Phase 2A lousy

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

AndroidComa

Sorry for you. Yes i feel this MK game is dumb too. Especially in new estates. The current curriculum of MK is not really fantastic too. People send kids to MK to secure 2A but now its so fully sub.

Any plans for 2C school? Tbh i feel you should consider Northshore pri in Punggol. It's Really not bad and 2C likely sure in. But you go plan and think your logistics.
i think govt see many parents dump their SK punggol BTO for schs
that;s why come out with this plan, to delay the dumping effect for another 3-4 years

AndroidComa

Heard a foreigner parent who got his kid into a very popular Chinese primary school. Only after securing a place, the parent realised there are hardly non chinese in the school then decided to change the kid to another school. Wasted a place in this school sia.
no arh
the 1st person on the waitlist will get the call to transfer the kid in
popular schools where got waste one
their waitlist is like few A4 pages long and expires every AY

AndroidComa

Mk = moe kindergarten. That entitles the child to try for phase 2A.

Pretty sure TS is going to vote opposition in the next GE.

I tried applying for PV to a popular school after being pressurised by my wife. Staying within 1km. I'm born and raised here. I have a decent job. School replied that my volunteer application was rejected. Wife still wants to try for 2C even when statistics show there is only a 30% chance for success.

I have quarreled with her so regularly on this issue of school selection that we have come close to divorcing. She wants a top 5 school despite being Malaysian and never having spent a single day of her education here. I told her to be realistic because I was brought up in this system and I'm not a gambler. But ultimately we will still try for 2C as she wants, because the last thing I want is a broken home for my daughter.

Why do some people not want kids? Partly because of stress like this.
strange. most malaysians will say chin chye any sch also can cos u see they never come from top 5 sch also successful

kyokoto

Ts is Mk. Already mentioned.
Ic... I didn't know MOE Kindergarten got such thing to allow priority for Phase 2A now.

My children are a bit older so the only time I balloted was when my elder child had to enter Primary 1, like 8 years ago. We went under phase 2A1 (Alumni), it's more or less guaranteed also just pay money to maintain alumni status only - think they readjusted this phase. Sibiling went under Phase 1.

But shag... even Phase 2A now also cannot get a place is damn shag.

I_am_bored

Mk = moe kindergarten. That entitles the child to try for phase 2A.

Pretty sure TS is going to vote opposition in the next GE.

I tried applying for PV to a popular school after being pressurised by my wife. Staying within 1km. I'm born and raised here. I have a decent job. School replied that my volunteer application was rejected. Wife still wants to try for 2C even when statistics show there is only a 30% chance for success.

I have quarreled with her so regularly on this issue of school selection that we have come close to divorcing. She wants a top 5 school despite being Malaysian and never having spent a single day of her education here. I told her to be realistic because I was brought up in this system and I'm not a gambler. But ultimately we will still try for 2C as she wants, because the last thing I want is a broken home for my daughter.

Why do some people not want kids? Partly because of stress like this.
your wife kanna peer pressure.. quite normal.
just let her try lo, bopian. if not endless.

AndroidComa

Top primary sch produces at best 33% or so of single AL achievers that go to IP/IB sec sch.

My niece from NH also go normal stream. Her classmates will ask... Why are you here..

Just find a school that suits your child learning profile.
on hindsight can say that
when the child is 6 years old how many years of observing the child's learning profile the parent got?
with 2B and 2A route even shorter (at 4 yo or yougner the parent need to lock down on the learning profile lioa)... everything is almost a 'gamble'

hachi

on hindsight can say that
when the child is 6 years old how many years of observing the child's learning profile the parent got?
with 2B and 2A route even shorter (at 4 yo or yougner the parent need to lock down on the learning profile lioa)... everything is almost a 'gamble'
Environment factors as well. My house is locationed between 3 primary schools. All 3 school around 1km.

Then just volunteered and aim for the better one. Since there were only 2 bto... Just go in and sign the form... Don't need to ballot.. Now with so many btos around...
My neighbour 2b and 2c also cannot get in.. Go to the next choice and one fine day his daughter why they are not from a certain religion...

I advise him to try again at p3 coz there kids going to GEP. There will be vacancy.
That sch each year produce around 20% single AL achievers... Not too bad..

maikumgong

Ic... I didn't know MOE Kindergarten got such thing to allow priority for Phase 2A now.

My children are a bit older so the only time I balloted was when my elder child had to enter Primary 1, like 8 years ago. We went under phase 2A1 (Alumni), it's more or less guaranteed also just pay money to maintain alumni status only - think they readjusted this phase. Sibiling went under Phase 1.

But shag... even Phase 2A now also cannot get a place is damn shag.
Wow you song song gao jurong lah. Alumni in the past was 包吃

AndroidComa

Environment factors as well. My house is locationed between 3 primary schools. All 3 school around 1km.

Then just volunteered and aim for the better one. Since there were only 2 bto... Just go in and sign the form... Don't need to ballot.. Now with so many btos around...
My neighbour 2b and 2c also cannot get in.. Go to the next choice and one fine day his daughter why they are not from a certain religion...

I advise him to try again at p3 coz there kids going to GEP. There will be vacancy...
volunteered and aim for the better one = u said it... that's why many parents 'plan and work toward'...

there is no-way to "Just find a school that suits your child learning profile."

anyways, any year also can try and go waitlist to change school one, the only problem is got anyone withdraw to give u that seat or not and also, how 'close you are to the sch admin'

i think some sch even waitlist, also got interview one

hachi

volunteered and aim for the better one = u said it... that's why many parents 'plan and work toward'...

there is no-way to "Just find a school that suits your child learning profile."

anyways, any year also can try and go waitlist to change school one, the only problem is got anyone withdraw to give u that seat or not and also, how 'close you are to the sch admin'

i think some sch even waitlist, also got interview one
I believe this is the only thing parents can do...

Sec school hard lo... Some invested thousands on tuitions... Still cannot get to the sch they wanted...

I always said... I rather drive than send them for tuitions... We guide them ourselves.

kyokoto

Wow you song song gao jurong lah. Alumni in the past was 包吃
IKR... $200 just pay 1 time only don't need to worry. Somemore the school is a top school because some websites used to list all the top 10 schools in Singapore. My mum's a genius.... we always tell her that she had good foresight to send me to that school many years ago.

hachi

my counsin’s wife jiuhu kia, only demanded branded schhool, know more than any of our sinkie in the family. You say leh
Branded is one thing... Can your child keep up... Especially after P5.. My nephew suddenly at P5, all subjects scoring suddenly drop... He send him for tuitions for all subjects.

My mum seen all 3 families of her kids... I am the only one without tuitions and spend time with my kids... Others spend money...

kyokoto

I believe this is the only thing parents can do...

Sec school hard lo... Some invested thousands on tuitions... Still cannot get to the sch they wanted...

I always said... I rather drive than send them for tuitions... We guide them ourselves.
Sending your child to a good Primary school is the parents duty. But as long as the parents did their best, it's enough because the rest is up to chance.

Getting to a good Secondary school, JC, Poly, and University however, is the child's duty.

So parents should not blame themselves if their kids didn't do well and couldn't get to a "good" school after that.

maikumgong

Branded is one thing... Can your child keep up... Especially after P5.. My nephew suddenly at P5, all subjects scoring suddenly drop... He send him for tuitions for all subjects.

My mum seen all 3 families of her kids... I am the only one without tuitions and spend time with my kids... Others spend money...
They made it to the top sec and doing ok. Now i dunno

endlssorrow

Tot birth rate drop
No one gives birth snynore
And yet can’t get into school?

AndroidComa

Tot birth rate drop
No one gives birth snynore
And yet can’t get into school?
year year top up
no need to scare sure max out one
but actually it is not the end of the world if u kanne ballot out in the earlier stage cos unlike maybe 10 years ago, where there are not that many reserved positions, there are now many more reserved positions for you to apply
of course the parents who play with fire and gamble is also more lah

Tschuus

PR should be the last priority unless the child is Singaporean. If PR child also get in, the schoolis not that popular
Bukit timah school branded school . Of course for that year it wasn’t popular. But sinkies dont know it wasnt and did not apply. PR smarter.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.