Phase 2A lousy

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Mountainnodew

Many parents also aim their kids to go into their own alma mater branded schs, and many dont mind driving 10-15km daily for this. Thats y roads are always jam durin sch term lol

Anyway.. Ts u got chance at 2A.. Mine is 2C lor. I juz wanna go to the neighbourhood sch right next to my estate cos it's so near, like 100m only. But that sch has mk and also quite popular

The school near my house also got mk but not that popular. Hope can use it for phase 2C n swee Swee get in.

Mountainnodew

Boh bian, didn't get it then have to take school bus or you ownself send/drive your son to the school.
If no car and not too far then send him on foot then go work in the morning.

I also been through that.

No point traveling so far for a primary school. It will tired the child and the child will sleep in class. Parent also frustrated n need to wake up early. It’s a torturing journey.

spyder81

Today I got the result. My boy didn’t get in to Sengkang Green Pri sch under phase 2A. I’m super upset and depressed and angry. The thought of it still made me agitated 😡. It does not mean that what you sow, you will reap especially in sinkie.
Mine alumni good every year I see have enough for all, then 2b 2c left some others to fight it out.

coyote

my kid is registering this year and when i was inquiring MOE on the distance thing i found out something shocking to me ...

if people want to game the 1km thing , as long as their IC address reflects that , it can be used to gain the advantage.

then i thought to myself, why there is no underground market for people selling their address for a fee to abuse this ?

say for example, in the hdb block next to a popular school. a family of 3 or DINKS can get paid maybe $2000 to let another family tag their nric address to theirs without moving in , just so they can use the address. It can even be under the pretense that i am staying in my friend / relative house.

you may say , oh government subsidies or handouts might be affected by the number of headcount in a flat but these are small amounts compared to what kiasu parents are willing to do to get their children into a "good" school , they will be more then willing to top up that few hundred dollars.

In the past , i see the news always say MOE want to prevent abuse of this distance base registration to make it fair and i just take it as face value cause i didn't really look too deep into it but it doesn't seem like it ...

jail and fine is a reactive action and depends heavily on paotoh kia , people will ride their luck for that 2.5 years if they really want to ....

Brother, it may not be apparent to you but your scheme isn't that much necessary. HDB and even condo has a maximum occupancy of 6. Say you only 4 in your family. The moment another "non-related" registering as tenants, you need to register with HDB. No so much for condo which only need to register with mcst.

You will want to collect rentals from this extra 3 tenants for 2 years. It's a legal things to do. No need to hide.

That's why some near to good school homes are selling like hot cakes and highly sought after.

Mountainnodew

Mk = moe kindergarten. That entitles the child to try for phase 2A.

Pretty sure TS is going to vote opposition in the next GE.

I tried applying for PV to a popular school after being pressurised by my wife. Staying within 1km. I'm born and raised here. I have a decent job. School replied that my volunteer application was rejected. Wife still wants to try for 2C even when statistics show there is only a 30% chance for success.

I have quarreled with her so regularly on this issue of school selection that we have come close to divorcing. She wants a top 5 school despite being Malaysian and never having spent a single day of her education here. I told her to be realistic because I was brought up in this system and I'm not a gambler. But ultimately we will still try for 2C as she wants, because the last thing I want is a broken home for my daughter.

Why do some people not want kids? Partly because of stress like this.

Missed the chance to do PV but I’m totally max up. If I still do PV and can’t get in thru phase 2B, it’s really all hell break lose. Take care of your marriage first. If your child can study, he can study anywhere he is planted in.

Emperor_Hippo

Today I got the result. My boy didn’t get in to Sengkang Green Pri sch under phase 2A. I’m super upset and depressed and angry. The thought of it still made me agitated 😡. It does not mean that what you sow, you will reap especially in sinkie.
Ok, so your kid didn't get a confirmed spot at Sengkang Green Primary School.

BIG EFFING DEAL?!

Means what? Ur kid is destined for failure, he will never goto a good Secondary School, all world had ended, it's finished, gone case, die, mati, sayonara. You might as well pull him outta primary school and then wait until he's 14, then he can go McDonalds to work until he gets his license at 18, then do PHV Grab until his savings hit 1 million.

Try for Phase 2C for the same or another school lah! Worst case scenario, if it's further away just bao school bus or drive your kid up and down lah. Goodness me. Are Millennial parents so friggin' helpless these days until they don't know how to do contingency planning har?!

Darth_Yang

Try 2B ba...

Soracak

UT0PfrW.gif

Emperor_Hippo

Mk = moe kindergarten. That entitles the child to try for phase 2A.

Pretty sure TS is going to vote opposition in the next GE.

I tried applying for PV to a popular school after being pressurised by my wife. Staying within 1km. I'm born and raised here. I have a decent job. School replied that my volunteer application was rejected. Wife still wants to try for 2C even when statistics show there is only a 30% chance for success.

I have quarreled with her so regularly on this issue of school selection that we have come close to divorcing. She wants a top 5 school despite being Malaysian and never having spent a single day of her education here. I told her to be realistic because I was brought up in this system and I'm not a gambler. But ultimately we will still try for 2C as she wants, because the last thing I want is a broken home for my daughter.

Why do some people not want kids? Partly because of stress like this.
I hate to say it, but your wife epic kumgong or she is definitely one of those "Aiyah, I never study for test" then end up getting 100% kind of see-bee-kia.

1) Go good school? Yah, in the first place, u know how the school maintain their standard as good or top school? HOMEWORK, TESTS, REVIEWS, ASSIGNMENTS. I see alot of kumgong parents push kid for "good school, good school" then end up, "Aiyoh! Why my poor child got so many homework?! I see very kesian, why must heavens do this to my poor beautiful child?!?!?!?! Must be PAP!!! Must be MOE!!! I complain the school!!!!"

2) Sometimes, some people would just wanna 逆天改命 one, even if it's forcing square pegs into round holes.
My suggestion is, go sign up PV. But sign up only mah, you don't do and don't go loh. Make your 2B chances drop to 0%. Then on Phase 2C, put the true logical choice that you know is a good fit match as choice 1, this school 2nd choice, then ka gin hit submit. Settled.

3) Sometimes, makes me wonder if jiu hu kias really know WTF is going on in our System. I know some jiuhu kia or JHB parents personally. Other kids kena bully or have extra homework, go and do some stupiak action like writing long grandmother story letter, wan to see CCTV, wan to complain MOE, wan to complain school, etc.

All schools got their got system to manage those bully or what 'things' that's dictated by the Principal. Every school is different, make sure you know the school's policy where possible, tok to teachers, tok to PSG parent volunteers on the ground, tok to other students where possible.

The teachers, PSG volunteers and students way of response can easily tell you what kinda school it is.

Mountainnodew

my kid is registering this year and when i was inquiring MOE on the distance thing i found out something shocking to me ...

if people want to game the 1km thing , as long as their IC address reflects that , it can be used to gain the advantage.

then i thought to myself, why there is no underground market for people selling their address for a fee to abuse this ?

It’s very risky. Need to stay for 30 months before can shift out. Then if the cat is out of the bag, the child can’t study that school anymore.

say for example, in the hdb block next to a popular school. a family of 3 or DINKS can get paid maybe $2000 to let another family tag their nric address to theirs without moving in , just so they can use the address. It can even be under the pretense that i am staying in my friend / relative house.

you may say , oh government subsidies or handouts might be affected by the number of headcount in a flat but these are small amounts compared to what kiasu parents are willing to do to get their children into a "good" school , they will be more then willing to top up that few hundred dollars.

In the past , i see the news always say MOE want to prevent abuse of this distance base registration to make it fair and i just take it as face value cause i didn't really look too deep into it but it doesn't seem like it ...

jail and fine is a reactive action and depends heavily on paotoh kia , people will ride their luck for that 2.5 years if they really want to ....

Emperor_Hippo

Yah. can 'game'. But got criteria hor.

Ur kid needs to stay at the address reflected in BOTH parents NRIC for at least 30 months hor.

Yah. You got guts you go try.

What's the worst thing? Kid kena booted out and force change to a school that reflects the correct distance.
Yah. You wanna test the System?

People are that level gian png, you don't know meh? "For that few hundred dollars a year"? Most people have the mentality of "I don't wanna touch my cash reserves as much as possible, if got additional cash/voucher equivalent revenue in, I'll burn that stash first."

Reactive action, but deadly. You sure you wanna go jail simply because you falsely declared NRIC address + run the risk of your child getting booted and force transfer out?

MOE got their ways of catching. Don't try them.

SkyNinja

You didn't try to appeal?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.