Problems faced when making new passport

Mecisteus

Aiyoh apply singpass for your dad lah.

Even my late grandma has a singpass.

By the way, I just renewed my passport online. So easy peasy.

Akky85

World most powerful passport...

my dad 70+ wanna do one new passport.. I told him go online.. he say lead him to the singpass page . Then say his phone no singpass no password leh. last yrs go cpf building do... They tried help him but failed.. solution ask him go buy one new handphone.. then he continues to live his life without singpass ..

So he say just go ica building do can Liao... Yesterday After going there waiting for hours... The ica ppl told him... Can only do online.. no more fill out form drop letterbox... ..

Then he say nvm.. cos he remembers post office use to help ppl do passport one .. today
Went down post office.. ppl there say.. OH.. LAST TIME USE TO CAN DO HERE.. now only can online do.. they changed it...

Then those old ppl no smart phone dunno how go online one.. dun need make passport Liao?? They diam diam..
Becuz u asking the worker bee at the ground.

They cannot and are not the one making decisions, they are there to be a grunt nia. You ask them of cos they diam diam.

eggie011

Long time ago, my aunt went renew passport. Wanted to pay cash, they said only cashcard or NETS. She have neither. I think in the end they bopian, take her cash and proxy pay for her.

Nowadays, I will apply online for her.

cpuer

then tell your dad say no pp cannot go overseas liao ......
yes, in Sg if you cannot catch up, you get left out. If you more unlucky, you get replaced by FT. Hard Truths.
70+ should be replaced by FT or youngsters lah, retiree mah

XiaoJinLing

maxmike

World most powerful passport...

my dad 70+ wanna do one new passport.. I told him go online.. he say lead him to the singpass page . Then say his phone no singpass no password leh. last yrs go cpf building do... They tried help him but failed.. solution ask him go buy one new handphone.. then he continues to live his life without singpass ..

So he say just go ica building do can Liao... Yesterday After going there waiting for hours... The ica ppl told him... Can only do online.. no more fill out form drop letterbox... ..

Then he say nvm.. cos he remembers post office use to help ppl do passport one .. today
Went down post office.. ppl there say.. OH.. LAST TIME USE TO CAN DO HERE.. now only can online do.. they changed it...

Then those old ppl no smart phone dunno how go online one.. dun need make passport Liao?? They diam diam..
You can submit on his behalf using your singass. Just login to ICA website with your singass, go apply new passport, select submit on behalf, key in your father IC. Submitted once for friend before. Once ready, you can book appointment on his behalf to collect at post office near by, FOC.

TGIF888

Cannot. One phone number, one Singapass.
Unless you record at Singpass Office together that you are the Family Caregiver. Declaration will be in Singpass Records.
Oh i thot ur dad got phone, just cannot install singpass app. Got telco eight giving free sim card now btw. But agree very inconvenient for elderly.

winningeleven

I pity the father because his children couldn't help and only know how to start a topic here and mislead everyone that making passport is difficult .

My uncle also 70 years old plus and no children. So he changed new cheap xiaomi smart phone recently. I helped him set up a goggle acct and DL all the necessary app such as singpass and 4d result.

What so difficult to apply online for your father with singpass. U could have save his trip to ICA and do at a comfort in your home.

Joelleyuan

I want to go lavender buy roasted duck after collecting passport don't give me chance wo
Can collect at ICA, just that only walk-in, cannot make appointment like last time.
my house is just beside ICA building.
Two years ago when i renewed pp and wanna collect there then realised don't have the option to make appt at ICA.
i called their hotline, straightaway use template answer tell me can go post office collect more convenient blah blah, i cut her halfway by telling her i stay just beside ICA bldg.
The cso then oh, haha, ok. then told me CAN walk in to collect at ICA bldg.
After that i asked another fren who works in ICA (but not pp dept), so she helped me ask her colleagues what timing lesser crowds.

Just avoid the morning 8am rush, go around 11am, very fast (within 10 min) my turn already.
😎

Laneige

why never ask before queueing?

and realistically how many ppl don't have smartphones in 2024?
Not everyone has a use for smart phone
Why is it ts lao pei prob when the country advances itself , it always talk abt simi rem the forefathers this n that n yet cannot let them do their passports in easy way? Ppl already go down to ica

they might think do on www is v easy but this is not so if it’s someone liked ts laopei

they have to cater to this group of elderly isn’t it
And how many got money to throw every mth to maintain a line

redmiphone

Can collect at ICA, just that only walk-in, cannot make appointment like last time.
my house is just beside ICA building.
Two years ago when i renewed pp and wanna collect there then realised don't have the option to make appt at ICA.
i called their hotline, straightaway use template answer tell me can go post office collect more convenient blah blah, i cut her halfway by telling her i stay just beside ICA bldg.
The cso then oh, haha, ok. then told me CAN walk in to collect at ICA bldg.
After that i asked another fren who works in ICA (but not pp dept), so she helped me ask her colleagues what timing lesser crowds.

Just avoid the morning 8am rush, go around 11am, very fast (within 10 min) my turn already.
😎

I log in ICA website say I can only collect at post office, gray out the ica option

Joelleyuan

I log in ICA website say I can only collect at post office, gray out the ica option
i have already mentioned, NO option to make appt at ICA.
Walk-in only.
just walk in during non peak timing, get a queue ticket. within 15 min can get.

rizhal

You can submit on his behalf using your singass. Just login to ICA website with your singass, go apply new passport, select submit on behalf, key in your father IC. Submitted once for friend before. Once ready, you can book appointment on his behalf to collect at post office near by, FOC.
This sounds incredible! The system did not ask for your friend’s SingPass ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.