Project ~Poseidon~

shadow84

Decided that it was time to kickstart it at least....

A bit of history: When i first got my DIY rig, i didnt really cared about WC. Felt that it was mafan to maintain and fix up. Then, after looking through congrade07 build log, i started to get intrigued.

Asked him some questions about it and he went ballastic on the details to me.. lol. So, from there on, i decided to try it out. Went to OCN to find those build logs with 750D. Also congrade07 gave me some advice and i worked out the parts from there.

Would like to thank congrade07, royfrost, op_valkryie, allhomme, zetken, r104_for, clon22 and many more (cant remmeber all) for their advices and opinions. I welcome all comments and advises, but for trolls, kindly just walk away... Dun really wanna entertain you. Thanks.

Well then, lets get started.

My initial budget was around S$1500 +/- $200. Hopefully i wun overshoot by a lot.

ETA: End of June 2014

This is my current specs:

i5-4670K
Asrock Z87 Extreme 4
Avexir Core Series Blue LED 2x 4GB 2133MHz
Samsung EVO 250GB ssd
WD Black 1TB hdd
MSI R9 290 4GB Gaming x2 Crossfire
Seasonic X850W with white custom sleeved cables
Corsair 750D
BenQ XL2420TE
Corsair H100i
Gentle Typhoon AP-15 x6
Akasa Piranha
Creative Sound Blaster Z

2ykkrbp.jpg

2itrjfo.jpg

shadow84

This is what i had planned to purchase for my WC... I will update the prices as well in SGD to give those that wanna try out a rough gauge of costs.

Performance-pcs (Purchased - S$382.47 w/o GST yet):

Alphacool NexXxos XT45 360mm
Alphacool HF D5 TOP - Plexi G1/4 - (VPP655/TPP644/MCP655) V.2
Alphacool VPP655 Single Edition D5 Pump
IandH Silver KillCoils - Antimicrobial .999 Fine Silver Tubing / Reservoir Strip
Akasa 4pin Molex PSU Extension Cable - 30cm
Phobya Y-Cable 3Pin Molex to 3x 3Pin Molex 60cm - Black
Laing 12V D5 Pump Replacement O-Ring x2 (D5 / DD12V-D5 /PMP-450/ MCP655 Series)
Silverstone FP55 5.25" Bay Transfer to 3.5" Bay - Black
Bitspower Water Tank Z-Multi 250 V2 - Clear Body & POM Version

Aquacomputer:

Aquacomputer Cuplex Kyros XT CPU Block
Aquacomputer Kryographics Hawaii for R9 290 acrylic glass edition x2
Aquacomputer Kyrogprahics Hawaii for R9 290 passive backplate x2
Aquacomputer Kyroconnect kit, width 4 slots for 2 GPU
Aquacomputer Double Protect Ultra 1 litre x2 - Clear
Decoupling rubber for 120 mm-fan x3

Locally purchased:

Primochill Advanced LRT clear tubing 3/8" ID / 5/8" OD - $30
EK X3 150 Res - $79 (Selling off)
Alphacool NexXxos Monsta 240mm - $117 (Special price)

Amazon:

Enemrax Cluster Advanced UCCLA12P x8

shadow84

This is the layout that i had planned out...

117hgn7.jpg

This is what i had bought so far....

EK X3 150

6nypoi.jpg

Primochill Advanced LRT clear tubing 3/8" ID / 5/8" OD

2ztc12v.jpg

Alphacool NexXxos Monsta 240mm

28pl5i.jpg

shadow84

One of the problems i faced was that the res was too near to the 5.25" bay. In fact, it was touching and a little slanted. Reason was that the EK res holder had the mounting hole in the middle, and by mounting it, the mount was slightly blocked by the raise up at the sides. Refer to the red circle.

16awklh.jpg

BTW, this is with roy's x3 250 res...

168wl8y.jpg

So, i went to look for other clamps and saw the bitspower tank clamp set. From the image, there are 3 mounting holes. The overall length is 79mm and the distance between hole to hole at far end was 75mm (given by bitspower in email). So, i was thinking of using this instead as it will push the res away from the 5.25" bay. Also, it will give me more space to run the tubing through it to the 240mm rad.

However, the res will be nearer to the 24-pin cable, gpu cables and usb3.0 cable. I would need to route them properly so that it would match up well.

BP-TBC4-BK--600X400.jpg

shadow84

As for now, i need to solve my mobo or gpu issues before i start my WC.... Hoping for the best.

allhomme

This is what i had planned to purchase for my WC... I will update the prices as well in SGD to give those that wanna try out a rough gauge of costs.

Performance-pcs:

Alphacool NexXxos UT60 360mm
Alphacool VPP655 HF D5 Pump
IandH Silver KillCoils - Antimicrobial .999 Fine Silver Tubing / Reservoir Strip
Bitspower Tank Clamp Set
Bitspower O-Ring Set - 50pcs - Black
Laing 12V D5 Pump Replacement O-Ring (D5 / DD12V-D5 /PMP-450/ MCP655 Series)

Aquacomputer:

Aquacomputer Cuplex Kyros Delrin CPU Block
Aquacomputer Cuplex Kyros Delrin CPU Block Backplate
Aquacomputer kryographics Hawaii for R9 290 acrylic glass edition x2
Aquacomputer Kyrogprahics Hawaii for R9 290 passive backplate x2
Aquacomputer kyroconnect kit, width 4 slots for 2 GPU

Locally purchased:

Primochill Advanced LRT clear tubing 3/8" ID / 5/8" OD - $30
EK X3 150 Res - $79
Alphacool NexXxos Monsta 240mm - $117 (Special price)

Amazon:

Enemrax Cluster Advanced UCCLA12P x8

I sponsor 2 kill coil... they have been used for less than 2 months.... haha

Now my Monsoon fitting all Silver plated. no need the coil liao.

The D5 pump change to a EK aftermarket pump head if got budget. It rated by Martin LL to have the highes flow rate. Morover the original one is barbs not comp fitting

shadow84

Which EK pump u talking abt? The alphacool 1 with 5 speeds settings have 1500l/h flowrate... Still gt higher than this?

Also, did your kill coil kena sucked into the tubing? I worried about that.. lol.

Yureak

out of curiosity why u go 3/8 5/8?

feels very small like straw leh... i just ordered 1/2 3/4

allhomme

Which EK pump u talking abt? The alphacool 1 with 5 speeds settings have 1500l/h flowrate... Still gt higher than this?

Also, did your kill coil kena sucked into the tubing? I worried about that.. lol.

You talking about this right?
Alphacool VPP655 Single Edition Products Model: AC-13122 [AC-13122] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
13122_01.jpg

This wan is the bare pump + wire only. it doesn't come with the head i.e. places where you can install fittings. To do so you need this

EK-D5 X-TOP CSQ - Plexi Products Model: EK-D5-X-TOP-CSQ-PL [EK-D5-X-TOP-CSQ-PL] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
ek-d5-x-top-csq-plexi_01.jpg

OR this

EK-D5 X-Res 140 CSQ - Acetal Products Model: EK-D5-XRES TOP140-CSQ-AC [EK-D5-XRES-TOP-140-CSQ-AC] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
ek-d5-x-res-top-140-csq-ac_01.jpg

OR this

http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...e=product_info&cPath=59_201&products_id=38773
d5-vario-top-pl_01.jpg

Personally I recommend you get either of the last 2 pics. no need to worry about missing mounting hardware. Missing hardware happens when you buy part from different suppliers and try to match them. Granted they are all Laing D5, the VPP655 is the pare pump with no mounting bracket.

You put the coil inside the res. The whole for the fitting is not big enough for the coil to pass through and summore you can install the foam to reduce turbulence

shadow84

Because it would be easier to bend? So big dimensions, it is hard to bend. Your bending radius is much bigger.

shadow84

allhomme

3/8 5/8 has the tightest bending radius

1/2 3/4 is good for long flowing bends when your blocks are quite far apart.

No doubt both are having the same sidewall thickness i.e 1/4in, the ID plays a big part when determining the bending radius. A smaller ID requires more force to kink

allhomme

Im getting this two seperately as the combo only got black... Wanted clear. But i not sure if the pump top comes with the mounting baseplate. I think that was the description taken from frozencpu... But if you search for that, it will show the combo..

Ok ok.. I didn't search the link. I assumed you're getting the vanilla pump. don't get the wrong pump hor... D5 got 2 type. 1 is adjustable 1 is non-adjustable that runs at max speed all the time.

I bought 2 non-adjust type end up had to buy 2 more pump controller to scale down the pump.

shadow84

3/8 5/8 has the tightest bending radius

1/2 3/4 is good for long flowing bends when your blocks are quite far apart.

No doubt both are having the same sidewall thickness i.e 1/4in, the ID plays a big part when determining the bending radius. A smaller ID requires more force to kink

Tightest bending radius meaning it has a smaller bending radius? So my 2 blocks can be put nearer? Am i right to say that?

Ok ok.. I didn't search the link. I assumed you're getting the vanilla pump.

Lol, its ok... Maybe i shld seperate it as im getting frm ppc instead of fc. Should use ppc description.

allhomme

Tightest bending radius meaning it has a smaller bending radius? So my 2 blocks can be put nearer? Am i right to say that?

yup.... You can try the 3slot bridge. But there is still a limit la. trial and error lor

Put side by side should be ok.

Your GPU block is in parallel or series? If parallel, put the input & output on diagonally opposite side. This is just my personal visualisation of how the water should flow.

You got measure the top rad liao?? don't later install like RAM cannot go in or VRM heatsink too big.

shadow84

yup.... You can try the 3slot bridge. But there is still a limit la. trial and error lor

Put side by side should be ok.

Your GPU block is in parallel or series? If parallel, put the input & output on diagonally opposite side. This is just my personal visualisation of how the water should flow.

You got measure the top rad liao?? don't later install like RAM cannot go in or VRM heatsink too big.

Going for AC gpu SLi/xfire block. Aqua Computer Webshop - kryoconnect für kryographics, Breite 4 Slots für 2 Grafikkarten 23551

The 240mm is for front though. But it measures at 85mm thick, instead of 80mm. So i can presume the UT60 would be 65mm instead. Adding with a 25mm fan, it should be 90mm. A lot of ppl are able to put UT60 at the top though.

But, i will mount my Monsta on the top this weekend and see hw much clearance i have left.

shadow84

Maybe i will buy a 30 degrees and 45 degrees rotary compression fitting along with my order so that i can test out when i do a mockup.

allhomme

Just be careful of the top rad clerance....

I used to use the corsair 500d until i took WC in the knee then ended up with the Primoo in my face because I can't fit the rad inside.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.