PE Board (professional engineer)

cherryblossoms

You do not needs to take power module in NTU & NUS BEng (Elect) but you will not be prepare for PEB Exam.

At Elect Tech Licence level, SP DipEEE will needs to have power modules or else not recognized by EMA.

ya i see the past years exam paper in peb website, 1 part got power electronic topic question. thinking of just self study (get notes /tutorial question with ans from friends) , remember some formulas and practise some question and go in whack the paper. (if i chose not to take). very sayang to spend 16.6k min on power electronic alone :s13:

dip im from NP ee power. PE is my main goal

:o

ccostagmont

pple... de basic qualifications muz be bachelors' level.
same thing for law, it is the l.l.b. that qualifies one to sit for bar exam, not the masters level l.l.m.

so for overseas univ., take b.sc.(eng. course), no count. univ. of cambridge awards a b.sc.(engrg. tripos) if i'm not mistaken. all bullsh!t laide... course doesn't teach much.

taking a masters, does not augment the bachelors.

ccostagmont

ya i see the past years exam paper in peb website, 1 part got power electronic topic question. thinking of just self study (get notes /tutorial question with ans from friends) , remember some formulas and practise some question and go in whack the paper. (if i chose not to take). very sayang to spend 16.6k min on power electronic alone :s13:

dip im from NP ee power. PE is my main goal

wo pls ni la... no need spend extra marnee... oredy cast in stone riao.
take extra course to supplement de degree is not counted.

there is no requirement for final year elective to sit for p.e. exams in whichever stream.

mypillowtalks

u can do it in under 4 years la... pe(elect.)...
I not so satki get it in 4 years la. My experience here not very relevant i feel. Maybe need go work in consultant then after work under lew

Sent from Your Favourite Non-Biting Talking Pillow using GAGT

KirinFrost

pple... de basic qualifications muz be bachelors' level.
same thing for law, it is the l.l.b. that qualifies one to sit for bar exam, not the masters level l.l.m.

so for overseas univ., take b.sc.(eng. course), no count. univ. of cambridge awards a b.sc.(engrg. tripos) if i'm not mistaken. all bullsh!t laide... course doesn't teach much.

taking a masters, does not augment the bachelors.

eh canada got quite a number of degrees are bsce or bsc but for civil engineering leh

peb list also shows approved so should be okay right? :(:(:eek::eek:

ccostagmont

eh canada got quite a number of degrees are bsce or bsc but for civil engineering leh

peb list also shows approved so should be okay right? :(:(:eek::eek:

u wait nongnong...
overseas not necessarily accepted by peb.
dat peb list created for fun ones.
oso policy can flipflop anytime.
boh bao jiak ones.

cherryblossoms

really meh... can't be la. last time i check with them they just ask me to see the approved qualification list and say if your uni is there then they will let u take the exam liao. can't be if its listed black and white then suddenly chut pattern say not approved right ?

patryn33

u wait nongnong...
overseas not necessarily accepted by peb.
dat peb list created for fun ones.
oso policy can flipflop anytime.
boh bao jiak ones.

This is not EDMW sub forum leh
Where is the sauce?
The list didn’t change much over 2 decades, on the list just means u clear one of the requirements to take exam.

Course don’t teach much doesn’t mean what is taught will be used by PE day in day out. Most ppl use less then 10% of what they are taught in school for job. Didn’t teach but can pass exam is that a issue?

mypillowtalks

Attending prep course
yrkrEHw.jpg

mypillowtalks

what do they teach? u preparing for fee or ppe??
Fee

It is just a refresher course based on the fee syllabus

Today recap things on load flow eqn, load flow study, per unit system, synchronous machines, transformer.

I forgot a bit already

Ppe only when i pass fee lo. For ppe i think got 7 qn choose 5, n lightning n fire protection is one of them.

My job i never touch on fire protection system, never touch on lightning protection also.

I only do simple design review n load calculations, cable sizing, vdrop, discrimination etc for lv sub boards and final dbs.
Rarely do main switchboards also. But currently may be doing emergency main switchboard n generators.

I not much knowledge on hv, cos i never go do the switching. Maybe should volunteer n learn some hv switching. Only know theory part like differential protection, unit back up protection, solkor r all those.

cherryblossoms

Fee

It is just a refresher course based on the fee syllabus

Today recap things on load flow eqn, load flow study, per unit system, synchronous machines, transformer.

I forgot a bit already

Ppe only when i pass fee lo. For ppe i think got 7 qn choose 5, n lightning n fire protection is one of them.

My job i never touch on fire protection system, never touch on lightning protection also.

I only do simple design review n load calculations, cable sizing, vdrop, discrimination etc for lv sub boards and final dbs.
Rarely do main switchboards also. But currently may be doing emergency main switchboard n generators.

I not much knowledge on hv, cos i never go do the switching. Maybe should volunteer n learn some hv switching. Only know theory part like differential protection, unit back up protection, solkor r all those.

i see. its just like what we learnt in uni
refresher course got give paat year fee papers bo? :s13:

mypillowtalks

i see. its just like what we learnt in uni
refresher course got give paat year fee papers bo? :s13:
The sample questions r on peb website. But i dun think they gv past year papers questions.

free ones?

where ish ies academy siol... :s11:

Company pay for moi to attend. Scared fail sia. Fail liao throw face.

uM4s78Z.jpg

ccostagmont

The sample questions r on peb website. But i dun think they gv past year papers questions.

Company pay for moi to attend. Scared fail sia. Fail liao throw face.

uM4s78Z.jpg

wah, didn't know ish in zoolong...

cassey

Hi all, need some advice from you all on obtaining PE status. Currently I am working in the elevator industry as a supervisor for 2yrs+ (even though description says engineer la), so unfortunately I don't get to do design work, calculations, drawings etc etc. Is there a way to still obtain PE status or any advice on what I should do to achieve that?

I have a Bachelor in M.Eng from NTU although GPA abit kanasai la. Will really appreciate any advice guys! Thank you!

Kyoji83

Do you work with PE (Mech) such as projects? If yes, ask them if they are willing to be your 'mentor' to fill up the application form.

if no, you needs to find a job that have PE to mentor you as per PEB Sg regulation.

Hi all, need some advice from you all on obtaining PE status. Currently I am working in the elevator industry as a supervisor for 2yrs+ (even though description says engineer la), so unfortunately I don't get to do design work, calculations, drawings etc etc. Is there a way to still obtain PE status or any advice on what I should do to achieve that?

I have a Bachelor in M.Eng from NTU although GPA abit kanasai la. Will really appreciate any advice guys! Thank you!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.