Poly Laptop

trenzterra

Don’t recommend you go for Acer. Acer is poor with reliability issues. Would recommend try Asus or Lenovo or Dell instead

I am just wondering, this is from recent experience or long long ago reputation?

I've had reliability issues with Asus and Lenovo too so I wonder if it's just a perception thing

zeblues

Not worth the price for such specs. For this price can buy i7 already
Furthermore yours is 8th gen. Can get 10th gen swift 3 at this price

I just bought the following laptop from challenger for $1298
- 15.6" LCD
- 1kg
- 16GB ram
- 500GB NVMe SSD
- 2 yrs warranty

its Acer Swift 5 with i5-8265 processor

ChaosPaladin

after reading the thread here, really interested in the lenovo T495S. any promo code to make the price cheaper? or must talk with the chat agent and get the promo code?

tutonic

after reading the thread here, really interested in the lenovo T495S. any promo code to make the price cheaper? or must talk with the chat agent and get the promo code?

The promo code is auto-applied when you order through Lenovo official website for Singapore. No extra steps needed. Just remember to not top up for the Ryzen 7 since it offers no discernible advantage over the Ryzen 5. So no point waste money. Also, remember to upgrade downwards the camera option. By default, it'll select the IR camera one, but already got fingerprint reader, so no point use IR camera. The normal camera got thinkpad privacy shutter, the IR one doesn't.

Slowdown

My son recently bought his laptop for Poly. We considered both the laptops offered by the Poly's vendors and outside laptop. We finally settled on the Dell Inspiron 14 7000 for $1680 which we gotten from SLS as the shop has ready stock.

We discussed about the requirement. As a father I would like to buy a lightweight machine. He wanted a good display as media consumption is his main usage. I think 16gb ram should be minimum. He wants 10th gen CPU. I want a budget of $1600. He want usb-c with pd.

His first choice was MacBook pro. We even tried looking for used model. In the end we settled for Dell.

Dell Inspiron 14 7000
I7 10th gen CPU
16gb ddr3
512gb SSD
1.07kg (I think)
14" ips display matt
$1680

zeblues

Same here! Settling with a Dell for my child. Did you get the upgrade to 3 year Dell premium care? Dell has student price plans on certain models. My child wants the 5000 series.

My son recently bought his laptop for Poly. We considered both the laptops offered by the Poly's vendors and outside laptop. We finally settled on the Dell Inspiron 14 7000 for $1680 which we gotten from SLS as the shop has ready stock.

We discussed about the requirement. As a father I would like to buy a lightweight machine. He wanted a good display as media consumption is his main usage. I think 16gb ram should be minimum. He wants 10th gen CPU. I want a budget of $1600. He want usb-c with pd.

His first choice was MacBook pro. We even tried looking for used model. In the end we settled for Dell.

Dell Inspiron 14 7000
I7 10th gen CPU
16gb ddr3
512gb SSD
1.07kg (I think)
14" ips display matt
$1680

simymxh

If you do decide to go with the T495S, then on the lenovo website for T495s, select the Build Your Own. Then select these options:

AMD Ryzen 5 3500U
Windows 10 Home 64
16GB DDR4 2666MHz Onboard
512GB SSD
14.0" FHD (1920 x 1080), IPS, Anti-Glare, 300nits, Multi-touch (no point get the highest option display since that one will come with an front camera that cannot be hidden by a shutter)
ThinkPad Precision Backlit Keyboard Black English with Fingerprint Reader
720P HD Camera with Mic
65W AC Adapter (3pin)-UK (USB Type C)

After that, go to the Warranty Tab on the top, click it and Select 3 year on-site for $72.50.

Total will be $1,423.22 before the 5% cashback through ShopBack app (if you have either the app or the browser extension)

Recommend you order ASAP if you decide to go with this one, as the laptop is made-to-order, so it'll take 6-8 weeks to be delivered.

Yo bro, salesman at Lenovo Funan flagship store says AMD chip set burns and that it will damage motherboard easily wor, how true is that?

destiny88

Yo bro, salesman at Lenovo Funan flagship store says AMD chip set burns and that it will damage motherboard easily wor, how true is that?

means he just want u to buy his product only, hardsales apporach,

AMD has come a LONG LONG way from last time,

destiny88

Anyway alternative consideration is LG gram laptop,

Currently have promotion for 8th gen model, Free microsoft office Home & Student 2019( PM if u want more info, not every shop have this promo)

If ur looking for LIGHTWEIGHT & LONG BATTERY LIFE, i think LG Gram is UNBEATABLE in this,

8th gen CPU perfromance is not very far from 10th gen U series performance also... infact its less then 5% difference in almost all everyday use.

zeblues

LG gram roughly how much? Above $2k?

Currently have promotion for 8th gen model, Free microsoft office Home & Student 2019( PM if u want more info, not every shop have this promo)

If ur looking for LIGHTWEIGHT & LONG BATTERY LIFE, i think LG Gram is UNBEATABLE in this,

8th gen CPU perfromance is not very far from 10th gen U series performance also... infact its less then 5% difference in almost all everyday use.

destiny88

depending on model and spec,

Currently 14" 8gen i5, 16gb ram & 512gb ssd is at $1699, 2 years warranty. weight 999g and 23.5hrs battery life(tested time, battery 72whr, can read abit more on the LG 14' thread created by otheres here)

alot of reviews online on youtube also. linus tech tips uses the LG gram for their office work as seen in some of their videos.

eq2addict

Dell Inspiron 14 7000
I7 10th gen CPU
16gb ddr3
512gb SSD
1.07kg (I think)
14" ips display matt
$1680

laptop for poly and media consumpton as main usage doesnt gel . for school , you need to consider if the laptop can use the scientific apps like mathcad, coding ( if in engineering) or adobe/video/audio editing in mass comms.. or support those hand drawing for arts type.

other faculties , just normal microsoft office / one note for handwriting notes or maybe stats software if in business.

simymxh

means he just want u to buy his product only, hardsales apporach,

AMD has come a LONG LONG way from last time,
No lah, I was there to check on T495S, then he says this model is not in show room, and recommended other Lenovo models that are all Intel's. He passed that comment when I ask him why aren't there other AMD's model lor.
I was quite ready to order T495S online Liao...

snoopy942

Would 8th generation be a better buy then?

s7460597

No lah, I was there to check on T495S, then he says this model is not in show room, and recommended other Lenovo models that are all Intel's. He passed that comment when I ask him why aren't there other AMD's model lor.

Clearly he wants you to buy from him. Buy online he doesn't get anything. Anyway what can you see? The difference is under the hood so to speak. At showroom hard for most casual buyers to see the performance difference between machines. Unless you can install the software and test it out. My 2 cents.

Got notebooks for my kids in poly and University. First see what the school recommends or at least the minimum specifications and the software used for the course (for compatibility). From there with budget in mind shortlist the brand models etc.

It's not necessary to get the pricier option. Bear in mind some may want to go for Apple because of branding or for gaming not necessary whether it can meet requirements of the course. Got money don't have to think so much.

zeblues

Sounds very fishy.......

destiny88

Means he wants u to buy from u instead of from online.

If u think about. How would lenovo release a product and still fail in heavy research on how "hot" a cpu can get.

Plus hes in lenovo store. Hes condemning his own product. That itself tells u how professional he is. Never buy from this kind of people cos hes just want to makw a quick sales and FO later already

Slowdown

Didn't get the 3 year premium care as I did not know about that.

Same here! Settling with a Dell for my child. Did you get the upgrade to 3 year Dell premium care? Dell has student price plans on certain models. My child wants the 5000 series.

Slowdown

I believe the laptop we bought can support all the points you have described. When deciding which laptop to buy we followed the requirement stated by the course. Anyway my child in not in any of the course you have indicated.

In my earlier post I was simply trying to bring about the point that we should work together with our children to come to a purchase decision. It is their tool after all. Father do not know best. We set the budget and the other expectation if any. They also have their own liking too.

:)

laptop for poly and media consumpton as main usage doesnt gel . for school , you need to consider if the laptop can use the scientific apps like mathcad, coding ( if in engineering) or adobe/video/audio editing in mass comms.. or support those hand drawing for arts type.

other faculties , just normal microsoft office / one note for handwriting notes or maybe stats software if in business.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.