PE Board (professional engineer)

patryn33

Not true. Elect, Mech, Civil, Chem courses may fall under Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) which is not recognized by PEB Sg.

http://www.abet.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/T001-15-16-ETAC-Criteria-05-04-15.pdf

If u read that 36 page doc, it states the associate degree...
Associate degree will never be accredited by PEB

ETAC - anything with technology in the USA generally refer to a associate level. If one so blur also don't dream of passing the PE exam

Even super low tier uni
BETHUNE-COOKMAN UNIVERSITY also accredited
http://main.abet.org/aps/AccreditedProgramsDetails.aspx?OrganizationID=10126&ProgramIDs=

Kyoji83

The source ( http://www.abet.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/T001-15-16-ETAC-Criteria-05-04-15.pdf ) that I provide did state baccalaureate degree programs at PDF page 5. A Baccalaureate degree in US is known as Bachelor degree in Singapore.

ETAC does not limited to Associate degree (two-year degree) but also Baccalaureate/Bachelor degree (four-year degree).

EAC is for Baccalaureate/Bachelor degree (four-year degree) and Master degree (post-graduate).

Source: http://www.abet.org/accreditation/new-to-accreditation/what-programs-does-abet-accredit/

If u read that 36 page doc, it states the associate degree...
Associate degree will never be accredited by PEB

ETAC - anything with technology in the USA generally refer to a associate level. If one so blur also don't dream of passing the PE exam

Even super low tier uni
BETHUNE-COOKMAN UNIVERSITY also accredited
http://main.abet.org/aps/AccreditedProgramsDetails.aspx?OrganizationID=10126&ProgramIDs=

patryn33

The source ( http://www.abet.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/T001-15-16-ETAC-Criteria-05-04-15.pdf ) that I provide did state baccalaureate degree programs at PDF page 5. A Baccalaureate degree in US is known as Bachelor degree in Singapore.

ETAC does not limited to Associate degree (two-year degree) but also Baccalaureate/Bachelor degree (four-year degree).

EAC is for Baccalaureate/Bachelor degree (four-year degree) and Master degree (post-graduate).

Source: http://www.abet.org/accreditation/new-to-accreditation/what-programs-does-abet-accredit/

I believe ppl asking for PEB type degree, u digressing here.
Bach Electical, mechanical, Chem, civil engineering is all such degree under ABET accredited.
Not Bach in X engineering technology accredited. If u have to go to such length the dude who ask such qns once again not sure if dude can pass PE exam. Give the person some credit and expect some level of intelligence here. Dodo go ask in EDMW man. Face palm.

Now if u enjoy trying do hard to prove me wrong, go spend to the to dig a Bach in engineering no technology degree that is not accredited by EAC but ETAC. I didn't dig not so bo Liao. Please help yourself

Ppl from Singapore hardly go to uni that is tier 3. With top tier even tier 2 uni they don't offer BS engineering technology degree.

Anyway For ppl interested should always refer to ABET and check if uni is accredited.

Kyoji83

You don't needs to digress & his question was 'what about ABET accredited colleges in the US?' You claim that 'So long u are doing electrical or Chen or mech all these program acccreditation all go thru EAC in ABET' which is not true as courses may fall under Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission (ETAC) which is not recognized by PEB Sg.

Everyone have a different definition of tier 1, 2 & 3 for university, program & qualification. PEB Sg recognize both Bachelor of Engineering (BEng) & Bachelor of Technology (BTech) from NUS. However in term of academic, BTech at country like Australia is a three-year exit point from the four-year BEng degree. So in Australia, BEng is tier 1 qualification & BTech is tier 2 qualification.

I believe ppl asking for PEB type degree, u digressing here.
Bach Electical, mechanical, Chem, civil engineering is all such degree under ABET accredited.
Not Bach in X engineering technology accredited. If u have to go to such length the dude who ask such qns once again not sure if dude can pass PE exam. Give the person some credit and expect some level of intelligence here. Dodo go ask in EDMW man. Face palm.

Now if u enjoy trying do hard to prove me wrong, go spend to the to dig a Bach in engineering no technology degree that is not accredited by EAC but ETAC. I didn't dig not so bo Liao. Please help yourself

Ppl from Singapore hardly go to uni that is tier 3. With top tier even tier 2 uni they don't offer BS engineering technology degree.

Anyway For ppl interested should always refer to ABET and check if uni is accredited.

youdontknowme

hey guys, just a final update here.
i made a final call to pe board,
they suggested me to drop out from Newcastle Singapore and enrol into aussie uni in home campus that is accepted by peboard with *only* my poly diploma cert. cannot transfer my credit unit here to there. there must be no record of my distance learning history as well.

so, i will be aiming to get into UNSW which is only 2years as compared to UQ, 2.5years.
this is including exemptions as my gpa is 3.0

in summary :
-cannot transfer credit units that is gained from distance learning to home campus OR to new university.
-exemption of credit units must not be more than half of the total credit units.
half on the spot is ok.
-throughout the programme, must be done in home campus.
-must be accredited by engineers australia, this can be done by just completing 2-3month internship (forgot how many month) .

meet this and it will be definitely recognise. dont waste time thinking u can do 1year here in sg and another 2year in home campus. will not work.

hope this helps anyone who is in my current situation as well.

youdontknowme

SIT already tell you those OU (Overseas uni) degree programme is conferred wholly under the name of the OU (NOT SIT)
(In simpler words, you are taking an OU degree, not SIT degree)

So basically you are reading a distant learning degree by the OU
How do you expect your degree to be recognised sia?

SIT also didn't indicate it's seeking accreditation from the boards for these OU degrees
Because it cannot be accredited.... otherwise other PEI like SIM also can

The only engineering degrees that are conferred under the name of SIT is:
Sustainable infrastructure eng (land)
Sustainable infrastructure eng (building services)
Telematics

With regards to PEB, these 3 degrees under SIT is not relating to civil, mech, elect
So it has no concern to PEB as the pathway is not to be a PE

It's like asking a LLB to be accredited under SMC (Singapore medical council)

If you have better results, you could have gone to the SIT CONFERRED DEGREE instead, and your degree can be accredited by the relevant boards since SIT is a Local Uni

E.g SIT Accountancy
1)never said i expect it to be recognised.
2)according to the pe qualification act 2009, its not really clear, some people read liao think can complete 50% in home campus there can liao. thats not the case hence this thread is to let them know.
3)again as above, some read liao thinks after DL can complete a master from ntu nus can already (is in SIT website blog). thats not the case hence this thread is to let them know.
4)some people think by transferring the credits gained here(DL) to new uni in home campus will be recognised by the board. thats not the case hence this thread is to let them know.

and u're right. :)

youdontknowme

like this for example. PEB says no, SIT-tum / sit-glasgow says yes. who have the final say? PEB.
pzevlxml.png

patryn33

The only engineering degrees that are conferred under the name of SIT is:
Sustainable infrastructure eng (land)
Sustainable infrastructure eng (building services)
Telematics

With regards to PEB, these 3 degrees under SIT is not relating to civil, mech, elect
So it has no concern to PEB as the pathway is not to be a PE

Loh Kok Keong Peter - Info tech PE
https://www.peb.gov.sg/pe_dir_view.aspx?peId=2511#

this is Naval Architecture PE
https://www.peb.gov.sg/pe_dir_view.aspx?peId=518

Chem PE
https://www.peb.gov.sg/pe_dir_view.aspx?peId=4520

structural PE
https://www.peb.gov.sg/pe_dir_view.aspx?peId=801

thegodfather

i was looking through...even though i graduated from NTU. i saw the list of modules and test and essays i had to do and go through and to be tested i almost fainted. graduated for 6-7years liao.. chiam everything like return to prof already.

https://www.peb.gov.sg/Downloads/PPE_2015.pdf

I hope to go for the test but i feel i might have lost touch :p

KirinFrost

sorry for the bump but im real confused here

why is there a PEB singapore and IES singapore

which one is the official engineering accreditation board in singapore here? :s22::s22:

TKR1992

sorry for the bump but im real confused here

which one is the official engineering accreditation board in singapore here? :s22::s22:

They cover different branches of engineering.

Is Chartered Engineer a stepping stone to become a Professional Engineer (PE)? Or is it a separate career advancement route from PE?

In this initial period of implementation, we are targeting the CEng programme at those branches of engineering which are not available for registration as Professional Engineer. The Chartered Engineer peer review system will bring many of the engineers from these engineering disciplines and industries to an equivalent level, thus raising the bar and enhancing the status and profile of the profession.

Which specialisations of engineering will the Chartered Engineer programme cover?

In the initial period of implementing this programme, we will accept applications in the branches of engineering in Aerospace, Chemical & Process, Marine & Offshore, Environmental & Water and Systems as these have been identified as the priority disciplines in the rolling out of the Chartered Engineer Programme.

It is important to note that Civil, Mechanical and Electrical Engineers for the Built Environment Sector has been pioneered in the PEng (Professional Engineers) system. The Chartered Engineer programme is to complement and capture new disciplines and is not open for registration in these Built Environment Sectors.

patryn33

They cover different branches of engineering.

They do cover other branch of engineering but other branch of engineering can be become a PE so great overlap. In general From the link below to be a member one needs to grad from a accredited program registered under PEB.

In the past here is great discrepancy and today they finally realize the confusion and align themselves with PEB. Having said so, accredited IES degree are those accredited by PEB, following PEB guidelines.

IES RECOGNISED EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS FOR ADMISSION AS MEMBER GRADE
https://www.ies.org.sg/ccms.r?pageid=10052&TenID=IES
Part 1: Washington Accord accredited degrees. Undergraduate engineering degree programmes which are conducted within the Country/Region and accredited by the corresponding Accrediting Organisation. (note there is overlap here and the PE board of the respective countries)

Part 2: Other undergraduate engineering degree programmes (in all branches of engineering)

Part 3:
http://www.ies.org.sg/Tenant/C00000...pproved Qualifications) Notification 2009.pdf

patryn33

wow thanks a lot :s12::s12::):)

anyway to see which overseas universities and programmes IES accredited?

i can only find the PEB overseas accredited unis =:p

They don't do that. It is handled by Washington Accord and PEB if U want to be a PE. Want to major in Engineering best to follow PEB, they do have the final say at the end of the day. With Canada and USA; PEB follow the rules of Canada and USA.

https://www.ies.org.sg/Accreditation
The processes, policies and procedures for granting accreditation to engineering academic programmes by IES is administered by the Engineering Accreditation Board (EAB) which was set up in May 2002 by IES as a body to accredit engineering programmes that are delivered and awarded in Singapore.

mypillowtalks

From what i read n know, usually people go for PEB accredition if ur engineering branch is covered.

Eg. Electrical Mech Civil Archi should be peb. CEng maybe is more for branch likr transport engineering? Some of my boss here have PEng & CEng and also are member of IES.

Also, im in the electrical engineering field, most engineering designs need a PE to approve, for architecture n mech drawings i also see PE approve. i never see before CEng approve drawings, i may be wrong. Im not PE but thinking of working towards it.

Sent from The Magical Land Of Talking Pillows, Bolsters & Blankets; Far, Far Away Deep In Another Galaxy using GAGT

KirinFrost

Hmm ok thanks guys :)

Am thinking of electrical mainly. But i do notice that aerospace is not under peb lol but ies (intended)

Kyoji83

Just take notice that you needs to study on campus there (also must meet the duration of course requirement) if you want to become PE in Sg cause PEB do not recognized distance learning degree from PSB, MDIS & etc even if their partner universities & courses are inside PEB list.

wow thanks a lot :s12::s12::):)

anyway to see which overseas universities and programmes IES accredited?

i can only find the PEB overseas accredited unis =:p

Plow98

PEB = Professional Licence to practice as PE.
IES = Registered to become RE/RTO or useless atas chartered engineer status without any used.
PEB

Hi Kyoji83, me and my friends following this thread are ignorant of all these Professional Engineer or related PEB matters. Is the title PE or PE Licence important in the real world or society. Or is it like those titles like PBM, BBM or Tunku / Tan Sri, etc which are useful for free NDP tickets, etc.

Is a First Class Honour Degree or Masters, etc degraded without a PE status. Not even sure of the relationships here or the impact to one's career etc.

Please help with your wise (usual) perspectives. Terima Kaseh !!

BTW we are computing nerds.

Amituofo

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.