Ppl dun use DSLR or Mirrorless Camera for holidays anymore?

zoossh

First one is more to show what it is about....
ReUploaded the handphone one. I haven processed the ones using a canon 55-250mm which on my a6400 is a 400mm....

it was from a rest area and lots of family were shooting their son/father/mother. i juz join in the fun while taking a icecream break.....
You are canon to Sony convert? Do you set a minimum shutter speed for the zip lines? 1/1000? Or that it is so bright and sunny that the shutter is never an issue?

Hello_Kitty

any photographer expert here can tell if a photo is taken by iphone, samsung or vivo???

hawkwind

For travelling smartphones are more versatile. Of course you can always get a sharper, more detailed photo for DLSR and prime lens but without a tripod, it will be difficult to get many photos that a smartphone can achieve. Especially for high contrast scenes and night pictures, DSLR requires multiple exposures while smartphone uses AI to compose a HDR picture on the fly.

xdivider

You are canon to Sony convert? Do you set a minimum shutter speed for the zip lines? 1/1000? Or that it is so bright and sunny that the shutter is never an issue?
not really. i gotten a couple of canon kit lens that was raved about cheaply and used a EF-e adapter to AF on sony body. its pretty sunny that day, hitting speeds of 1/1000 or faster easily.......

i was impressed with the 55-250mm, not so much the 10-18mm which flared easily. AF was fast for the 250mm even with an adapter. However my main stuff is still pentax which i can shoot into the sun with ease unlike the sony/canon glass.......

actually composing with the sun in the frame for a smartphone is still a pain. composed properly u can get the nice circle but i get flares on both the sharp r9 pro and samsung fold 4. tilt a bit the sun goes from a nice circle to a lightly warped shape. did not have an issue when i used the 28mm prime......

zoossh

not really. i gotten a couple of canon kit lens that was raved about and used a EF-e adapter to AF on sony body. its pretty sunny that day, hitting speeds of 1/1000 or faster easily.......

i was impressed with the 55-250mm, not so much the 10-18mm which flared easily. AF was fast for the 250mm even with an adapter.......
The AF is good? Never got to get adaptors cos my brief look it’s either no AF or bad AF.

almost thinking of getting techart adapters to give AF for manual lens but it seem too expensive at this point of time

Hardware4455

No right or wrong
Just like laptop. Different group of people has different requirements

xdivider

The AF is good? Never got to get adaptors cos my brief look it’s either no AF or bad AF.

almost thinking of getting techart adapters to give AF for manual lens but it seem too expensive at this point of time
i have the techart lm-ea7 and 9. used it for my vintage glass. the performance is decent for short lenses. for af converters, AF is hit or miss depending on lens. i had wanted to turn this into a canon trip with 10-18, 24, 55-250mm but the af on the 24 was pretty iffy. in the end i bought my 28mm pentax as the normal using another af adapter and a sony 15mm. those 2 kinda did most of the work the 10-18mm was supposed to do...

in any case these were the adaptors i used this trip......

EF-E
https://7artisans.store/products/ef...xSTm5JrQ__MoydQxvHPjcye64NdHMh3eTKbIfWu1zMHYi

PK-E
https://www.monsteradapter.com/products/la-ke1-pentax-k-mount-lenses-to-sony-e-mount-cameras-adapter

singaporean11

there is a bug in this douyin fairytale ....... how that guy immediately produce photo out of camera without going through filter and manual editing

couple months back at Sentosa I sat behind ATB .... she took 12 minutes to edit her own iphone photo ...... i didn't know take so long
Can if you use Fujifilm camera (at least APSC type)... The straight-out-of-camera image from Fujifilm is the best so far of all those others I saw (such as Canon, Sony, etc) without need for manual editing on the RAW captured image...

singaporean11

The 1" sensor is fake one. Not the same as a DSLR. It didn't make use of the full 1"
If you just view the Photo on a small screen like handphone, then 1'' sensor or 3'' sensor images not much difference, but you try viewing on a 28'' monitor and you can clearly see the difference.
You try printing the image out on a photo paper and you can see the difference too.

All those "zooming" on handphone are all fake lah, only "digital zooming" and not "optical zooming", so there is a deterioration of image quality with "digital zooming".

singaporean11

Just use a Canon G7X or Sony Rx-100 good enough liao
Ricoh GR4 or Fujifilm X100V gives much better image quality than Canon G7X. Canon G7X uses a LPF in image processing that results in the image always appearing a bit blur compared to Ricoh and Fujifilm which will appear much sharper (because they do not use LPF).

Sony Rx-100 not sure but I read that generally Sony's cameras' colors straight-out-of-camera images are not good and need manual editing (to make them look as good as Fujifilm or Ricoh)...

Hello_Kitty

actually what's the point of having such high quality photos when photos will ultimately end up in file storage??? i have over 20 years of digital photos (overseas vacation) in my hard disks which i never view

nowaday, i go travel also don't take much as i know they will not be viewed again after few years

xdivider

actually what's the point of having such high quality photos when photos will ultimately end up in file storage??? i have over 20 years of digital photos (overseas vacation) in my hard disks which i never view

nowaday, i go travel also don't take much as i know they will not be viewed again after few years
thats y for most dslr shot i do 1 with smartphone for direct sharing. I can probably tweak better details out from the raw but i dun have time..........

d3n

photographers very anal about this cos they like to pixel peep and sharpness.

for me, i dun care about sharpness, more of the composition and feel of the photo more important then pixel size.

Hello_Kitty

photographers very anal about this cos they like to pixel peep and sharpness.

for me, i dun care about sharpness, more of the composition and feel of the photo more important then pixel size.
i got friends who only shoot on raw mode, even for those cosplay or figher jet photos

CI

I still haul my mirrorless, lens and tripod lor. I also see DJI pocket like damn popular. Maybe can get ver4 when its out in addition to Insta 360 camera. 🤷‍♂️

Kitaro9202

depend what u want to shoot and got OCD

for me i OCD tend to bring my camera for travel

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.