Proposal Ring - Part 2

DawnMin

careful with the term wholesale :s12:
wholesalers = those who attain their diamonds from or are site holders who sell diamonds by mass quantities
individuals selling at low prices(not always) are always private jewellers

paulgian

Thanks for sharing your link. I briefly read through it and it seems to be very professionally done up. One thing I find though, is that it is very biased towards James Allen.

When I was doing my diamond research online, I have come across several bad reviews about James Allen too. People have complained about their diamond quality and problems with their settings. Posters from other forums have talked about their poor customer services and issues with their shipping and delivering of their rings. Although some were happy with their product and service, there are also some that are left disappointed. If you're spending thousands of dollars, I'd rather not take the risk of being the "unlucky" one.

Personally, I've looked through James Allen's Signature diamonds with their Ideal/Aset scopes, but most of them are not as perfect as the Signature range of Whiteflash, Good old Gold or Jann Paul. Perhaps its a quality control thing? If you do decide to go online, I would recommend going to GoodOldGold instead. I find their service and diamond quality to be much better and on another level.

I agree with you that Good Old Gold a great place to go to as well. Jon sells great diamonds and because of that they have a smaller range of diamonds and cuts available.

Another thing is that you are wrong about Singapore vendors; Jann Paul provides Ideal /Aset / Hearts and Arrows/ Gemex / Diamond Dock / Sarin information about their diamonds. I would say it's even more detailed that what James Allen provides.

Hmm, Jann Paul is new to me. I have never heard of them until i browsed this forum like 2 days ago. I don't classify them as a major player (like LH,GH and the likes) in singapore yet. I still hold firm that non of the leading jewelry stores in singapore offer this as i had been through tons of stores in Singapore at almost every opportunity to the extend that my girlfriend says i love diamonds more than her before i made this claim... haha...

On a separate question, why did you get a high specs F VVS1 main diamond but non-matching I Color and SI2 Clarity side diamonds?

Under my girlfriend's order, i have to purchase a D-F heart diamond. Of course i get F color. haha... With regards to the VVS1 clarity, its overkill for clarity. i admit that. However, heart diamonds are really relatively rare to come by. If you do a quick search online or if you want to try walking the streets of singapore to hunt for one, most hearts come with very awful girdle thickness/ dimensions (think l/w ratio). The selection was based more on the dimensions/optical performance. This diamond happen to fall under a vvs1 clarity but none of the other diamonds in lower clarity ranges fall within my requirements. So, bo bian pay for extra clarity.

Color wise, smaller diamonds (each side diamond about 0.02) carats only) won't show a yellow tinge thats obvious. H-I color is good enough.

Anyway, a quick search on the internet would reveal some negative experiences with James Allen.

Negative experiences occur all the time no matter which vendor you go to. Hiccups are bound to happen. The important thing is how the vendor handle it. Some of these threads that you had posted had already been resolved.

Just my 2 cents....

paul........... new to forum.. apparently i answered in the box above instead of after the quote.

jhchoo85

I've been following this thread for quite some time read so much good stuff about Jann Paul's diamonds. After much deliberation and procrastination, I've finally decided to take the plunge to propose! (I've been procrastinating for over a year liao)..

I saw that Jann Paul carries a few different diamonds like the Super Ideal, Solasfera, Brellia, etc... Just to check, which is the more popular one? and what's the main difference? Thanks!

This is an old post which might be helpful to you.. Or you can just see their videos..

[GorgeouS| said:
Hihi! Haha that's true, I spent 2 weeks went to everywhere, wrote emails to the internet vendors too. I was interested in fancy shapes early this year because my gf wanted something special, but the problem is the lack of brilliance is very very obvious, so bo pian i was set on round hearts and arrows not ready to spend my money on something that looks like glass... although it's much cheaper

Later learned about other rare shapes that has hearts and arrows, but you can't get them locally
(1 thing i learned is that, you can't but just by certificate alone). It's like shopping in the dark. When you start seeing more diamonds, you will notice that besides brilliance(use idealscope) , symmetry also is an important factor, 99% of the time when you see a round hearts and arrows, you will notice the hearts abit wrong here and there, that affects the arrows too, the arrows in the end also twisted turned in some weird directions... it's a big turnoff when you want to look for a perfect diamond for your SO and when you're looking at the diamond, you see imperfections.

THEN i realized that singapore have our own vendor that brings in premium cuts like cushion brellia and angel cut hearts and arrows, lol made life alot easier for me already. so I get best of both worlds of a special shape and H&A brilliance.

if consider price against symmetry/brilliance/whiteness i'll rank something like that:

1.) Cushion Brellia by JP
2.) Solasfera by JP (i think very close fight with brellia)
3.) Super ideal by JP / ACA by whiteflash (i don't dare to buy online but i know alot of bro's here will)
4.) Angel cut by JP
5.) Octavia by GoG (this is an alternate to asscher cut if you like the glassy look)
6.)Brilliant Lady21 by JP / Star 129 by GoG
7.)BlueNile Signature Round / James Allen true hearts
11.) Hearts on Fire / Destinee (pricing is absurd against quality)
8.) Normal Rounds
9.) Normal Princess or radiant
10.) Normal Cushion
11.) Other shapes like hearts/ovals/emeralds

Have you gone to retail shops to see their heart shape diamonds before? You should see some of them and pay attention to the shape. I've seen some very very ugly heart shapes before.. the bottom part is like an inverted triangle and the top parts are like 2 "lup lup" semi-circles. It looks very weird.. Literally like a fusion of 2 semi-circles and a triangle. When it comes to fancy shapes, I think it's even more important to see the diamond yourself, before you buy.

hometeam

Hi bro. Thanks for the tip. Ur family sells diamonds?

no bro, not sell diamonds la if diamond i huat liao.. all these india then got seng lee, alot there the diamond cheap but quality like ****:vijayadmin:... all those vvs1 or what **** is the clarity of the stone itself.i see before huge diamonds that cost alot but under microscope inside alot black spot one..but they also VVS1 huat. you can get a super low graded diamond yet very blink blink is due to its cutting or craftmanship... we purchase diamonds + gold got india customer 2..then my lao bei lao bu got a factory where they can design or to do molds. constumes jewellery la in short.. for those retail shop u see in town or shopping mall. canot be named=p to TOK u at 300% more profit lo..ho seh bo..:s22:
now gold price is not good..who say good to invest is bull huan...n it would not be good for the next 2-4years...invest in all this is toopid..tts what my folks say la...i only hear...
so i guess now buy wedding ring is sure xxxx...
suggest edmwers dun go for brand..go for fine cutting..when rich then buy your wife a good haun ba...

GONG XI GONG XI:s12::s12:

PreppyGirl

Hi all,

I'm new here, was recommended to JannPaul by one of my good friends who bought an engagement ring for his wife to be. My fiance and I were initially shopping for wedding bands but when we reach there, my fiance told me to buy the engagement ring too at the same time since we are already here and apparently if we buy both wedding rings and engagement ring at the same time, there is a good discount.

I picked my own design in the end and settled for this: Its a 0.48 E VS1, the side diamonds are about 0.27C. Was quoted slightly above $4k for it inclusive of setting. Is it a really good deal?

We paid $5.7k~ for everything, our wedding bands and engagement ring.

paulgian

Hi all,

I'm new here, was recommended to JannPaul by one of my good friends who bought an engagement ring for his wife to be. My fiance and I were initially shopping for wedding bands but when we reach there, my fiance told me to buy the engagement ring too at the same time since we are already here and apparently if we buy both wedding rings and engagement ring at the same time, there is a good discount.

I picked my own design in the end and settled for this: Its a 0.48 E VS1, the side diamonds are about 0.27C. Was quoted slightly above $4k for it inclusive of setting. Is it a really good deal?

We paid $5.7k~ for everything, our wedding bands and engagement ring.

you need to provide more details on your diamond, metal used for setting etc....

PreppyGirl

you need to provide more details on your diamond, metal used for setting etc....

The diamond is a round brilliant, 58 facets, triple excellent with clarity characterstic feather.

The metal is 18k white gold. These are all that I remember as I'm still waiting for my diamond pics and the specs to be sent to me.

paulgian

The diamond is a round brilliant, 58 facets, triple excellent with clarity characterstic feather.

The metal is 18k white gold. These are all that I remember as I'm still waiting for my diamond pics and the specs to be sent to me.

Assuming that the main diamond has top notch optical performance and no flourescence, i think it is a decent pricing when compared to other jewellers like lee hwa

[GorgeouS]

Thanks for sharing your link. I briefly read through it and it seems to be very professionally done up. One thing I find though, is that it is very biased towards James Allen.

When I was doing my diamond research online, I have come across several bad reviews about James Allen too. People have complained about their diamond quality and problems with their settings. Posters from other forums have talked about their poor customer services and issues with their shipping and delivering of their rings. Although some were happy with their product and service, there are also some that are left disappointed. If you're spending thousands of dollars, I'd rather not take the risk of being the "unlucky" one.

Personally, I've looked through James Allen's Signature diamonds with their Ideal/Aset scopes, but most of them are not as perfect as the Signature range of Whiteflash, Good old Gold or Jann Paul. Perhaps its a quality control thing? If you do decide to go online, I would recommend going to GoodOldGold instead. I find their service and diamond quality to be much better and on another level.

Another thing is that you are wrong about Singapore vendors; Jann Paul provides Ideal /Aset / Hearts and Arrows/ Gemex / Diamond Dock / Sarin information about their diamonds. I would say it's even more detailed that what James Allen provides.

On a separate question, why did you get a high specs F VVS1 main diamond but non-matching I Color and SI2 Clarity side diamonds?

Anyway, a quick search on the internet would reveal some negative experiences with James Allen.

Poor James Allen experience thus far... : RockyTalky • Diamond Jewelry Forum - Compare Diamond Prices, Discussions & Diamond Information

Dissapointing experience with James Allen... : RockyTalky • Diamond Jewelry Forum - Compare Diamond Prices, Discussions & Diamond Information

Bad experience with James Allen! : RockyTalky • Diamond Jewelry Forum - Compare Diamond Prices, Discussions & Diamond Information

Ripoff Report | James Allen | Complaint Review: 735720

Just my 2 cents....

He makes money doing online marketing. Just look at his profile.

https://profiles.google.com/117911474701653699540/about

He has 16 different websites! Like how to play piano, how to play guitar, golf lessons, building muscles, etc. And all of them leads to a company to buy the product or service. So obviously he is going to be biased to James Allen cos they PAID him to write a review. Each page on his website has a link to James Allen. How it works most of the time is that he will earn money whenever someone clicks his link to the James Allen website. They go by click counts.

I've seen James Allen create fake accounts/bots entering this thread in the past. But this one takes the top of the cake. It's scary nowadays to separate the truth from the lies.

paulgian

He has 16 different websites! Like how to play piano, how to play guitar, golf lessons, building muscles, etc. And all of them leads to a company to buy the product or service. So obviously he is going to be biased to James Allen cos they PAID him to write a review. Each page on his website has a link to James Allen. How it works most of the time is that he will earn money whenever someone clicks his link to the James Allen website. They go by click counts.

I've seen James Allen create fake accounts/bots entering this thread in the past. But this one takes the top of the cake. It's scary nowadays to separate the truth from the lies.

a more detailed look is at the disclousure on the website. and a correction to your statement, reviews are not paid.

onlinediamondbuyingguide.com/FTC-Disclosure.html

ads are part of free content sites. use hwz as an example, the right banner, middle banner.

DawnMin

whiteflash approached me once to provide materials for my blog but naturally i would have to be biased towards them :s12: so I denied them :s12:

lee.g.hq

my mom has an EGL cert 1.40 carat E color VS2 round diamond. Above the clarity diagram it writes "natural diamond: type iaab" i googled but not much information about it and it only hints that it was maybe heat treated, is this the case? that her diamond was treated?

paulgian

my mom has an EGL cert 1.40 carat E color VS2 round diamond. Above the clarity diagram it writes "natural diamond: type iaab" i googled but not much information about it and it only hints that it was maybe heat treated, is this the case? that her diamond was treated?

Quote from garry of idealscope:

It seems like jargon for jargon's sake. There have been reports that Type IaAB can be treated from yellowish to colourless, but to my knowledge there are no commercial applications.

If the stone was fancy yellow or greenish it would probably be high pressure and heat treated, but at a high color - D ( or even if the EGL D might be E or F from other labs) then you have nothing to worry about.
Type IaAB means it has some nitrogen floating about in a few different states - but if the stone had been treated it would go a bright yellowish colour. I have some
EGL SI3 = I1 so please take that into account too on pricing.

pricescope.com/forum/rockytalky/what-is-type-iaab-diamond-on-egl-report-t149553.html

Let me put it in one sentence: IAAB refers to chemical composition of the diamond; since your diamond is in E color it probably isn't color treated.

jhchoo85

https://profiles.google.com/117911474701653699540/about

Yeah.. that's what I suspected... this isn't the first time it happened here before.. sigh..

jhchoo85

You're Garius on Facebook? Jann Paul already replied you on your wall

"The different types are the different quantities of nitrogen that causes the tinge of color in the diamond, to be exact; Type IaAB - in these diamonds, nitrogen is present in the A and B aggregate forms as well as in N3 centres. The N3 centres cause a notable absorption in

Different types react differently to different hpht(high pressure high temperature) techniques(to boost the color in different ways)
an example is...
|
Type 2a diamonds are usually brown and are treated to become a fancy color or colorless diamond. the treatment is very simple as the temperatures needed is pretty low
currently known are type 2a and type 1aab diamonds that are heat treated to improve the color grade meaning to reach colorless or near colorless (d,e,f,g,h)

EGL lists it these days because they feel with HPHT in the market, they want their clients to know if their diamond was likely treated or not or if they do get it checked, its much easier. OR if they want to treat it, the company that offer hpht will know what technique to use.

if your mom's certificate does not label hpht or any kind of treatment detected, you don't have to worry. No known treatments to boost type iaab to a colorless grade(the color is E yes?)

finally GIA/AGS does not list it, too much info on a cert can spring too much questions. They do however list immediately if it was treated.

-Paul
"

DawnMin

ignore it :s12: it's not heat treated
if you have a fancy colored or a different type then you can get it checked out

lee.g.hq

You're Garius on Facebook? Jann Paul already replied you on your wall

"The different types are the different quantities of nitrogen that causes the tinge of color in the diamond, to be exact; Type IaAB - in these diamonds, nitrogen is present in the A and B aggregate forms as well as in N3 centres. The N3 centres cause a notable absorption in

Different types react differently to different hpht(high pressure high temperature) techniques(to boost the color in different ways)
an example is...
|
Type 2a diamonds are usually brown and are treated to become a fancy color or colorless diamond. the treatment is very simple as the temperatures needed is pretty low
currently known are type 2a and type 1aab diamonds that are heat treated to improve the color grade meaning to reach colorless or near colorless (d,e,f,g,h)

EGL lists it these days because they feel with HPHT in the market, they want their clients to know if their diamond was likely treated or not or if they do get it checked, its much easier. OR if they want to treat it, the company that offer hpht will know what technique to use.

if your mom's certificate does not label hpht or any kind of treatment detected, you don't have to worry. No known treatments to boost type iaab to a colorless grade(the color is E yes?)

finally GIA/AGS does not list it, too much info on a cert can spring too much questions. They do however list immediately if it was treated.

-Paul
"

thanks bro... didn't see it on jp facebook. the new timeline is confusing and didn't want bother them at such late timing but was worried when i saw the 1.4 carat cert..

hnrch42

Guys, I've been following this thread for quite awhile and I've got questions for you experts out there.

Cushion Brellia can't calculate HCA score.
How to check quality?
Aset?
Heart & Arrows?

paulgian

Guys, I've been following this thread for quite awhile and I've got questions for you experts out there.

Cushion Brellia can't calculate HCA score.
How to check quality?
Aset?
Heart & Arrows?

last post here. hope this helps.

Use a combination of whatever data you can get your hands on.

The usual certifications from ags like symmetry, polish still applies. Needless to say, ideal symmetry or polish is the best. MAKE SURE you check the locations of the inclusions for diamonds under VS2 clariy.

If you are buying online: For optical performance, use a combination of idealscope & aset.

goodoldgold.com/diamond/8356
goodoldgold.com/diamond/8038

In the first link, the red ideal scope shows less light leakage than the second one. Note, white/pale red ring indicates light loss.

If you are buying in person, check all the conditions above, then use your eyes to double confirm. if possible, try to view the diamond under different lightings to see how the diamond behaves.

Select the one that speaks to you most.

you might want to check out videos to get a feel of how cushion diamonds should perform. GoodOldGold specializes in cushion cuts (brellia included). do a quick google on youtube to check out Jon's videos.

All in all, viewing more videos will help.

youtube.com/watch?v=DKPf0X2zSeo

personally, i think the brellia is no fight for the august vintage cushion in terms of brightness.

And no, i am not paid by GOG to make this post. Neither did youtube pay me to make this post. (although i do hope that it really is that simple to get paid by people to make posts for other websites).

If this post offends anyone, by all means flag it and get it removed by the admins.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.