Passive income options

havetheveryfun

dividend warrior how come ur dividend income drop down to $200 a month?i thought ur portfolio used to be 200k to 300k in size and generating close to 1k/mth dividend?

he sold his old portfolio for capital gains, now building new one

mighty2015

how about doing e commerce as a sideline

Anybody have any thoughts on starting a online biz as a way to start having passive income? The start up costs will be low and its definitely on the uptrend now...

Perisher

Anybody have any thoughts on starting a online biz as a way to start having passive income? The start up costs will be low and its definitely on the uptrend now...

Keeping watch here, just in case. :D

Shiny Things

Ahahahahaha no. Starting a business of any sort is pretty much the exact opposite of "passive" income. It's going to be a ton of work and there's no guarantee you'll make any money out of it.

wts2013

hahaha, this requires out of the box thinking lor, hahaha

u can have multiple streams of income or passive income, without need for much ongoing effort or with effort, without need for much capital or with lots of capital, with or without risk of capital loss, etc, hahaha

pattanispirit

Ahahahahaha no. Starting a business of any sort is pretty much the exact opposite of "passive" income. It's going to be a ton of work and there's no guarantee you'll make any money out of it.

Passive income means u have little control on its returns.

Starting a biz is in active mode. No 2 person doing same biz, will get same results.

I started 2 biz which turn $40k capital to 7 figures return p.a. within 4~5 years.

Not the online things but old biz models of running engineering projects.

With profits from biz, pump into passive income generator to yield mid 6 figure returns p.a

lcornwisky

Starting a biz is in active mode. No 2 person doing same biz, will get same results.

I started 2 biz which turn $40k capital to 7 figures return p.a. within 4~5 years.

With profits from biz, pump into passive income generator to yield mid 6 figure returns p.a
Wad biz

Sent from Asus ASUS_Z00AD using GAGT

wahkao3

EPC????????????

pattanispirit

EPC need lot of capital. 1 contract easily $100 mil, ave industrial margin around 8%.

Mine 1 level below EPC. Contract value 6 figure, still manageable. Margin is better but need cost conscious.

As year go by, can take on bigger contracts.

wahkao3

EPC need lot of capital. 1 contract easily $100 mil, ave industrial margin around 8%.

Mine 1 level below EPC. Contract value 6 figure, still manageable. Margin is better but need cost conscious.

As year go by, can take on bigger contracts.
OEM, system integrator?

af7680

Hi
I am asking for my friend . Hope some one can advise.
He owns hdb flat which he is subletting out . He resides in condo which he owns . It seems the hdb got enblock potential .
He want to keep hdb for rental income but wondering if he will be able to sublet the new flat which will be given if his old hdb flat goes enblock ..

bin8lee

Any passive income options to share?

I know the best is property and then collect rental.. but not sure if i am able to afford a house now.. (i am below 35).

But then again, one of my colleague also bought a private property and his passive income for rental is :eek::eek::eek: basically i think he used cpf and also bank loan to buy, but the rental monthly can cover the bank loan and still got earn.. any advise if this is really worth it?

so, any other passive income options you guys use can share share? :D

oh ya, i also thinking of driving taxi on the weekends.. :s13:

yes, private property.

Parka

Fundamental of online business and offline is similar -- provide value to customers, solve their problems for money, help them save time.

I've a blog that earns money, and I'm now moving towards creating videos on Youtube.

Biggest advantage is definitely the low startup costs. You have to invest time, but you don't need to invest much money, unless you have to hire people.

Squaredot

Hi
He owns hdb flat which he is subletting out . He resides in condo which he owns . It seems the hdb got enblock potential .
He want to keep hdb for rental income but wondering if he will be able to sublet the new flat which will be given if his old hdb flat goes enblock ..
Why not? After MOP of 5 years, can rent out whole unit right? Although many do it during MOP. However the penalty of it is heavy :(

slurpy0099

Hi

As he owns pty property, not sure he is entitle to the new replacement flat. Better check with Hdb

New replacement flat still need to fulfill mop so cannot rent whole first when first take keys.

Singleton

sorry for asking a few stupid questions...i alway heard pple mentioned that develop phone apps to sort of earn of passive income once the app is sold to the buyer.
Searched online but it pop up a few links which i click here and there then it somehow need to pay to attend the app development course? :(:o:(

1. So I must attend an paid course to learn app development?

2. Once sold the app, the passive income last forever or for 10 years only?

3. Need to go which platform to sell the app?

4. How is the sold app's passive income being calculated?

spiritGate

sorry for asking a few stupid questions...i alway heard pple mentioned that develop phone apps to sort of earn of passive income once the app is sold to the buyer.
Searched online but it pop up a few links which i click here and there then it somehow need to pay to attend the app development course? :(:o:(

1. So I must attend an paid course to learn app development?

2. Once sold the app, the passive income last forever or for 10 years only?

3. Need to go which platform to sell the app?

4. How is the sold app's passive income being calculated?
You can learn to create app on your own. There are tons of free tutorial videos on youtube and website. However if you want to learn advance stuff, either go library borrow a book or attend course.

No guarantee that your app will earn money, if not all the programmer go chiong to create app liao. It depend on the nature of your apps.

Depend on your apps, how do u want to apps to make money? Mostly ppl will go for ads or in app purchase. So is up to you to decide

You can host it on google plays store for android app or apple store for iphone app

Sent from sent from gagt using GAGT

starfish.starfish

Hi
Curious, how does he know there's Enbloc potential?

wahkao3

. However if you want to learn advance stuff, either go library borrow a book or attend course.

No guarantee that your app will earn money, if not all the programmer go chiong to create app liao. It depend on the nature of your apps.
its exactly the same in university.
You pay 40k and 4 years to study an engineering degree, also no guarantee you will find a job and earn money, LOL

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.