Phase 2A lousy

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

ZacharyA

Trying to get a kid into the primary school of their choice is like having to move mountains. We know it is not possible to move mountains, so we move ourselves to be nearer the mountain.

There is a phrase, but I shall not type it out.

Does that phrase include a prophet named Mohamad?

alvincy

Even during my time when i was picking up my kid from primary school, i could see there are some many foreigners (could be new citizen or PR) picking up their kids as well.

This is really getting out of hands. How many china born new citizens we have in Spore now? Everywhere i go seems like i can see hear china people.

drkcynic

I have shared before... when I went to the edusave award this year, I had seen plenty of "foreigner" kids in top schools like NYPS, MGS, RGPS etc...

These people are citizens like you and me.

If some people think chill la, every school is a "good school", new citizens are just going to take the spots for the real elite schools.

hachi

I have shared before... when I went to the edusave award this year, I had seen plenty of "foreigner" kids in top schools like NYPS, MGS, RGPS etc...

These people are citizens like you and me.

If some people think chill la, every school is a "good school", new citizens are just going to take the spots for the real elite schools.
Without new citizens, will your kids be able or more chances to go to those elite schools? As long your child is able to reach the cut off point.. I don't think anyone is rejected to those schools?

These kids are effectively bilingual.. Unlike most of local kids... The parents would speak to them in English... Making their child harder to master 2nd language...
Right?

hachi

Even during my time when i was picking up my kid from primary school, i could see there are some many foreigners (could be new citizen or PR) picking up their kids as well.

This is really getting out of hands. How many china born new citizens we have in Spore now? Everywhere i go seems like i can see hear china people.
Those are 2nd gen citizens that rooted here.. Their parents are invited to Singapore to study. Got a few friends like this..

drkcynic

Without new citizens, will your kids be able or more chances to go to those elite schools? As long your child is able to reach the cut off point.. I don't think anyone is rejected to those schools?

These kids are effectively bilingual.. Unlike most of local kids... The parents would speak to them in English... Making their child harder to master 2nd language...
Right?
2C got 40 spots, equal balloting chance if within 1km. Just see if some parents want to sacrifice to part take or not only.

But some parents think nevermind la, no chance, or every sch is a good sch, then new citizens will take the spot, as I had witnessed.

tingsters

nan chiau, sengkang green and fern green are popular school and also on the rising is springdale l dub can go in unless u tio toto...
if not u have to chose those non popular school ba..

hachi

2C got 40 spots, equal balloting chance if within 1km. Just see if some parents want to sacrifice to part take or not only.

But some parents think nevermind la, no chance, or every sch is a good sch, then new citizens will take the spot, as I had witnessed.
I would... Like I said.... Primary sch is the only sch that the parents can take part. Other than that... Hard.

sk0065

Trying to get a kid into the primary school of their choice is like having to move mountains. We know it is not possible to move mountains, so we move ourselves to be nearer the mountain.

There is a phrase, but I shall not type it out.
孟母三迁 is a banned phrase here Meh?

bluerhino

She's only 4 yo now. The battle for a place starts 3 years before actual primary one so if you're having a kid do take note... Schools all have different parent volunteer application dates, have to camp their website for when it's open because the window is short.
Parent volunteer is not reliable one. Sometimes you see 50 parents wanting to be volunteer but the school intake is only 2-3 volunteers. Better to try for grassroots.

bluerhino

I would... Like I said.... Primary sch is the only sch that the parents can take part. Other than that... Hard.
Primary school got downstream impact. Some schools got secondary affiliation and the affiliated secondary school got JC affiliation. So choosing the right primary school means don’t need to stress so much at psle and o levels. Your grandkids will also be phase 2a in the future. Only parents who missed the deadline or who didn’t do enough would self console say primary school not so important.

sk0065

She moved house 3 times for the sake of her child education. Was quoted by PM Lee many years ago in his National Day Rally speech.
I’m sure we learnt that story from our primary sch Chinese teacher - before the NDR speech la.

ZacharyA

Primary school got downstream impact. Some schools got secondary affiliation and the affiliated secondary school got JC affiliation. So choosing the right primary school means don’t need to stress so much at psle and o levels. Your grandkids will also be phase 2a in the future. Only parents who missed the deadline or who didn’t do enough would self console say primary school not so important.

Yes, one example is KCPPS -> KCPSS -> SAJC

sk0065

I’m Kiasu but purposely chose my kids’ pri sch without secondary sch affiliation.

the child needs to toughen up by p6 la.
No point provide safety net until JC.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.