Problems faced when making new passport

Philipkee

Shld ask them to call u n talk to u directly
It’s not making sense la
If he knows how to apply online then he won’t be there in the dirst place

What is The staff thinking? Their logic is what???? They got think for the elderly or not
Do you even know what the father or the staff actually said? Or even who the father spoke to?

Ever had a case the elderly told me the staff said can throw away the medicines. Then I say which staff told you that cos it’s an error. Then she pointed me to the cleaner. I was like wtf hospital so big, so many nurses and doctors walking around and you ask the lkk aunty cleaning the toilet…. Dunno who to scold but ahem. Service with a smile

bombshell

I think it's for his sake he remain in SG better. This cannot that cannot, everything also don't have still want to travel.

8zaoyu

your old phone can give him , then sign cheapest plan
old phone cannot install face scanner/biometric.
Cheapest plan also $5 monthly now. Free phone given from IMDA? must pass on "how to operate". He panicked, dunnone to learn, how?
Prepaid sims used to top up $1.40 to extend 90 days, now must at least $5 monthly extensions, no more cheap extension by Telcos.
After he get his Singpass phone done, then will get OTP on his phone, to operate/request action, need his biometric/ face scan with his phone. You cannot biometric/face scan yourself with his phone!
Singpass got mentioned can do "Multi-user" Userids if both family caregiver record at their office with the Users NRICs

HushiePuppies

World most powerful passport...

my dad 70+ wanna do one new passport.. I told him go online.. he say lead him to the singpass page . Then say his phone no singpass no password leh. last yrs go cpf building do... They tried help him but failed.. solution ask him go buy one new handphone.. then he continues to live his life without singpass ..

So he say just go ica building do can Liao... Yesterday After going there waiting for hours... The ica ppl told him... Can only do online.. no more fill out form drop letterbox... ..

Then he say nvm.. cos he remembers post office use to help ppl do passport one .. today
Went down post office.. ppl there say.. OH.. LAST TIME USE TO CAN DO HERE.. now only can online do.. they changed it...

Then those old ppl no smart phone dunno how go online one.. dun need make passport Liao?? They diam diam..

Simple Solution:

1. Get a smartphone / email account for your dad. If you got time to go poop in toilet, how difficult is it to help your dad create email account / get a smartphone from carousell?
  2. Install the Singpass app on the phone.
  3. Register Singpass for your dad online. If they say failed means high chance he already have account. Then ask him go to CC to reset his password. (https://www.singpass.gov.sg/home/ui/counter-locations)
  4. Once he can access Singpass, register his Singpass app on the new phone.
  5. Use the Singpass to create his passport.
Got so difficult meh?

mynickname

All I see is a son who knowing better didn't do anything to help his father.

Encouragesome1

He pattern...
I asked him if do online need wait how long? He say nv asked .. I say u there Liao... Ask also dun bother? He say forget
Old ppl suddenly get new insecurity .. thing they used to want / will do they suddenly either v v grumpy don’t listen to ppl
Or want to ask don’t dare ask
Come back jjww level 999 how we help them ? I thk best one two times Tk leave bring them go

Encouragesome1

the whole assumption with old people is that they will either learn how to use e-services, or their children will register account in their name and do it for them (and everyone pretends that they did it themselves)
But not every one has kids eh .. I mean 90% 80% hv
But some hv disabled kids
Some kids die before them
Some of e kids alr started ignoring them due to whatever family issue they used to hv cos they treat kid not good or vice versa

Encouragesome1

no joke man, so many of them here, even on EDMW
We ll be surprised but hor my pa got many aged frens like him .. easily 3-5 said they nv renewed passport for n years until don’t know when
They told him they nv even thk of visiting nx door or batam

carlongerdidu93

https://www.ica.gov.sg/news-and-publications/newsroom/media-release/1055
5 Besides APPLES, citizens can also apply for their passport by post or through the deposit boxes placed outside ICA Building.
Application forms are readily available at all Neighborhood police Posts/Centres, Police Divisional Headquarters, Community Centres/Clubs, Resident's Committee or Community Development Council. ICA also offers citizens the convenience of having the form mailed to their home addresses. Just call ICA-Line at 6738 3352. Alternatively, the form can be downloaded from ICA's website. Citizens using these two modes of applications will also enjoy the $10/- rebate.

https://www.ica.gov.sg/documents/passport/apply

By Post or Deposit Box​

Obtain a Singapore Passport Application Form (PDF, 242KB).
Alternatively, drop it in the deposit box at Level 1, ICA Building, during the current operating hours from 8.00 am to 4.30 pm on Mondays to Fridays, and 8.00 am to 12.30 pm on Saturdays.

XiaoJinLing

Now already have all these options liao

- make singpass for the dad and buy him cheap hp... son help him do or all he figure out himself.
- son help him apply online on behalf, dun need dad to hv singpass n hp
- apply manually by post or Dropbox... son help him or he do himself

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.