Lee Kim Tah 4 lots 0.945 3780
China Minzhong 4 lots 1.06 4240
Cord Life 4 lots 1.09 4360
Rickmers 2 lots 0.285 570

Based on closing price of 07.08.2013

Total : $12950

Wah splurge 13k on rolax? That's financially unsound wor. No resale or investment value. Put in bank don touch it I still can get $13 interest a year? Keep saving more $ then splurge on cheap stocks when the next crisis come in 2016? Now is 2013 gg 2014 just need to wait another 2-3 yrs time to haut arr!

Haha...But seriously, what advise can we give to the author who start this forum. Since from the start of the year, I have been reading and reading and nothing from the sgx looks attractive to buy at the money. Really feel most of the stocks are blowing hot air balloon at the moment. For me, I bought most of my lots in MCT and Starhill back in 2011, the price has since appreciate. As of now my profit has drop. But the dividends collected has since been re-compound along the way.

If you ask me, it's all depend on the timing and how much you study to dig up some gem. So in a nutshell, what ever people advise here is still 'BUY AT YOUR OWN RISK'

nauhchop

U sure or not? Later recession market crash the $0.005 company won't be able to find new investors to RTO then the shareholders die jialat jialat. Kena delisted then if lucky I get back my share in the firm of share certificate, frame it up hang it on the wall :(

I said on a lighter note:s22:

nauhchop

Haha...But seriously, what advise can we give to the author who start this forum. Since from the start of the year, I have been reading and reading and nothing from the sgx looks attractive to buy at the money. Really feel most of the stocks are blowing hot air balloon at the moment. For me, I bought most of my lots in MCT and Starhill back in 2011, the price has since appreciate. As of now my profit has drop. But the dividends collected has since been re-compound along the way.

If you ask me, it's all depend on the timing and how much you study to dig up some gem. So in a nutshell, what ever people advise here is still 'BUY AT YOUR OWN RISK'

There is something about re-compounding interest which I would like to talk about since you mention. In local SGX context, you don't see a big difference if you re-compound your dividend. (unless you are big player)

Example
$1 share at 1000 lots. Total 1 million invested
5% dividend
1st year get $50,000
reinvest at 1.05Million at $1 per share is 1050 lots.
following year get $52500
reinvest at 1,102,500 at $1 per share is 1102.5 lots

I think i go on and on, 10 yrs later, 1.628Mill

So if one invest 100,000 the figure will be $162,800 including capital of 100K, after 10 years.

In local sg, if recompound dividend vs property investment, then property investment make more money.
but if buy stocks vs property investment, then buy stocks will make more money (there is another thread)

however, if unless we are talking about compounding 10% dividend yield and above, then we are looking at another ball game.
If we all do not remember wrongly, 99% of books which talk about compounding dividend comes from US authors because they talk about US stocks.

The concept is there, more or less the same, but generally the investment climate, way and dividends are very different.

chopra

flip financial reports and statements one by one lor...

hard, even with trained eyes.
there is an article this week on how assets are wrongly valued; hard to value -- in either way.

rem olam fiasco?

but you are absolutely right.
how about we buy africa etf?I'm sure they will rise to the occasion during our lifetime.

Dividends Warrior

there is an article this week on how assets are wrongly valued; hard to value -- in either way.

rem olam fiasco?

how about we buy africa etf?I'm sure they will rise to the occasion during our lifetime.

Only one thing can be trusted.:D

41-REsdIL3L.jpg

Milo-Dino

rem olam fiasco?

Well.. as an accountant.. u would roughly know which items are valued at estimated valuations. Thats why I don't trust RNAV reported in analysts reports for property counters.

For olam, I'll just ignore accounting for the biological assets.

Seannie

That's right.. even if they decrease dvd pay out.. its still dividends.. although it might become peanuts

But dont you think that some co give out dividends in order to "trap" investors so that even during sell down their share prices would not be beaten down as much? But even such co with regular dividend payout could reduce or stop dividends at any time?

Seannie

Isnt it safest to invest in stocks in which Temasek Holdings is a strategic investor? I mean how low can its share price drop if it is supported by government?

Milo-Dino

Isnt it safest to invest in stocks in which Temasek Holdings is a strategic investor? I mean how low can its share price drop if it is supported by government?
U never noticed that our govt like to buy at high price?

Some-one

But dont you think that some co give out dividends in order to "trap" investors so that even during sell down their share prices would not be beaten down as much? But even such co with regular dividend payout could reduce or stop dividends at any time?

You would have to understand their financial statements to know if the dividends are sustainable or, like what you have said, they are giving out dividends to support their share price. By understanding their financial statements, you would also know if they would reduce or stop their dividends payout. There are some companies, which I have seen and for which I believe that their dividends are unsustainable.

Look at Charter semiconductor and you would know what you are saying is not true.

Dividends Warrior

You would have to understand their financial statements to know if the dividends are sustainable or, like what you have said, they are giving out dividends to support their share price. By understanding their financial statements, you would also know if they would reduce or stop their dividends payout. There are some companies, which I have seen and for which I believe that their dividends are unsustainable.

Look at Charter semiconductor and you would know what you are saying is not true.

SMRT too......

ad90bc

why not follow warren buffett? that one has a proven record and doesnt require sovereign backing and isnt influenced by political agenda.

follow TH at your own peril...they can buy high in the name of long term portfolio adjustment, hold it as a losing position and then realise the loss just because they want to adjust their risk position AGAIN.

archcherub

u buy blue chip now... recession will die jialat jialat also la...

The best is pick undervalued assets which chance of privatization... If recession hits, there's at least a chance the majority shareholder will privatize if the stock becomes cheap

me thinking of waiting for a stock recession in 2017-2019
but then its still a long way off, and my money is wasting their effort sitting in a bank..

so just pick blue chips for the ride... at least now till 2017, sure will appreciate a certain value :D
collect dividends and wait for a little capital.
now till 2017, if one penny stock folds, its really a portion gone forever :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.