Primary School Question

marshmallow96

Why is this environment more acceptable for secondary school? I think it’s worse.

Someone in another forum mentioned the Downtown East gang fight murder, and I went to Google the victim who was in the gang. At the time he was killed he was in Poly, but interestingly, media at the time reported he was in Rosyth Primary a TOP PRIMARY
SCHOOL probably the most popular one :s13: Look at how his parents spent so much effort to get him in, they probably did all this big show and dance, maybe even moved house and do PV in Rosyth . Really sad for the parents and go to show the Primary school does not mean squat.

After Rosyth he must gone to a crappy neighborhood full of hooligans. So the secondary school is the one that we have to be careful about
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Darren_Ng_Wei_Jie
Just my opinion la, older may be more matured to know how to choose friends etc. of course must try our best to teach them well in primary school which is the formative period

marshmallow96

Put it simply - no need to restart grl work.

just find the mp at the new place, tell him your exact situation and ask if he put u into a rc/nc as EM soon.

then quit one join and join the other side for the uninterrupted service.
Depends on the new area’s RC/NC also. areas with popular schools will have long q of existing observers waiting to be EM, they won’t let you cut in this way..

katenash

If your child is not ‘smart’, then you should put them in school with affiliation.

if your child is average, then you should put them in good school to groom him further.

if your child is smart, can he excel in the neighbourhood school environment?

You look at the percentage of neighbourhood students get into top school compare to neighbourhood school. Don’t deceive yourself.

well, no doubt majority of the students in good school eventually do well in life.
That’s because students in good schools tend to come from good background. Father/mother got connections or rich parents. Cannot get into top secondary schools then send them to international schools and gun for overseas unis. It’s not because of the good primary schools they attend.

A relative’s son and daughter attend a very neighbourhood school in CCK. They were top students in the school, went to top sec schs. Now the boy is studying Medicine. He even begrudged the father for making him choose a top secondary school. When choosing uni course, he wanted to choose teaching over medicine because he said now he wanted to make his own choice. Then after talking to his sec sch teacher and seeing the salaries earned by doc and teacher, he chose medicine himself.

The family is a humble family with father being the sole breadwinner. Mother is a full time housewife but she was very strict with her kids when it comes to studying. Even her niece who was sent to stay with her for a few months became one of the top students in her own school for psle.

Clazav

How does this work bro? Can share your strategy? So you’re owning one and renting another property? What do you mean by no need to use distance?
I'm in earlier phase before 2c so based on history my child can get in even if further than 2km. But I'm staying in my current house (which belong to me) which is 1km from the desired school just in case Moe changes policy. So basically if my kid goes in in the earlier phase without the need to use distance, I don't need to stay at my place for 30months.

katenash

Why is this environment more acceptable for secondary school? I think it’s worse.

Someone in another forum mentioned the Downtown East gang fight murder, and I went to Google the victim who was in the gang. At the time he was killed he was in Poly, but interestingly, media at the time reported he was in Rosyth Primary a TOP PRIMARY
SCHOOL probably the most popular one :s13: Look at how his parents spent so much effort to get him in, they probably did all this big show and dance, maybe even moved house and do PV in Rosyth . Really sad for the parents and go to show the Primary school does not mean squat.

After Rosyth he must gone to a crappy neighborhood full of hooligans. So the secondary school is the one that we have to be careful about
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Darren_Ng_Wei_Jie
Also have kids from top secondary schools who go to poly. Some poly courses highly competitive. Some kids are sick of studying so they choose the poly route. I had a friend who qualified for RJC but chose to go SP because she knew she would trump most. I also know a few kids who went to good to top secondary schools but went to poly.

wlcling

In better schools, the teachers have higher expectation of the children. This gives the students more confidence with themselves. Behind these students, there are many supportive parents who are willing to go all out to ensure their kids excel. Whether supportive parents produce kids who are too dependent is another hot topic to discuss.

Recently my kid come back show grades like stinky 10/40 or something (used to be doing much better in earlier years), midway my "counselling", find out only like 3 ppl in the class passed..

Also, there was one teacher who will send problematic kids to the back of the class and scold them that he/she doesn't want to see them thats why and would often say remarks like stupid, etc.... quite wtf mode for me.. primary kids leh...made quite a fuss and managed to change teacher the next year.

anyway changing home & school d so i dont wanna rant too much... i

Good school, avg school ok la... just pray its not until so sai.

sk0065

Depends on the new area’s RC/NC also. areas with popular schools will have long q of existing observers waiting to be EM, they won’t let you cut in this way..
Will let or will not let - it’s another discussion.
I’m only assisting TS with the exact procedure.

katenash

This kind usually are the new uncouth rich. Cuz old rich have alumni ties. Don't even need to sweat about schools.
I think you are not familiar with P1 registration system. Last time it may be so, like 18 years ago. Even as early as 9 years ago, the popular schools were balloting at the non-paying alumni phase (2A2) . I heard that now even 2A1 - the phase where parents pay between a few hundred to a thousand dollars - is subject to balloting. Not sure if distance helps. I foresee if the balloting becomes intense, they will screen alumni according to their home distance from school ie. only those within 1km need to ballot. Everybody except the ministers, MPs and VIPs of the school sweat over P1 registration.

marshmallow96

I think you are not familiar with P1 registration system. Last time it may be so, like 18 years ago. Even as early as 9 years ago, the popular schools were balloting at the non-paying alumni phase (2A2) . I heard that now even 2A1 - the phase where parents pay between a few hundred to a thousand dollars - is subject to balloting. Not sure if distance helps. I foresee if the balloting becomes intense, they will screen alumni according to their home distance from school ie. only those within 1km need to ballot. Everybody except the ministers, MPs and VIPs of the school sweat over P1 registration.
Yup I know people who got balloted out at 2A1.

This year no more 2A1/2A2, all combined to be 2A and fighting less seats, it will be worse :devilish:

Recently my kid come back show grades like stinky 10/40 or something (used to be doing much better in earlier years), midway my "counselling", find out only like 3 ppl in the class passed..

Also, there was one teacher who will send problematic kids to the back of the class and scold them that he/she doesn't want to see them thats why and would often say remarks like stupid, etc.... quite wtf mode for me.. primary kids leh...made quite a fuss and managed to change teacher the next year.

anyway changing home & school d so i dont wanna rant too much... i

Good school, avg school ok la... just pray its not until so sai.
Only 3 in the class passed? So the school must be very high standard lah? Not a bad thing right?? Or are the students there really so much worse than the median of SG? :s13:

There are tons of sai schools in SG. not only academically sai but also got delinquents, hooligans and even gang activity.

Imagine even a 19 year old student could end up in a gang. Still got tons of deluded frog-in-the-well sinkies thought the world of the education system and schools in SG. Literally just the other night, some frog in the well in EDMW, without having been to the US, talked out of his asshole by how SG worst neighborhood schools are better than the worst public schools in the US and got called out by me.

abcde83

Only 3 in the class passed? So the school must be very high standard lah? Not a bad thing right?? Or are the students there really so much worse than the median of SG? :s13:

There are tons of sai schools in SG. not only academically sai but also got delinquents, hooligans and even gang activity.

Imagine even a 19 year old student could end up in a gang. Still got tons of deluded frog-in-the-well sinkies thought the world of the education system and schools in SG. Literally just the other night, some frog in the well in EDMW, without having been to the US, talked out of his asshole by how SG worst neighborhood schools are better than the worst public schools in the US and got called out by me.
sai schools r everywhere...
in UK, they use knives.
in US they use guns.
in Australia they use drugs

SG very mild already

I also know a few kids who went to good to top secondary schools but went to poly.
A lot of the kids who go from top secondary schools to poly don’t have grades good enough to go to JC or know they won’t cut it in A levels. Not saying all of them but a significant portion.

sai schools r everywhere...
in UK, they use knives.
in US they use guns.
in Australia they use drugs

SG very mild already
There are 30,000 secondary schools in the US.
https://nces.ed.gov/fastfacts/display.asp?id=84Let’s be very liberal and use the bottom 3% most sai. That would be very sai. 3% of 30,000 is 900. Are there 900 schools shootings in the US? I don’t think so. What rubbish. Moreover almost all those cases are not done by actual students but some deranged outsider

katenash

Yup I know people who got balloted out at 2A1.

This year no more 2A1/2A2, all combined to be 2A and fighting less seats, it will be worse :devilish:
Wow, mind sharing which school? Then what happens to those who paid to be in 2A1??? Are you saying they paid for nothing?

The problem I see in the brainwashed denials of Sinkies because they like to use other countries’ problems that happen to only 0.000001% by probability of the population to justify (and console themselves also) their government’s incompetence to solve problems that affect 99.9% or all of them.
This school thing is one out of many examples, literally someone says here “Everybody except the ministers, MPs and VIPs of the school sweat over P1 registration.”.

Everybody
, that’s a damning admission.

Another problem is how 95% of Singaporeans are on 99 year leasehold land. Singapore problems typically are very grievous and hard to solve and affect everybody in Singapore due to the size of Singapore and sinkies like to self console by parroting their government sensationalizing other countries issues that by probability for it To happen to you is like one in 300 million TOTO odds.

abcde83

There are 30,000 secondary schools in the US.
https://nces.ed.gov/fastfacts/display.asp?id=84Let’s be very liberal and use the bottom 3% most sai. That would be very sai. 3% of 30,000 is 900. Are there 900 schools shootings in the US? I don’t think so. What rubbish. Moreover almost all those cases are not done by actual students but some deranged outsider
900 yearly? no.
over 900 last 10 years, yes.
alot? yes to me.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.in...ings-america-2022-columbine-b2086949.html?amp

abcde83

In fact there is an article recently about developed country, US gun incident per capita is the highest. but out of topic.. u r referring to gun+schools.

just saying there are worse issues in schools in developed countries vs sg..

edmwing

my child enters primary one in two years' time, so registration next year. I have been working my socks off volunteering at my grassroots for the last five years to have a higher chance for him to enroll at a nearby good school.

However as my 5y MOP for HDB is up and with my HDB fully paid, I have dreams of upgrading to a landed house but that means my child may end up in a average primary school at the new place. It is too late to start grassroots again at the new place considering registration is next year.

Any parents here have any advice for this? Is your child's future more important than a house?
You are the living example why good school does not matter. You not alumni of good school but very financially successful within very short period -> to be able to upgrade to landed from fully paid HDB. So there you go: buy landed more important. And faster do it before your friends start despising your HDB status.

Biden is talking garbage for political mileage.

Notice Biden said 900 “gunfire incidents”, he also did not dare to use the word shooting.

https://www.city-journal.org/school-shootings-horrific-but-statistically-rare“Why are we willing to live with this carnage?” Biden asked in his speech after the Uvalde killings, portraying them as the continuation of a decade of ceaseless slaughter by citing the “900 incidents of gunfire” on school grounds since 2012. But few students died in these incidents, which typically occurred outside the school building and often involved non-students going there after school hours. When Fox totals the number of students killed by any sort of gunfire at school in the past decade, including the victims in Uvalde, it works out to 10 deaths per year—among more than 50 million students. “Hundreds of children die every year in drowning accidents,” he says. “We need lifeguards at pools more than armed guards at schools.”

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.