Private settlement for accident

Starbutt

Is it still legit to do private settlement for accident? Should I still go make report with insurance company if I accept direct compensation from other driver who is at fault assuming that I am not claiming against his insurance?

Is there a standard letter template that can be used for private settlement?

gentoro

There is standard letter template that float around here but its not legal binding. Anything wrote and sign on that document will not be use as evidence in court. Doing private settlement is legit or not doesn't matter because it will not be recognise in the law of court.

EJB

It is legal binding, even words said and used can be legal bound.

I normally do not report to insurance and the other party as well. We settle, get the payment sign on the agreement that the payment has been made.

The form must explicitly say the payee is the one at fault. So when roti prata comes... you're safe.

seveneleven

It is legal binding, even words said and used can be legal bound.

I normally do not report to insurance and the other party as well. We settle, get the payment sign on the agreement that the payment has been made.

The form must explicitly say the payee is the one at fault. So when roti prata comes... you're safe.

i think even for pte settlement, you still need to inform your insurance, to be safe in case the other party prata.

Informing/reporting is different from claiming from insurance.

Starbutt

i think even for pte settlement, you still need to inform your insurance, to be safe in case the other party prata.

Informing/reporting is different from claiming from insurance.

But wouldn't informing reporting make the party at fault lose his ncd even if I don't claim?

Starbutt

What is average cost for bumper respray with/without panel beating? Is 2-3 days lost of use reasonable or is it excessive? How much is rental for one day?

Haiz feel like just settling through insurance to avoid begin accused of scalping.

koolaid

ts u hit somebody isit?

if u hit somebody and the damage is not serious, then try to settle privately and fairly to the other party.

need workshop, can ask here and some kind souls here will provide some contacts.

last year, my friend car backside kena kissed. back bumper dented a bit.the guy told my friend privately settle. so my friend very chin chye say ok and suggested going back to his workshop. but the guy insisted on his own workshop. so talk cock sing song play ping pong for one hour plus already and the guy still insist on going to his workshop.

so my friend proceeded to claim against him and sent his car to c&c for repair. i think that guy kena jialat jialat bcos they replaced the entire merc bumper. lol.

Starbutt

ts u hit somebody isit?

if u hit somebody and the damage is not serious, then try to settle privately and fairly to the other party.

need workshop, can ask here and some kind souls here will provide some contacts.

last year, my friend car backside kena kissed. back bumper dented a bit.the guy told my friend privately settle. so my friend very chin chye say ok and suggested going back to his workshop. but the guy insisted on his own workshop. so talk cock sing song play ping pong for one hour plus already and the guy still insist on going to his workshop.

so my friend proceeded to claim against him and sent his car to c&c for repair. i think that guy kena jialat jialat bcos they replaced the entire merc bumper. lol.

Kena hit. Not I hit

jittery

my insurance tell me the following SOP for private settlement
1) report insurance and let the motorbike guy come and take picture write report
2) get enough $$ from the guilty party and sign 2 copies of the private settlement form, 1 for you and 1 for the other party
3) scan and send the private settlement form to insurance for recording
4) want to go workshop repair or not is your own business.

HeadQuarters

It will never go wrong to report the accident to your insurance company within 24 hours.

Chalkycliffs

From personal experience:

Some people don't understand the concept of private settlement.

Other driver swerved into my lane while trying to avoid a pair of decelerating vehicles (both switching into same lane) infront of him.

He clobbered into my driver's side door, side mirror, front fender, front bumper.

His damage was left side mirror, front fender, front bumper, wheel rim.

No injuries.

He immediately offered to settle the damages privately.

I told him I would have to check with my regular workshop to get an estimate on the cost of repairing the damage, but yes, private settlement was ok with me.

We exchanged details (and took pic of the damage) and I requested for HIS in-car camera footage.

He agreed.

He WhatsApp the video footage a short while later, after we left the accident scene.

His footage clearly shows he was travelling too fast to avoid rear-ending the pair of vehicles infront, and changed lane (into the one I was driving in) without checking his blind spot.

He conviently cut the video footage just before it shows any impact with my vehicle.

I go to my workshop and they quoted me for the repairs.

I inform him, he say - Why so expensive? Go to HIS workshop.

Okaaaay.

His workshop is some far away place and is even more expensive.

He then ask me to split the repair cost.

Huh :s11:

Private settlement become now I'm-to-foot-the-bill-for-an-accident-clearly-caused-by-you?

I had already informed my insurance about the accident and his offer to settle privately.

They saw HIS video footage and laughed :s13: - Really arh? He actually sent you HIS own video footage of him causing the accident?

End result is still being handled by insurance.

endlssorrow

If footage etc prove u r not fault then don't worry. Just claim his insurance. Where got spilt half. Don't need waste too much time. How much the repair costs? Less than $1k? If more I think he also don't wan to pay his elf liao
From personal experience:

Some people don't understand the concept of private settlement.

Other driver swerved into my lane while trying to avoid a pair of decelerating vehicles (both switching into same lane) infront of him.

He clobbered into my driver's side door, side mirror, front fender, front bumper.

His damage was left side mirror, front fender, front bumper, wheel rim.

No injuries.

He immediately offered to settle the damages privately.

I told him I would have to check with my regular workshop to get an estimate on the cost of repairing the damage, but yes, private settlement was ok with me.

We exchanged details (and took pic of the damage) and I requested for HIS in-car camera footage.

He agreed.

He WhatsApp the video footage a short while later, after we left the accident scene.

His footage clearly shows he was travelling too fast to avoid rear-ending the pair of vehicles infront, and changed lane (into the one I was driving in) without checking his blind spot.

He conviently cut the video footage just before it shows any impact with my vehicle.

I go to my workshop and they quoted me for the repairs.

I inform him, he say - Why so expensive? Go to HIS workshop.

Okaaaay.

His workshop is some far away place and is even more expensive.

He then ask me to split the repair cost.

Huh :s11:

Private settlement become now I'm-to-foot-the-bill-for-an-accident-clearly-caused-by-you?

I had already informed my insurance about the accident and his offer to settle privately.

They saw HIS video footage and laughed :s13: - Really arh? He actually sent you HIS own video footage of him causing the accident?

End result is still being handled by insurance.

Chalkycliffs

If footage etc prove u r not fault then don't worry. Just claim his insurance. Where got spilt half. Don't need waste too much time. How much the repair costs? Less than $1k? If more I think he also don't wan to pay his elf liao

He only wanted to pay $300.

My driver's side mirror had the internal motor gears completely ruined, it couldn't open or close properly after the accident. That item was already over $300 without spray painting.

My repairs cost over $1k.

His intention to private settlement the repairs was because he was under 26 years old - his insurance would have been hit by the young driver excess.

He was driving a Subaru WRX - I'm pretty his insurance is not cheap.

hosehbo?

So niao chee niao lan don't need give chance.

He only wanted to pay $300.

My driver's side mirror had the internal motor gears completely ruined, it couldn't open or close properly after the accident. That item was already over $300 without spray painting.

My repairs cost over $1k.

His intention to private settlement the repairs was because he was under 26 years old - his insurance would have been hit by the young driver excess.

He was driving a Subaru WRX - I'm pretty his insurance is not cheap.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.