PE Board (professional engineer)

cherryblossoms

Today afternoon i went to peb to submit my documents for them to do verification, for the electrical fee exam.

Closing date for this year fee is 30 june seen from the website

Any body going for refresher course or studying urself? I haven start studying. Rusty already. Calculator battery also drain finish.

thought u changing field to security guard? :s13:

mypillowtalks

how old are you and where u grad from ah?

and i tot you mention something about becoming pe long time ago but still havent take exam?
Nao mid 20s lor. Ntu EEE.
I only grad last year. But never go take exam. That time lazy, now many of my colleagues going to take exam. So i also go take lor.

Initially wanted to go for lew 8 first. Then again many ppl urge me to go for pe exam and lew 8, after that move up to lew 9, then subsequently go for High voltage lo.

thought u changing field to security guard? :s13:

Yes, using security guard as back up lor, or can part time. Cos i think i will need 10+ years to get PE if all goes smoothly. Then another 6 years to get the lew 9, if i am damn lucky. Total 20 years i guess to get licensed. Meaning somewhere along the way things can happen. So need back up lor.

Maybe after i take pe exam, will go find out about security guard also. Also may be trying out lew 8 in a few years. Now not enough experience.

Doesn't matter la got job can earn money more impt. In case next time nobody wanna hire me.

Sent from Your Favourite Non-Biting Talking Pillow using GAGT

KirinFrost

I only grad last year. But never go take exam. That time lazy, now many of my colleagues going to take exam. So i also go take lor.

Initially wanted to go for lew 8 first. Then again many ppl urge me to go for pe exam and lew 8, after that move up to lew 9, then subsequently go for High voltage lo.

Yes, using security guard as back up lor, or can part time. Cos i think i will need 10+ years to get PE if all goes smoothly. Then another 6 years to get the lew 9, if i am damn lucky. Total 20 years i guess to get licensed. Meaning somewhere along the way things can happen. So need back up lor.

Maybe after i take pe exam, will go find out about security guard also. Also may be trying out lew 8 in a few years. Now not enough experience.

Doesn't matter la got job can earn money more impt. In case next time nobody wanna hire me.

Security guard and pe damn huge diff leh :eek:

But yr 10 plus yrs figure is take from where?

DollyAiko

Hi all, I was referred here by some posters, please pardon me for intruding! I shall repost what I posted previously:

I had been admitted into their Bachelor of Engineering w/ Honours in Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) course also known as BEng (Hons) SIE (Land). Which has a through-train programme towards the Master of Engineering Technology in Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) course also known as METech SIE (Land).

Ultimately I wish to become a registered professional Engineer in Singapore after completing this 4-years BEng / METech programme.

As I was browsing through this forum, I realised that a few posters stated only NUS / NTU engineering programme allows that to happen. Hence I sent an email to SIT in-regards to this and I received this reply:

"Our SIT curriculum of the 180 credits BEng (core modules) & Master (60 credits) is academically intensive and can better prepare our SIE Engineering students well for the PE (Professional Engineers examination) and for future job placement in the relevant industry.

SIT is currently in the process of seeking accreditation for our SIT-SIE programme with the Engineering Accreditation Board, pending for formal approval. Our 1st cohort of our SIE programme graduates are already out in the workforce this year and some are currently in pursue of their post-graduate programme with SIT.

Upon graduation from their Master and have acquired at least 4 years of relevant working experiences in a related work industry, our SIT-SIE graduates (at least 240 credits) will be eligible to apply for their PE registration examinations."

And according to their website under the Academics > Master's Programme,
It states that:
"The Master of Engineering Technology in Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) is a 60-credit postgraduate programme for working professionals who are seeking to be a Chartered Engineer (CEng) and/or Professional Engineer (PE). This programme is a mandatory requirement to be eligible for consideration for CEng and PE (Mechanical) in Singapore and UK."
"The MEngTech programme will be seeking professional accreditation from the Engineering Accreditation Board. The first provisional accreditation exercise of the MEngTech with BEng was completed in November 2017."

Does this mean that SIT is now officially the 3rd University in Singapore other than NUS and NTU to allow their graduates to become an official registered Engineer?

KirinFrost

Hi all, I was referred here by some posters, please pardon me for intruding! I shall repost what I posted previously:

I had been admitted into their Bachelor of Engineering w/ Honours in Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) course also known as BEng (Hons) SIE (Land). Which has a through-train programme towards the Master of Engineering Technology in Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) course also known as METech SIE (Land).

Ultimately I wish to become a registered professional Engineer in Singapore after completing this 4-years BEng / METech programme.

As I was browsing through this forum, I realised that a few posters stated only NUS / NTU engineering programme allows that to happen. Hence I sent an email to SIT in-regards to this and I received this reply:

"Our SIT curriculum of the 180 credits BEng (core modules) & Master (60 credits) is academically intensive and can better prepare our SIE Engineering students well for the PE (Professional Engineers examination) and for future job placement in the relevant industry.

SIT is currently in the process of seeking accreditation for our SIT-SIE programme with the Engineering Accreditation Board, pending for formal approval. Our 1st cohort of our SIE programme graduates are already out in the workforce this year and some are currently in pursue of their post-graduate programme with SIT.

Upon graduation from their Master and have acquired at least 4 years of relevant working experiences in a related work industry, our SIT-SIE graduates (at least 240 credits) will be eligible to apply for their PE registration examinations."

It states that:
"The Master of Engineering Technology in Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) is a 60-credit postgraduate programme for working professionals who are seeking to be a Chartered Engineer (CEng) and/or Professional Engineer (PE). This programme is a mandatory requirement to be eligible for consideration for CEng and PE (Mechanical) in Singapore and UK."
"The MEngTech programme will be seeking professional accreditation from the Engineering Accreditation Board. The first provisional accreditation exercise of the MEngTech with BEng was completed in November 2017."

Does this mean that SIT is now officially the 3rd University in Singapore other than NUS and NTU to allow their graduates to become an official registered Engineer?

Doubt it cause their list nvr say so?

Donburi1

Today afternoon i went to peb to submit my documents for them to do verification, for the electrical fee exam.

Closing date for this year fee is 30 june seen from the website

Any body going for refresher course or studying urself? I haven start studying. Rusty already. Calculator battery also drain finish.

pillow going refresher course? or should we have a study group :D
refresher course need 1k+ if im not wrong

Definitely

Wtf. Your future got so bleak anot? :s22:

Kyoji83

Haha, I can advice you and help you on Security Officer (SO) while you advice and help me on PE (Elect) and LEW if the day come. =:p

Kyoji83

Resident Engineer (RE), Chartered Engineer (CEng) and Professional Engineer (PE) are different type of Engineer in Singapore.

RE is those who are not PE but meet other requirement to be accredited with the IES-JAC when performing supervision of structural works as an accredited site supervisors.

CEng is useless and just good to put inside name card cause no regulation required a CEng.

Did you ask SIT what trade do they apply with PEB Sg for Sustainable Infrastructure Engineering (Land) since it is like a Building Trade that does not fully belong to civil, mechanical or electrical?

It states that:

Kyoji83

Age discrimination is there to stay in Singapore. So he can be freelance PE but not full time Engineer or PE which is the reason why he needs to become a SO for 'mature career switch'.

Wtf. Your future got so bleak anot? :s22:

cherryblossoms

ask u har, during your stardees in NTU EEE, did u take power specialisation?? is it a "must" to take power specialisation in order to be "eligible" to take PE exams (fee, pee)??

because for my case, if i want to take the module "power electronics" i will need extra 4months. that 4months (1 trimester) just for 1 module.
thinking of swapping out with other modules to grad earlier but not sure if peb will look into what modules im taking before allowing me to take.

mypillowtalks

ask u har, during your stardees in NTU EEE, did u take power specialisation?? is it a "must" to take power specialisation in order to be "eligible" to take PE exams (fee, pee)??

because for my case, if i want to take the module "power electronics" i will need extra 4months. that 4months (1 trimester) just for 1 module.
thinking of swapping out with other modules to grad earlier but not sure if peb will look into what modules im taking before allowing me to take.
Yes i took the power specialisation.

I think there is no need to be of power specialisation to go for fee exam. I dun rmb any thing on specialisation. Only the degree n uni. Better to email or call peb to ask, their info more accurate than mine :s13:

Some of my friends didnt take ee4532 power electronics too. They took software engineering instead.

I took power electronics. Interesting module. Some find it difficult. But this module helped me understand some electronics of my work better.

ccostagmont

Hi. Thanks for the well wishes.

I saw that the registration is opened, haven't signed up yet.

Are you taking or alreadya PE ?

Yes, I understand it is just a start, I'm lucky to have a few PEs n LEW9s as my supervisors, so just trying my luck. Lots of things to learn for LV & HT. I'm electrical branch, so PE is min. requirement for LEW9, hopefully 20 years later can get...

Currently in power engineering field, have chance to do some work related to LEW.

u can do it in under 4 years la... pe(elect.)...

ccostagmont

Hi, first time poster here.

I just wanted to add that I recently graduated with a MSc in Structural Engineering from the University of Birmingham, but my BSc in Civil Engineering is unfortunately not accredited/recognized by PEB. I am searching for a job now, but I guess that non-accreditation is really killing all my chances at finding a job related to this industry right now (and that MSc isn't improving my chances like I hope it would).

Too bad I only realized this a little too late and I admit that I have not done enough homework on this topic before I went for the BSc, and this thread came a few years too late as well :s13:. Regardless for those of you with the experience and knowledge towards such matters and the engineering industry, may I ask if there is still a way to get around this problem (aside from returning to school again)? Or should I just give up trying to find work in this industry and move on?

give up.....

cherryblossoms

Yes i took the power specialisation.

I think there is no need to be of power specialisation to go for fee exam. I dun rmb any thing on specialisation. Only the degree n uni. Better to email or call peb to ask, their info more accurate than mine

Some of my friends didnt take ee4532 power electronics too. They took software engineering instead.

I took power electronics. Interesting module. Some find it difficult. But this module helped me understand some electronics of my work better.

ok thanks, will double check with peb.
just to take that module will cost me 5k (module fee) + 6k accom + 1.6k food and 4months worth of salary loss. sibei bo hua

KirinFrost

I just wanted to add that I recently graduated with a MSc in Structural Engineering from the University of Birmingham, but my BSc in Civil Engineering is unfortunately not accredited/recognized by PEB. I am searching for a job now, but I guess that non-accreditation is really killing all my chances at finding a job related to this industry right now (and that MSc isn't improving my chances like I hope it would).

Too bad I only realized this a little too late and I admit that I have not done enough homework on this topic before I went for the BSc, and this thread came a few years too late as well :s13:. Regardless for those of you with the experience and knowledge towards such matters and the engineering industry, may I ask if there is still a way to get around this problem (aside from returning to school again)? Or should I just give up trying to find work in this industry and move on?

civil engineering from uni of birmingham is accepted by peb here

but i noticed that its BEng (Hons) and not BSc....

did you type wrongly or theres really a diff degree? :o:o:o

Kyoji83

You do not needs to take power module in NTU & NUS BEng (Elect) but you will not be prepare for PEB Exam.

At Elect Tech Licence level, SP DipEEE will needs to have power modules or else not recognized by EMA.

Kyoji83

It is complicated because it depend on the country, university and professional bodies. In country like UK, most of the universities allow them to exit in very stage of studies such as 1st year will be CertHE & 2nd year will be DipHE.

In UK, BEng (Hons) is a 3 years course while MEng is a 4 year course. Similar in Australia, BTech is a 3 years course while BEng (Hons) is a 4 year course. Professional bodies may not recognized a 3 years degree as 'undergraduate' level and discount it as associate degree / diploma level. Some older university may use only traditional name like BSc for science related degree like engineering and BA for art related degree like business.

Juss1989 did not mention where he get his BSc in Civil Engineering from but MSc in Structural Engineering from the University of Birmingham is not recognized by PEB Sg.

civil engineering from uni of birmingham is accepted by peb here

but i noticed that its BEng (Hons) and not BSc....

did you type wrongly or theres really a diff degree? :o:o:o

cherryblossoms

Too bad I only realized this a little too late and I admit that I have not done enough homework on this topic before I went for the BSc, and this thread came a few years too late as well
. Regardless for those of you with the experience and knowledge towards such matters and the engineering industry, may I ask if there is still a way to get around this problem (aside from returning to school again)? Or should I just give up trying to find work in this industry and move on?

can elaborate more where u did your bsc and msc? confirm is bsc and not beng? :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.