PC New Build Questions!

summersky1986

1) Both rig cannot be used at the same time with the same CD key.
2) Should work just enter Win 10 key, no need call MS hotline to activate.
I clarify..

My old rig.. if I format OS drive.. no more windows.. how can I sell? If new buyer install his own windows will affect me?

summersky1986

Usually best install Windows but the key will be a problem.
DIY PC wise usually sell part by part can fetch better price.
If I sell part by part.. my current cd key is still tagged to my mobo.. how do I solve this?

Thanks ah!!!

Deceased

Haiz.. ok la.. I buy another OEM CD Key..

Another idea SLS OEM key about how much? and buy from which shop? dun wanna kena chop carrot
I see the challenger’s price I also sian half. Not sure worth that amount when I can just go carousell buy it at a tiny fraction of the cost (got official physical box and usb stick some more).

summersky1986

Not worry the next owner recover all you HDD data?
I'm reusing all the SDD/HDD... SATA SDDs (2 x 256gb) just plug in my new rig.... HDD (1 x 1TB) just buy external case use at home as external drive..

Where got so silly sell SDD and HDD lol

summersky1986

I see the challenger’s price I also sian half. Not sure worth that amount when I can just go carousell buy it at a tiny fraction of the cost (got official physical box and usb stick some more).
How much u buy ah?

86technie

Haiz.. ok la.. I buy another OEM CD Key..

Another idea SLS OEM key about how much? and buy from which shop? dun wanna kena chop carrot

$150 but recommend after you sell the motherboard, ask the buyer buy so don't pay for it.
Most buyer won't want to spend extra money for the Win license.
Like others mention buy from Caurosell seller, despite it is grey key but you won't lose money.

I have sold a few motherboard with free Win license, by right it is illegal to do so.
But what to do I have told them to get their own Win license but they don't want.
MS isn't very stringent with home users but office users wise will be different story.

summersky1986

$150 but recommend after you sell the motherboard, ask the buyer buy so don't pay for it.
Most buyer won't want to spend extra money for the Win license.
Like others mention buy from Caurosell seller, despite it is grey key but you won't lose money.

I have sold a few motherboard with free Win license, by right it is illegal to do so.
But what to do I have told them to get their own Win license but they don't want.
MS isn't very stringent with home users but office users wise will be different story.
Tech, I PM you more details for your advice. It's very lengthy, but I hope you would have a look when you have time. Thank you so much as usual.

cheekies

A bit confused..

So when installing fresh on my new rig after assembly.. I key in my current CD key.. then after install complete.. I follow those steps on my new PC right?

Before you do anything, you must do the preparation work for the transition. There is no need to key in anything.

On your existing rig, log into your MS acc to activate your MS digital licence.

On your newly built rig, plug in the existing drive with the original OS and boot up. Log into MS acc and follow the steps to reactivate Windows on your new rig. Doing so will update MS side on your change of hardware.

Once reactivated, you are free to do a fresh install of Windows on your new rig and still keeping your original Windows license.

Down the road you are still able to upgrade to Win11 should you want to.

summersky1986

Before you do anything, you must do the preparation work for the transition. There is no need to key in anything.

On your existing rig, log into your MS acc to activate your MS digital licence.

On your newly built rig, plug in the existing drive with the original OS and boot up. Log into MS acc and follow the steps to reactivate Windows on your new rig. Doing so will update MS side on your change of hardware.

Once reactivated, you are free to do a fresh install of Windows on your new rig and still keeping your original Windows license.

Down the road you are still able to upgrade to Win11 should you want to.
Sounds like a lot of work, I'll be assembling my rig at PC Care @ SLS, not sure if the boss will do it that way.

But assuming he does, my existing rig will no longer be tagged with the current CD key and I'm free to sell without worrying that the new buyer would somehow disrupt me right?

Deceased

Sounds like a lot of work, I'll be assembling my rig at PC Care @ SLS, not sure if the boss will do it that way.

But assuming he does, my existing rig will no longer be tagged with the current CD key and I'm free to sell without worrying that the new buyer would somehow disrupt me right?

cheekies

After you reactivate your digital license on your new rig, MS side will update themselves that this license is now tagged to the new hardware. You can sell your old hardware as you like, though do be careful about selling exisiting data drives.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.