Owner-Occupier HDB Scheme

Fightfat

I wanna ask ah…if I bought a HDB with my wife under Owner Occupier scheme and we have been paying the mortgage equally but it is under my name as the Owner. Then one day I caught her ahem with her boss and I want to get a divorce, but if the ownership is transferred to me, the mortgage is too high for me to pay alone. How ah?? I don’t want to move out I just paid a lot of money for renovations last year.

Also side question can I use Owner Occupier scheme to BTO next time? With the right person of course.
If you bought a house with your wife under owner occupier scheme, that's ok.
Whoever and whatever was pay for the mortgage, that is indisputable,
As long as the flat is used as an matrimonial house , she is entitled to at least 50 % of the assets.
If not enough money to buy over her shares , sell it in the open market or whatsoever.
As for the next Owner Occupier scheme to BTO ,
You can be a co-owner or occupier to enjoy the benefits of bto ,
If you want the same thing as you are the owner and your future wife as the occupier , you would be considered as a 2nd timer and need to pay Levy .

wongminmin

can but ur next bto will be consider 2nd timer.

Alternatively, u can rent the rooms out after mop, to repay the mortgage...

DragonFire

I wanna ask ah…if I bought a HDB with my wife under Owner Occupier scheme and we have been paying the mortgage equally but it is under my name as the Owner. Then one day I caught her ahem with her boss and I want to get a divorce, but if the ownership is transferred to me, the mortgage is too high for me to pay alone. How ah?? I don’t want to move out I just paid a lot of money for renovations last year.

Also side question can I use Owner Occupier scheme to BTO next time? With the right person of course.
50/50 split so the asset is usually sold when the parties go their separate ways.

No need to think about the mortgage yet....

For your scenario you would have to pay her for the 50% share of the property value in cold hard cash. Do you have the capital available to do this in the first place?

DragonFire

You engage the most hated profession in edmw to help answer your question, the property agent.

I think your fictitious scenario does not exist. If your wife is only occupier with no ownership, why would she uses her cpf to pay for you? I think hdb does not allow to use her cpf also, if you list her as occupier.

Last question, you really want to ask a real property agents. Does BTO allows owner-occupier? I don't know.
Bro. Not once is it mentioned that CPF was involved.

virtualape

you should worry more about your assets and the subsequent alimony...its a recurring expense that leads to nothing.

you are better off selling the unit and then find another. the memories and whatever negative aura in the house isnt good already since you were awarded with a green beret.

coyote

Bro. Not once is it mentioned that CPF was involved.

I think TS will need it... If he's coming up with such devious plan? Especially since he mentioned the mortgage loan is challenging for him to take it up alone.

xiao.xin

Back to drawing board first la, TS what's your loan amount. Your monthly installment and what loan you take.

I know for 1 thing, if HDB loan, ah gong almost guarantee won't lelong your house.

DragonFire

I think TS will need it... If he's coming up with such devious plan? He mentioned the mortgage loan is challenging for him.
He's getting ahead of himself I feel. He needs to afford the 50% cash share due to his ex wife before he thinks about servicing the mortgage.

Most folk in this situation sell and downsize.

coyote

50/50 split so the asset is usually sold when the parties go their separate ways

No need to think about the mortgage yet....

For your scenario you would have to pay her for the 50% share of the property value in cold hard cash. Do you have the capital available to do this in the first place?

Not a divorce expert but I don't think infidelity is ground for awarding more or less matrimonial assets. Few recent cases also suggested that the judges took into consideration who contributed more to the matrimonial assets when splitting them to the couples.

The assumption that the wife getting 50% of matrimonial assets just because of women's charter is probably incorrect or flawed.

Again, not a lawyer or legal expert here. If ts is so scared before marriage, better pay legal fees to get expert advice from a lawyer.

DragonFire

Not a divorce expert but I don't think infidelity is ground for awarding more or less matrimonial assets. Few recent cases also suggested that the judges took into consideration who contributed more to the matrimonial assets when splitting them to the couple.

The assumption that the wife getting 50% of matrimonial assets is probably incorrect.
He did mention it was an equal split on the mortgage servicing.

xiao.xin

Is the cash portion bah, or he pays via CPF and the spouse is paying cash currently. The scheme doesn't allow to use the spouse's CPF since there is no ownership to the property.

coyote

He's getting ahead of himself I feel. He needs to afford the 50% cash share due to his ex wife before he thinks about servicing the mortgage.

Most folk in this situation sell and downsize.

That's why I said he needs a property agent and a lawyer. Many members here tends to be penny wise pound foolish. Save $3,000 on the lawyer legal advice, lost more money in his divorce cases or splitting of his matrimonial assets. Instead of getting an agent to sell his HDB at better price, he sells it himself without a wider outreach to more potential buyers. 🤷

coyote

Is the cash portion bah, or he pays via CPF and the spouse is paying cash currently. The scheme doesn't allow to use the spouse's CPF since there is no ownership to the property.

Thank you for confirming my understanding. So TS is not even in a marriage going through divorce. As I said earlier. If the wife's name is not in the HDB, why would she contribute her cash or CPF to the payment? And naturally, hdb does not allow his fictitious wife to contribute her cpf to the hdb. He's just thinking what will happen to his matrimonial assets when he eventually gets a divorce.

@DragonFire.

coyote

If the wife does not have a share of the HDB, why would she contribute cash to the hdb? He's not thinking straight. As for CPF, the law does not even allow his wife to draw from her cpf, if she is just an occupier, not owner.

ceestudent

Bbfa don't worry about this scheme happened to you lah. Your left and right palm won't divorce you. Can confirm on this.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.