed.

Does no briefing means won't get activated?
If really so unlucky get activated how will they notify us? because I don't know any activation code, and also where do I get the list of what are the field pack items for my unit.

Calander

I ORD in June 2011 and haven't went for any ICT yet.
Receive notification back in Aug 2014 that I have ops manning in Feb 2015
It's only until now then I know my unit from NS portal.

But until now there is no briefing, and I don't know any activation code or what are the field pack items needed.

Does no briefing means won't get activated?
If really so unlucky get activated how will they notify us? because I don't know any activation code, and also where do I get the list of what are the field pack items for my unit.

not every mob manning has briefing. contact ns portal about ur enquiry n they will direct u to ur unit's S1. Your respective S1 will call u and tell you the activation code.

From there, I believe u know what to do.

chehjin

not every mob manning has briefing. contact ns portal about ur enquiry n they will direct u to ur unit's S1. Your respective S1 will call u and tell you the activation code.

I believe now a days they will refer the servicemen to S8 instead which is NS liaison officer. They also manage and update the nominal roll in place of S1 whom normally is NSmen as well and dun have access to it until ICT.

From my last mob debrief, it seems all the deferment requests, AWOL, etc goes through S8 now as well.

Calander

I believe now a days they will refer the servicemen to S8 instead which is NS liaison officer. They also manage and update the nominal roll in place of S1 whom normally is NSmen as well and dun have access to it until ICT.

From my last mob debrief, it seems all the deferment requests, AWOL, etc goes through S8 now as well.

Well, i m speaking from my experience few years ago at the division level where S1 Br manages Mob Manning or areas which involves active operations which the administration are carried out by DXOs. Where S8 (bat. level) or G8 (div level) manages disciplinary such as charges, defaulters, NS postings etc.

chehjin

Well, i m speaking from my experience few years ago at the division level where S1 Br manages Mob Manning or areas which involves active operations which the administration are carried out by DXOs. Where S8 (bat. level) or G8 (div level) manages disciplinary such as charges, defaulters, NS postings etc.

i see. i think the main determinant is S1 branch for unit/arms, whether it is solely NSmen run and how high up the org level.

so for your case, S1 branch still active, for my unit, S1 branch stand down until ICT, so they pass on to S8 which is a DXO who also plans and executes the entire mob exercises at the division level.

anyway, doesn't affect OP much, NS portal will find the correct person to call him back. :s13:

ontodhcp

Thanks for the reply.
One more question. E.g. my ops manning is from xx Feb to xx Feb.
If there's an activation, will everyone with the same ops manning date get activate, or just some only.
Sorry if I sound paranoid, but I am worry that if I go contact my unit, they might think that I'm very "on" and put me in the group where they will activate for ops manning.

Calander

Thanks for the reply.
One more question. E.g. my ops manning is from xx Feb to xx Feb.
If there's an activation, will everyone with the same ops manning date get activate, or just some only.
Sorry if I sound paranoid, but I am worry that if I go contact my unit, they might think that I'm very "on" and put me in the group where they will activate for ops manning.

activation of ops manning is by the ministry, and it is your unit's responsibility to ensure personnel from the unit respond to the activation.

in other words, the ministry will only care if you failed to respond for the activation and charges will be made accordingly by your unit.

those w the same manning dates doesnt mean everyone will be activated. that is why there are code words to take note.

there will be no way which u will not know of your manning period as you will have to acknowledge the manning period. even if u did not, ur unit will actually contact u based on the contact info u have provided.

and here comes the dangerous part, if u failed to update your contact details, it is also another offence.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.