[Poll] For $200,000 course fees; Would u take a 3 year biz degree in Australia or a airline transport pilot licence?

Which course would u take in Australia?

• Biz degree course -3-4 years

Votes: 7 8.5%
  • Flight training leading to ATPL, can join airlines as 2nd or 3rd officer, as co-pilot (ard 2 years)

Votes: 75 91.5%

• Total voters

kitsura

Moi ns bunkmate went nz massey sch to do flight sch

He got the wings but no sillypore airline wants him

He end up flying pte like bombardier
Because the majority of pilot from SG are MY. They will train them and give them job of course they want to make back their investment cost.

Fightfat

Go and read up Captain ong blog.
He is a ex-air force fighter pilot .
According to him , SIA has greatly reduced or not even recruiting rsaf pilot .
The pilot's road path is not so easy even for ex-saf pilot ,so in essence a private pilot license is not even remotely guaranteed to get a airline pilot job .
Better put the $200000 in property..
Haha

WarMage87

Lets say u got $200k for the course fees, and u r fit to take flying lessons

which course would u choose if goin overseas to study?

P.s Australian flight schools are not competitive, meaning if u got money, certified fit, u can enrol
Nowadays degree is not worth much liao in all honesty.

People still take it up cause it's heavily subsidised by the government.

Crooni

pilot

but pls research school reputation and history of acceptance and conversion 1st. commercial airlines dun really like to take in private cos of different standards

commercial trainee high demand, they can pick the perfect candidate and train from scratch

private you pay you fly. less strict on physical/health, education, technical aptitude and procedures

mgx-alander

Private pilot licence does not guarantee employment in airlines right? Too high risk. Better to just apply SIA, if can get in good, if cannot then sua do other things
Not really for sg airlines.. need go apply for airline in pte or overseas

Fightfat

Because the majority of pilot from SG are MY. They will train them and give them job of course they want to make back their investment cost.
You are right , many pilot based in Singapore are from Malaysia.
Why is that so ?
Any idea ,?
Singaporean are not willing to drive bus as captain ,they are also fussy enough not to fly a aeroplane as captain ?

kitsura

You are right , many pilot based in Singapore are from Malaysia.
Why is that so ?
Any idea ,?
Singaporean are not willing to drive bus as captain ,they are also fussy enough not to fly a aeroplane as captain ?
Majority of accountants are from MY too, finance and IT workers from South Asia, other white collar professionals from Middle country. The majority of F&B staff from Philippines and MY. Why is this so?

Because locals all very rich have cat and property don’t need to work.

doratch

P.s Australian flight schools are not competitive, meaning if u got money, certified fit, u can enrol

There is no guarantee that you will be able to get a job after graduated with a biz degree.

But its almost guarantee that one will be able to become a pilot in an airline after you completed your training and got your pilot license.

llx384

Charlie Kirk believes that colleges are a scam. Because a lot of jobs can be done without a degree. And many graduates end up doing jobs that are not related to their degrees. If you want to choose option 1, go for skills based degrees like Medicine. If you want to do business course, you can learn all those stuff online for free. I did a business degree in AU. I can testify to that. You don't need a business degree to start a business or run a business. So if given those two options, I would go for pilot license since it is a skill and you will need that to be a pilot.

titusilvering

You think got airlines sure hire you?

titusilvering

but can get into international airlines or not?
Wait they only want their own trainees.

But if can get into international airlines like SIA, i think $200k pilot license more worth it
Sq already got their own pool of selected which follow their training.

Those who obtain their own license doesn't mean sure pass interview or even the conversion. Because newly graduated elsewhere probably lack experience. In the airline they often say what attitude and aptitude

0218crawford

neither. :(

fry plane is risky and hi stress. don just see the glamor.
take uni bus degree is waste time. soft skills. utube and Mr Market are some of the best teachers.

titusilvering

neither. :(

fry plane is risky and hi stress. don just see the glamor.
take uni bus degree is waste time. soft skills. utube and Mr Market are some of the best teachers.
Actually if TS really interested in aviation industry.

Better go study become aircraft engineer then take flying as leisure clocking ppl or cpl level is enough.

Aircraft engineer highly paid and cfm got job.

Then apply SIA be cadet. If can pass selection mean destined. If can't pass nvm still be aircraft engineer.

Usually if working for SIA as engineer liao cross over be cadet pilot is good chance.

If failed the cadet program and return work as engineer also ok

Visor9999

Pilot is easy job these days. Plane is always on auto pilot most of the time

spyder81

Not so straight forward.

You need to decide if you want to fly for Singapore based Airlines or other foreign based airlines. To fly for Singapore based airline as a Singaporean, you need CAAS pilot licence. If you are Singaporean, went to the USA and obtain a FAA pilot licence, you are not considered qualified.

There are flight schools that issue CAAS accredited licence but generally speaking, Singapore airlines prefer you go through their cadet pilot program.

Obviously for foreign pilots with FAA licence and few thousand hours, this does not apply to them.
I felt a lot of such professional jobs have very high bar in costs to be certified and also the qualifications made it anti competitive, this can also be said for legal or medical field to practice in sg.

the correct way is to get certified overseas, in this case get the overseas pilot qualifications, work overseas then if you want to come back, you are well qualified.

the answer is the authority has already considered that and most won’t return to work so effectively they either look for 3rd world or reserve the lucrative ones for their own.

a disgrace if you ask me, shutting paths for many with skills and dreams but no $$$. Nope those 1 or 2 CSR cadets in the class don’t count.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.