[Poll] For $200,000 course fees; Would u take a 3 year biz degree in Australia or a airline transport pilot licence?

Which course would u take in Australia?

• Biz degree course -3-4 years

Votes: 7 8.5%
  • Flight training leading to ATPL, can join airlines as 2nd or 3rd officer, as co-pilot (ard 2 years)

Votes: 75 91.5%

• Total voters

iPod Jack

Brother, follow your heart. Both are good choices though I'll think the business degree may make you more employable.

Do you have perfect eyesight and little to no motion sickness plus a clean bill of health? These are needed for commercial pilots. If you already failed your health checks on blood pressure, cholesterol or blood sugar, you can forget about flight school unless you intend to be dusting crops in America...commercial airlines have strict health screening criteria according to my pilot friend who kpkb about about getting jobs from airlines in Singapore...he's stranded in Kathmandu now...
Yes, heard of pilots with trashy flying jobs... e.g co pilots in US domestic routes flying budget airlines... which pays ard wat a truck driver there gets

messidona

How many non pilots a year apply to airlines to be pilots?

few hundreds, maybe thousands?

how many actually got in?

10, 20?

and wat do those airlines demand in return?

best of the best cohort, trainees able to withstand 9G, outstanding academic results, talk thru 10 interviews with amdk accents, x ray vision... u get the drift

with ur own money, u can simply just enrol in an internationally recognised flight sch with basic min health requirement... whether can eventually get pilot wings during training is up to u
Can join lousy airlines like air India, indigo. Join air India liao then transfer to scoot

mgx-alander

Moi ns bunkmate went nz massey sch to do flight sch

He got the wings but no sillypore airline wants him

He end up flying pte like bombardier

glarerder

Lets say u got $200k for the course fees, and u r fit to take flying lessons

which course would u choose if goin overseas to study?

P.s Australian flight schools are not competitive, meaning if u got money, certified fit, u can enrol
I'd retire for several years with the 200k or put it in SSB to earn interest. Instant return bruh :o every 6 months

neutralph

P.s Australian flight schools are not competitive, meaning if u got money, certified fit, u can enrol
Make sensible decision based on reality like doing a self-assessment. Do you have what it takes to be in either line? E.g., good business acumen. Don't follow your heart blindly. Ppl tend to misunderstand a warning for an answer...

coolad74

Moi ns bunkmate went nz massey sch to do flight sch

He got the wings but no sillypore airline wants him

He end up flying pte like bombardier
Hard truth, ownself pay is like that one, meaning even if the aptitude falls short, can still pay your way through the program, landing a pilot job with the main airlines also much harder, coz it’s open secret you don’t meet the cut, end up private route.

Also there are many certifications to obtain, all costs money and need to be constantly renewed and updated. Things major airlines will pay for when you are under their cadet pilot program.

Laguna123

Think now going to become a pilot is very competitive? If 40s Liao still got chance to join airline when complete the course?
For buz degree I think will be very hard to get a job, because it’s too generic?

Spike

Your cousin as how old when he took the course?
About 30 or so I think. He completed his training during covid. Couldn't find a job. Was a flight simulator instructor for a year or two before joining Scoot.

XiaoChilli

I wouldnt waste the $200k..
Degree must be less than 50k.
Best is those 3 years or less degree.

Roundtreex

Not so straight forward.

You need to decide if you want to fly for Singapore based Airlines or other foreign based airlines. To fly for Singapore based airline as a Singaporean, you need CAAS pilot licence. If you are Singaporean, went to the USA and obtain a FAA pilot licence, you are not considered qualified.

There are flight schools that issue CAAS accredited licence but generally speaking, Singapore airlines prefer you go through their cadet pilot program.

Obviously for foreign pilots with FAA licence and few thousand hours, this does not apply to them.
The 9G gravity test filtered off a lot of people lol

Joseph12

In.the first place do you have the interest and proficiency to be a pilot

A pilot do have to study & pass technical course and modules
After that they have to study their frigging manual in their working life
Not to mention go for regular training
AND have to be sharp & make snap decisions etc when actually flying

fortunecat

Private pilot licence does not guarantee employment in airlines right? Too high risk. Better to just apply SIA, if can get in good, if cannot then sua do other things

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.