Pioneer Plasma Thread

hdtvsg

i think 50" plasma is rare in hdb flats...max is usually 42"

Well I have 428 in my bedroom 3 room HDB flat and never felt they were overwhleming. My sis-in-law has 42" in living hall in her 5 room HDB flat, I find it way too small. If I want a tv in the living hall, I definitely will go for 50" min or bigger and BIGGER the better ;)

evolute8

Well I have 428 in my bedroom 3 room HDB flat and never felt they were overwhleming. My sis-in-law has 42" in living hall in her 5 room HDB flat, I find it way too small. If I want a tv in the living hall, I definitely will go for 50" min or bigger and BIGGER the better ;)
lol..but 3rm how to put 50" ?

I also intend to get 428xg for my 3rm..saw $2499 at best w/o freebies $2999 with freebies

Did u purchase extended warrarnty ? How much is cost ?

hdtvsg

lol..but 3rm how to put 50" ?

I also intend to get 428xg for my 3rm..saw $2499 at best w/o freebies $2999 with freebies

Did u purchase extended warrarnty ? How much is cost ?

Bought it from HN during PC show period, but not from the show though. I think my price was very reasonable given the extended warranty condition. Paid all up ~$3.1k with 5yrs total extended warranty with free DVD recorder and HDMI cable. Maybe he can give you a better deal. So BD isn't giving you a fantastic deal if you add all up.

Apparently, not all extended warranties are same, so please do read the T&C carefully or get a confirmation from a sale rep for what you are entitled for if anything happens. If you want to buy the same set, PM me I will give you person name to contact. I found him very helpful, has a good knowledge and no pressure to just sell me a tv set.

Please note, I have nothing to do with HN. ;)

evolute8

Bought it from HN during PC show period, but not from the show though. I think my price was very reasonable given the extended warranty condition. Paid all up ~$3.1k with 5yrs total extended warranty with free DVD recorder and HDMI cable. Maybe he can give you a better deal. So BD isn't giving you a fantastic deal if you add all up.

Apparently, not all extended warranties are same, so please do read the T&C carefully or get a confirmation from a sale rep for what you are entitled for if anything happens. If you want to buy the same set, PM me I will give you person name to contact. I found him very helpful, has a good knowledge and no pressure to just sell me a tv set.

Please note, I have nothing to do with HN. ;)
maybe u just let me know which HN outlet u went to...

the extended warranty u purchase is by HN or pioneer ?

sAxman_Returns

Yes it will be last 42" panel made by Pio. From 9G panels, Pio will use their own panels for 50" and above and 42" will be sourced from Panny if my memory is correct.

outsourced, not sourced...... :s22:

9th generation should be the 30K contrast ratio standard lar....this kind of thing, can't run away one deneh.....

hdtvsg

outsourced, not sourced...... :s22:

9th generation should be the 30K contrast ratio standard lar....this kind of thing, can't run away one deneh.....

Haha thanks for correction...you know that "outsourced" is used with object and "sourced" is used without object. :)

I don't believe all those CR. In real world, they are nowhere as near as what manufacturers claim to be.

evolute8

Anyone knows abt the power consumption for the 428xg ? Hope my elec bill dun rocket up once i get the tv..

sAxman_Returns

you want to save electricity? dun buy TV lar, just go to your neighbour's house to watch lor.....or I think some void deck got old people corner, got free TV too.....

buy within your capability, I have seen people cheong so much for a $200K coupe yet not able to support the maintenance lol!

hdtvsg

you want to save electricity? dun buy TV lar, just go to your neighbour's house to watch lor.....or I think some void deck got old people corner, got free TV too.....

buy within your capability, I have seen people cheong so much for a $200K coupe yet not able to support the maintenance lol!

Yes saxman is right. Why bother buying a tv if so concerned about electricity bill. I also don't understand, there are lots of people spend thousands of dollars on tv set yet they buy cheapest dvd players...where is the logic? :s22: If they wish to get the best possible pics and sounds, please get a decent cables and proper AVs and speakers. If space is limited, recommend to go for reasonable 2ch system this will give you sufficient sound effect.

Hahaha...this remind me of a sale guy at BD. :s13: He suggested me to buy lcd instead of plasma, because it uses less electricity. Told him outright, "I am here to buy a tv not to save electricity" and asked him, if you are selling a high performance sports cars, would you tell a potential buyer not to buy it cos high fuel bill and maintenance? He kept quiet =:p

sAxman_Returns

Here is some tips for saving electricity:
1.Use inverter for your fridge, not your aircon!
2.Wash as much clothes as possible per cycle when you use washing machine
3.Use iRobot vacuum cleaner instead of airbag/filter/water-base vacuum cleaner! The cost can be $3 vs $30!!!
4.Use good quality water filter instead of boiling water!
5.Try not to bathe late at night so you can skip the water heater!
6.Buy/rent a high floor house that has big wind everyday! eg, Redhill opp MRT/Marine Parade facing the sea
7.Get a short and neat hair cut so you can throw away your air dryer!
8.Steal electricity outside of your house :s22:
9.and the list goes on......

hdtvsg

My replies are highlighted in reds.

3.Use iRobot vacuum cleaner instead of airbag/filter/water-base vacuum cleaner! The cost can be $3 vs $30!!!
4.Use good quality water filter instead of boiling water! But still needs to boil the water for coffee or tea la. Don't waste a money on useless or pretentious filter unless you want a complete RO system
5.Try not to bathe late at night so you can skip the water heater! Are you meant taking a shower unless you have a bathtub. I always take a cold shower regardless of day and night.
6.Buy/rent a high floor house that has big wind everyday! eg, Redhill opp MRT/Marine Parade facing the sea
7.Get a short and neat hair cut so you can throw away your air dryer! Hair Dryer =:p
8.Steal electricity outside of your house :s22: You are promoting bad stuff :eek:

sAxman_Returns

My replies are highlighted in reds.

4.Use good quality water filter instead of boiling water!But still needs to boil the water for coffee or tea la. Don't waste a money on useless or pretentious filter unless you want a complete RO systemWe are human, not machines, why drink RO? It's meant for last resort like you die die have to recycle used water then RO is safest mah....filters are not expensive what? <USD$200 can get as good quality as diamond water type, I have access to the wholesallers for individual parts.
5.Try not to bathe late at night so you can skip the water heater!Are you meant taking a shower unless you have a bathtub. I always take a cold shower regardless of day and night.How many of us here have a bathtub? I prefer going SPA for such a luxury :s22:
7.Get a short and neat hair cut so you can throw away your air dryer!Hair Dryer Opps....
8.Steal electricity outside of your house :s22: You are promoting bad stuff Your definition of "BAD"?

cscs3

same piece of advice....buy within your budget, buy within your need...and pioneer TV doesn't need to match with Pioneer HT....or you meant HTiB?! :s22:

If you want one remote control to work for all. Then it has to be Pioneer TV and HT.
Otherwise you can pick another brand.

sAxman_Returns

If you want one remote control to work for all. Then it has to be Pioneer TV and HT.
Otherwise you can pick another brand.

why sacrifice SQ and burn your $$$ in the pocket for just little convenience which can be done with universal controller?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.