police selection assessment

slytherin

So I got short listed for direct-entry inspector and received an email to go down for an interview.

Like to check is it very easy to get short listed and the interview process will be very very Long ?

Hey hi

So, how was the interview today? I supposed it was today for you.

Kraken203

i find it so weird they allow malaysian PR to sign on SPF. why not give the spot to locals?

Cause now they desperate for manpower mah. Now sibei jialat sia. My ex-teammates now say take leave also hard. New officers need 6mths training (1 squad maybe 20-30 regulars), but every wk so 5-15 resign. Cannot even cover deficit.

not everyone cut out for studying. its a marathon not a sprint.

True 👍🏻, me too. It’s not how fast u reach, everyone has different pace. But as long as we don’t give up. We will all be where we want. Cheers.

NotThomas

Nah, not gonna do so. Serve finish ICT can liao. Haha. Everyone has different preferences and needs in what they are looking for in a job. If u need money (or got passion) SPF is quite a gd option to start out. They do have existing incentives if u wanna take part-time studies (pay urself, but got exam leave).

But entering spf also means 24/7 on shift. Going overseas even for just a few hrs requires supervisor approval. U will be living a super restrictive life due to all the "What-Ifs" and SOPs tying u down.

Normal shift work is 8am-8pm. There is also diff timings (10am-10pm, etc....) Depends on ur unit. Can have 2 night shifts also. 1st off more for sleeping, 2nd off day mostly burn for ops or training. U wont be having much personal time, hard to meet friends also. (Very little family time also, if ur unit/NPC is cui)

Weakness definitely is direct and upper management. Keep coming out with new methods to "screw" officers up. Alot of the regulars i see all getting rather pissed and thinking of leaving. Most direct supervisors are direct entry INSP, no experience and damm its hard for them to understand whats really happening. (And all these ppl will lead a team in NPC will assume even higher position aft Team Leader stint. Thats why new policies or measures by them 99% is CMI.)

So for those wanting to join, can always give it a go. Its a career that allows u to see alot of things. But 95% of the job now is cleaning up the mess that ppl creates. Only 5% is actual policemen work.

But do allow urself to have a backup plan, in case if u regret bond finish can faster zao. Cheers all.

Lol, you really think that upper management implement policies just to screw officers up? I doubt so, SPF doesn't do things just "for fun" or to "screw people". Maybe if you asked people they will explain the rationale behind their decisions?

As for direct supervisors (TLs) being DE-Insp, with no ground experience. There is a reason why the DTL is a rank and file officer to guide/support the TL, and the team consists of a mixture between young and experienced officers.

And as for the people that complain about leaving, why haven't they done so yet? :s22:

Definitely no organisation is without it's flaws, but SPF isn't as jialat as you make it to be la. Cheers :)

Kraken203

Hahhaha. It’s true that not all policies will have 100% approval from ground. But a lot of changes are not settling well internally because even if officers asked for rationales and changes but up mgt still not willing to change. If u are regular or just ORD from other units maybe u can share ur views?

That’s right. But what if majority of these direct entry-insp aka TLs first few mths learn and act humble. But within 3-6mths all the pattern come out, think they know it all alr and refuse to listen to their team and even f them for going against him/her? 😏 I’ve seen it first hand myself (quite a worrying trend tbh).

Ppl want take money and zao. Majority want to leave but need wait cause they got family to feed and pending opportunities mah. Hahhaha.

Yeah man, no organisation is prefect. Just gonna find a job that one enjoys ok already. For uniformed organisations it will always be autocratic. No matters what knowledge or feedback u give, they will still implement on their end. But majority of it won’t make basic sense for people on the ground who instinctively know it’s not gonna work.

Cheers.

Lol, you really think that upper management implement policies just to screw officers up? I doubt so, SPF doesn't do things just "for fun" or to "screw people". Maybe if you asked people they will explain the rationale behind their decisions?

As for direct supervisors (TLs) being DE-Insp, with no ground experience. There is a reason why the DTL is a rank and file officer to guide/support the TL, and the team consists of a mixture between young and experienced officers.

And as for the people that complain about leaving, why haven't they done so yet? :s22:

Definitely no organisation is without it's flaws, but SPF isn't as jialat as you make it to be la. Cheers :)

roy_411

Timeline for DES Application

This is my timeline for my application for DES

Send in application on Career@gov - 29/05/2019
Invitation for Selection Assessment - 30/05/2019
Selection Assessment - 06/06/2019
Invitation for 2nd Interview - 10/06/2019
2nd Interview - 26/06/2019
Called up for Medical Screening - 11/07/2019
Medical Screening - 18/07/2019
Email of Acceptance from SPF -16/08/2019
Bond signing - 27/08/2019
Enlistment date - 10/09/2019

Hopefully this timeline give you guys a gauge of the duration SPF might take to process your application.
FYI, this is my 3rd time trying for SPF. So those who failed, I recommend you try again if you really had the passion for it, you never try, you would never know. And I am glad I finally got it.
And remember, no news is good news. Means they are taking their time to process your application rather than just straight up not considering you.

Good luck guys!

matey1982

Hopefully this timeline give you guys a gauge of the duration SPF might take to process your application.
FYI, this is my 3rd time trying for SPF. So those who failed, I recommend you try again if you really had the passion for it, you never try, you would never know. And I am glad I finally got it.
And remember, no news is good news. Means they are taking their time to process your application rather than just straight up not considering you.

Good luck guys!

congrats on your good news!

Strawbelly

Good luck guys!

May I ask where did you fail in your previous 2 applications? I have a friend who got rejected without even being offered a chance to attend the SA despite possessing a degree and a Masters. That's for DEI though and he was only a CPL in the army so maybe that's a reason.

SinglePaul

May I ask where did you fail in your previous 2 applications? I have a friend who got rejected without even being offered a chance to attend the SA despite possessing a degree and a Masters. That's for DEI though and he was only a CPL in the army so maybe that's a reason.

After spending so much time, money & effort in getting a master i can't see the logic to join as mata leh..

roy_411

I can't really comment on DEI though because it is a whole different ball game from DES. I heard that DEI application process can take up to a year or so and the selection of candidate is much more stringent.
My first unsuccessful attempt was after I got through 1st interview.
The second unsuccessful attempt was when I wasn't even shortlisted for Selection Assessment.
Then this was my 3rd try.

Strawbelly

After spending so much time, money & effort in getting a master i can't see the logic to join as mata leh..

Cus he from private uni then for psych you need masters to be able to practise it in SG but he also interested in mata
Idk ah it's his choice

NotThomas

Having a masters doesn't mean you have a higher chance of getting in. There are several criteria that a DEI must pass before getting the SA. As for private degree. I know of several senior officers with private degree so I doubt that is the reason :s22:

Strawbelly

Having a masters doesn't mean you have a higher chance of getting in. There are several criteria that a DEI must pass before getting the SA. As for private degree. I know of several senior officers with private degree so I doubt that is the reason :s22:

Could be his rank during NS bah I heard several cases where people below 3SG rank confirm get rejected if they try to sign on regardless of service :eek:

BlackPanther94

Hi guys! Exactly 2 weeks after my selection assessment, I have been called up for a medical screening. Does this mean anything good? One foot into SPF? How to pass medical if there is a away? :s13::s13::s13:

reddevil0728

Hi guys! Exactly 2 weeks after my selection assessment, I have been called up for a medical screening. Does this mean anything good? One foot into SPF? How to pass medical if there is a away? :s13::s13::s13:

It means you still got chance of joining SPF (goes without having to tell you) whether one foot or not, as Long as 2nd foot not in also no point.

How to pass? Don’t have medical issue lor? Goes without saying also

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.