Pioneer Plasma Thread

jeffong

petetherock said:
I think someone has a faulty "2" on their keyboard, or they are about to dissapoint many aiming for a $999 Pioneer when they withdraw that claim....

Pete, if it's really going for $999, I will not hesistate to buy the whole lot and resell it for $1k profit each. I'm sure it will move like hotcakes and I can then use that profit to buy the Pioneer 60" Full HD. :)

petetherock

Likewise jeff, so applefreak, which shop is this?
I will personally get 3 sets once you let me know where it is ;)

Treble

jeffong said:
Pete, if it's really going for $999, I will not hesistate to buy the whole lot and resell it for $1k profit each. I'm sure it will move like hotcakes and I can then use that profit to buy the Pioneer 60" Full HD. :)

dun think you can profit anything with such a jump floor goods...lol!

applefreak

it's HN as in Harvey Norman for the first 50 sets
it's in the sat papers i think
weekend papers always got this kind of deal
but that's provided if you are willing to go queue early early to buy :D

cal127

999$$ really sound fishy...u sure they are refurbished :D

Treble

applefreak said:
it's HN as in Harvey Norman for the first 50 sets
it's in the sat papers i think
weekend papers always got this kind of deal
but that's provided if you are willing to go queue early early to buy :D

none reported bought......

and i tell you, they dun have so much stocks on hand to play this kind of trick....

WhiteShadows

Any ideas where is a good place to buy HDMI cables? Is there a need to spend a few hundred dollars on a cable...? Will there be any significant differences? Those $20++ HDMI cables should be sufficient right?

Revuelto

WhiteShadows said:
Any ideas where is a good place to buy HDMI cables? Is there a need to spend a few hundred dollars on a cable...? Will there be any significant differences? Those $20++ HDMI cables should be sufficient right?

Go to Sim Lim Tower lor... I'm going next week to get a few to conceal into my walls for my year end Project LCD/Plasma :s13: As long as you dun get monster cable then it's good enough... But i also have one qns on the HDMI cable... Is it necessary to get HDMI 1.3 complimant??? Need advise from gurus here...

HardCORE

WhiteShadows said:

HDMI cables carry a digital signal - similar to an ethernet network or usb cable. Any decent cheap cable is good enough. Buying a few hundred dollar HDMI cable will not make any difference to the picture or sound quality compared to a cheap decent cable.

petetherock

Bro, unless you can show this, I would not generalise....

I wouldn't go overboard on cables, but there is a difference

HardCORE said:
HDMI cables carry a digital signal - similar to an ethernet network or usb cable. Any decent cheap cable is good enough. Buying a few hundred dollar HDMI cable will not make any difference to the picture or sound quality compared to a cheap decent cable.

HardCORE

petetherock said:
Bro, unless you can show this, I would not generalise....
I wouldn't go overboard on cables, but there is a difference

Hi peter, its true. Its the nature of digital signals which if you could look at the voltage of the signal, would be "square waves" with only 2 levels - either a low level (0) or high level (1) to represent the data bits. So the transmitter (DVD player, etc.) sends the 0s and 1s in the form of square waves and the receiver (TV) only needs to be able to recognize the square waves to indentify the 0s and 1s again.

So, it either works and you get video and sound - in the case of good/okay cables - or it just doesnt work at all if the cable is faulty or "bad enough" such that the square wave signal gets corrupted sufficiently that the receiver end (the TV) cannot interpret the digital 0s and 1s, then you completely dont get video/sound or you can see very obviously that something is wrong (green dots all over the screen, dropouts in the video/audio, etc.).

The only time I've seen a HDMI/DVI cable not working properly is when they are extremely long (around a hundred metres or more) in which case you just need one or more repeaters which receive and retransmit the signal. This is very similar to USB, Firewire or ethernet cables, or any other cable carrying digital signals for that matter.

The only advantage of a higher quality HDMI cable I can think of, is better shielding for resistance to Electromagnetic Interference coming in/out of the cable... which theoretically may interefere or degrade your wireless network, radio reception or hi-fi audio equipment performance.

The benefits of higher quality AV cables is really only applicable to cables that carry an analog signal, like speaker cables or analog interconnects, for example VGA, RF, composite, S-Video or component video cables.

So, I would say that only try a better/more expensive HDMI or DVI cable if your cheap one doesnt work or has a visible problem.

petetherock

Again, unless you can show there is No difference, I wouldn't generalise.

Such a claim needs to be substantiated.

Such as in a blind cross over test.

I don't sell cables, so I don't have any hidden agenda, but you are putting your opinion as fact in a public forum where newbies may accept your words as those of an expert.

HardCORE said:
Hi peter, its true. Its the nature of digital signals which if you could look at the voltage of the signal, would be "square waves" with only 2 levels - either a low level (0) or high level (1) to represent the data bits. So the transmitter (DVD player, etc.) sends the 0s and 1s in the form of square waves and the receiver (TV) only needs to be able to recognize the square waves to indentify the 0s and 1s again.

So, it either works and you get video and sound - in the case of good/okay cables - or it just doesnt work at all if the cable is faulty or "bad enough" such that the square wave signal gets corrupted sufficiently that the receiver end (the TV) cannot interpret the digital 0s and 1s, then you completely dont get video/sound or you can see very obviously that something is wrong (green dots all over the screen, dropouts in the video/audio, etc.).

So, I would say that only try a better/more expensive HDMI or DVI cable if your cheap one doesnt work or has a visible problem.

sAxman_Returns

newbies? then it doesn't really matter to them, even if there is a SLIGHT difference.

the key thing is the length........I deal with industrial PC, VGA vs DVI, why DVI is better? coz it can travel longer, and coz it's running on Digital Signal (not the DVI analogue version). And when the distance is very long(still, subjective to scenarios), the better the "insulation" of the cable, the better "efficiency" the cable, you get "better" output. However, the 1-5% improvement in video output may not be important at all.

HardCORE

sAxman_Returns said:
newbies? then it doesn't really matter to them, even if there is a SLIGHT difference.

the key thing is the length........I deal with industrial PC, VGA vs DVI, why DVI is better? coz it can travel longer, and coz it's running on Digital Signal (not the DVI analogue version). And when the distance is very long(still, subjective to scenarios), the better the "insulation" of the cable, the better "efficiency" the cable, you get "better" output. However, the 1-5% improvement in video output may not be important at all.

What you observe is exactly what would happen, DVI and HDMI use the same digital signalling technology called TMDS (Transition Minimized Differential Signalling).

VGA uses an analog RGBHV video signal (similar to component cables).

All cables when they become very long, are susceptible to electromagnetic interference or "noise", and the gradual weakening of the signal strength. The better the cable's shielding or "insulation", the better it can withstand the electromagnetic interference. The better the cable's "efficiency", the better it can preserve the strength of the signal it is carrying.

For analog signals, the longer the cable gets, the more the picture quality degrades *gradually* (it becomes less sharp, there is visible noise or shadowing in the picture).

For digital signals, the longer the cable gets, the higher the chance that the receiving end will not be able to receive the digital signal without any corruption of the data. If the digital signal is not degraded more than a certain threshold, then the receiver will be able to show the video perfectly clearly as if the cable was short. Past a certain threshold of interference, the picture quality suddenly becomes a lot worse (lots of noise in the picture, or corruption of picture, or picture sometimes on and off). Then past another threshold of interference, there will be no picture at all.

This is not based on personal opinion or conjecture, but is based on electronics and physics. I guess the point I would like to make is - dont eagerly go spending huge amounts of money on "premiere" HDMI cables, when based on science, it will probably make no difference to the picture quality. Still, I havent found any definitive A-B tests and I certainly have no expensive HDMI cable to compare with the "cheap" one that I use. ;) Still, as Peter mentioned, this being a public forum, dont take what I say as being the ultimate truth but rather follow up on it with research on your own - if you are interested that is.

Suffice to say, even a cheap HDMI cable will be able to transmit all of the 1920x1080 pixels at 24/50/60 Hz and the full bits per color. This you can easily test by running some sort of resolution test, like this:

Assuming you have a full hd 1920x1080 TV/monitor, and you have configured it to match the output from HDMI pixel-to-pixel (i.e. you turned off overscan on the TV), you should be able to resolve each and every line individually and they should not "blend" together in any way. The slight "blending" and "rainbow effect" in the picture is due to the camera's resolution.

HardCORE

sAxman_Returns said:
oi? how come it's 1905 only?

Ah, its an old program lah... somehow it doesnt calculate 16:9 as 1920. Strange eh. But you can see the "missing" pixels from the test pattern are on the right hand side which is my Windows desktop. But its still a useful program because it can generate the test patterns to check for 1:1 pixel mapping, and brightness (black level, white level) calibration.

wuga98

hi: does any of the pioneer model plasma have ethernet capability whe if plug to eg. starhub we can surf the web? Thanks

Treble

the only plasma that comes with a built in embedded PC was from Hitachi/Fujitsu if i'm not wrong. But it wasn't popular, coz it cost so much lesser to DIY/Dell.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.